In the second part of this book we will bring out a series of biographies of certain Germans from Erie County who have distinguished themselves in one way or another - they could be creators of commercial enterprise, or humanitarian workers such as doctors, teachers, academicians and journalists, or representatives of the arts, or the children of Lady Music.
Naturally these small sketches are by no means all encompassing. There wouldn't be enough room for that. It may also be that we've not thought of some of our old German settlers. We trust we will be amicably forgiven. In the course of constructing a work of this proportion there's been an incredible amount of material on virtuous and industrious Germans in our county. One may say from the moment of its inception, the city has been affected by all in its development and prosperity.
The main focus of this brief glance into the lives and deeds of each of these individuals stems from the desire to create a permanent testimonial to their accomplishments and their efforts. We will do our best to build a fitting memorial.
We hope that we will successfully fulfill our goals.
Translator's Note:The biographies listed below comprise Part 2 of the book and have their own page numbering.
Barth, Johann Friedrich
Bender, Philip Heinrich
Berge, Georg Vom
Beyer, Heinrich Ernst
Bishop, Charles F.
Bissing, Frank J.
Brendel, Henry W.
Brunck, Dr. Francis Charles
Brunner, Catherine E.
Lauser, Martin, Jr.
Lautz, Wilhelm, Sr.
Lautz, Wilhelm Jr.
Lautz, J. Adam
Lautz, Suzanna, nee Bensler
Lautz, Friedrich Christopher Martin
Nachtrieb, Johann Georg
From Webpage 2:
In casual fashion, dictated by the design constraints of the book and by the desire to produce the greatest aesthetic appeal, we present this series of sketches and open with one about
Dr. Francis Chas. Brunck
Few of the old settlers of Erie County managed to leave as forceful, prolonged and lasting an influence on the German inhabitants as Dr. Francis Chas. Brunck. We are justified in starting these biographies with one of the most solid, diligent and forward thinking immigrants of Western New York.
He as born on January 11, 1810 in the Rhineland near Winterturn. In the Spring of 1834 Dr. Brunck came to America after he received his medical degree, following education at the Universities of Würzburg, Munich and Heidelberg. Dr. Brunck settled in Lyons, New York.
After a brief time he travelled to Lafayette, Indiana and then settled in the environs of Logansport, Indiana. In 1839 he came to Buffalo, where he began his medical practice. During this time he lived on Mohawk Street near Ellicott and later on West Chippewa near Main.
In 1841 he procured a private residence at 319 Niagara Street, which remained the family home for 50 years. Dr. Brunck died on March 10, 1887.
He was significantly involved in politics and was considered a fine orator. His political party, the Democrats, made good use of his talent. Brunck was at one time Treasurer of the County. He held an especially important place in the German community as owner and chief editor of the weekly paper, the Weltbürger (The World Citizen), and then a year later as owner and editor of the daily and weekly editions of the Täglicher Buffalo Demokrat und Weltbürger (The Daily Buffalo Democrat and World Citizen), a paper of the Democratic Party. Thus Dr. Brunck secured his future until recent times.
Through his multifaceted and persistent activity Dr. Brunck also became one of the Trustees of the Buffalo Savings Bank. He helped establish the German Fire Insurance Company and was a charter member of the German Bank. On February 18, 1835 Dr. Brunck married Miss Catherine Hecox of Lyons, New York. Six children came from the union, of which three survive. The present family residence is at 38 Hodge St.
Francis Charles Fischer saw the light of the world for the first time on January 29, 1827. He was born in the village of Aschbach, which is found in the canton of Seitz in Alsace. When he came of school age he attended the region's public school. After his schooling he studied agriculture and later carpentry.
In 1845 he came to the Land of the Free, landing in New York on June 7th and coming directly to Buffalo. He remained here until 1849, taking a sea voyage around stormy Cape Horn in order to go to San Francisco, where he became a clerk until 1851. The voyage took 9 months. When Fischer returned to Buffalo in 1851 he became a partner in the firm called Fischer Brothers on Genesee near Chippewa. This was a shop for various items and there was a lumber yard. He left the firm in 1866 and established a lumber company under the name Fischer and Company, located at the foot of Genesee Street. His partner was John Walkam. In 1877 the company acquired a lumber yard on Clinton Street. At the same time he was also a partner in a saw mill in Eldred, PA which operated under the name of Fischer & Wolcott. Finally Fischer was associated with the Firm Fischer & Dohn, which had a lumber yard on Niagara Street. He retained possession of all these companies until his death on October 2, 1883.
Mr. Fischer, a highly esteemed businessman, also took part in politics and represented the old 4th Ward from 1862 to 1863 in the Erie County Legislature. On October 9, 1856 he married Miss Josephine Walkam. The union produced 7 children, 4 of which are still living. The family lives at 224 Connecticut Street.
Josephine Fischer, nee Walkam
was born on September 27, 1837 in Germersheim in the Rhineland Palatinate. She came in September 1846 with her parents, John and Barbara Walkam, to Buffalo. She attended Public School 15 and after her schooling diligently assisted her mother with housekeeping until her marriage to Francis Charles Fischer on October 6, 1859. From this happy marriage there came seven children, of which 4 still live. Mrs. Fischer lives at 224 Connecticut Street.
was born on July 27, 1828 in Sachsenhausen in the Principality of Waldeck. He attended the area school and later went to a private church school. After his school years he studied economics and the brewing business. In 1857 he immigrated to America and settled in one of the several German residences in Hamilton, Ontario where he opened a grocery store and brewery. He gave up this business in 1860 and came to Buffalo in Fall of the same year.
For the next eleven years he was employed at various breweries and malt houses. Mr. Kleinschmit lived first in a building on Main Street at Paul Place, in which he founded Buffalo's first brewery. That brewery is described in the other part of this book in words and pictures.
Through diligence and thrift he succeeded in building, in partnership with William Klepe in 1871, a malt house. This firm lasted 4 years and Kleinschmit took over sole operation when his partner left. Thanks to his tireless energy, his prudence and his business sense as well as his practical ability, he succeeded in bringing his firm to a flourishing state and he found further markets for the products of his malthouse.
By the time he retired in 1892 he had brought his business so far that he could be counted among the most distinguished of Germans in the city.
One year after his arrival in America Mr. Kleinschmit married Miss Sarah Schall of Hamilton, Ontario. She was born in Württemberg and died in Buffalo on May of 1876. The next year Mr. Kleinschmit married the Widow Barbara Happ, nee Rosa. She was born in Karlstadt in Baden. Both marriages remained childless. Mr. Kleinschmit, who belongs to many German societies, lives at 183 Pratt Street.
Franz Anton Kuhn
is one of many Germans, who either by themselves or through their progeny, have managed to affect the development of the German community and have imprinted themselves upon the character of Buffalo.
He was born on September 2, 1823 in Schneeberg, Unterfranken in the Kingdom of Bavaria. He attended the regional school and then learned the tailoring trade. As was usual back then, after this training he travelled the world as a journeyman. He worked for a while in Munich and Bamberg. In 1847 he came to New York and subsequently took the steamer to Albany and the train to Buffalo. This was a two day journey from New York. He arrived, alive and well, at his final destination on June 26th.
On July 4th of the same year he married Maria Catharina Gramm. The newlyweds built their nest on Goodell Street, near Michigan. In the course of the years they had 9 children, of which 6 still live. After a short time Mr. Kuhn retired his needle and pursued a career in restaurant management. He struck pay dirt with the establishment of the first "Summer Garden" that Buffalo had ever seen. In his capacity as restaurant owner and manager he provided his guests with the best in food and drink. The place couldn't help but be a success. Kuhn plied his trade from 1849 to 1868. In the last year he relocated to a prime spot at the corner of Huron and Ellicott Streets and constructed a large and beautiful building, which he called the Apollo Hall. The Hall was much loved and frequented almost as soon as it opened. Kuhn, along with his childen, came upon the idea of presenting Sunday concerts. His children had received musical training. The concerts were extremely popular. Let is be mentioned here that the sons of Mr. Kuhn were the first musicians to come out of Buffalo and they performed their own concerts.
The old gentleman himself was reported to have considered about half of Buffalo to be among his friends and acquaintances. He's been retired for a long time and lives in the bosom of his family in the house he built at 353-355 Ellicott Street at the corner of Huron.
Maria Katharina Kuhn
was born on December 25, 1824 in Amorback in the Unterfranken region of Bavaria. She came to America when she was 23 years old. Her maiden name was Maria Katharina Gramm. Immediately after she arrived in New York she continued on to Buffalo. In the same year she arrived in Buffalo, she married Mr. Franz A. Kuhn. That was July 4, 1847. The marriage produced 9 children, 6 of whom still live. They are Joseph, Frank, Karl, Heinrich, Wilhelm Kuhn and Mrs. Josephine Schultes.
After a long, productive and useful life Mrs. Kuhn died on July 31, 1895 at the age of 70 after a relatively short stay in the hospital for kidney disease.
We believe there is no better way to portray the pleasant, happy character of this fine woman and no better way to memorialize her existence than to refer to the heartfelt words of the late editor of the Buffalo Sunday Post, Mr. Hermann Hoffman. He was a treasured friend of Mrs. Kuhn and he wrote a lengthy necrolog at the time of her death - "Yes, indeed. The deceased was a good woman. Whoever knew her, respected her. Her friendly, open, and warm disposition was so approachable and winning that one had to love and honor her. She always had a kind word for everyone and she always displayed a genuine interest for all and true, undaunting friendship!"
The twin sister of Mrs. Kuhn, Mrs. Babetta Rudolph, survives her. She lives in this city.
Joseph Anton Kuhn,
the oldest living son of Mr. Franz A. Kuhn, first saw the light of the world on September 1, 1850. He received his schooling at the St. Louis Church School and later at Public School 15. The pursuit and love of Lady Music compelled him to spend his life in her service. He studied violin under Carl Gräfe, took theoretical instruction with Fr. Federlein and C.F. Baum. He became a competent clarinettist under the direction of A. Schwiedop. With only a short break due to the fire, from 1870 to 1895 he was the orchestra conductor of the Academy of Music on Main Street. In the 70s he was director of a 40 musician symphony orchestra. During the concert season they played at the St. James Hall. Since the opening of the Iroquois Hotel in 1890 he has conducted an orchestra, which plays at the hotel's dinners, banquets, etc. Mr. Kuhn has further enriched the musical life of the city of Buffalo by organizing the first string quartet. It's called the Beethoven Quartet and it has a very good reputation. In the 80s Mr. Kuhn was director of the band of the 74th Regiment for 6 years.
Mr Kuhn enjoys an excellent reputation among musicans and feels a sense of satisfaction with his profession and with his regular, income producing activities. His private residence is at 71 Prospect Avenue.
is the brother of Joseph Kuhn. He was born June 18, 1862 in Buffalo. He attended St. Louis Church School for a time and then Public School 15. His early-blooming musical talent preconditioned him for a profession in music. He never missed an opportunity to study the fundamentals. To this end he studied violin with Carl Gräfe, flute with A. Schwiedop, theory with C.F. Baum, and piano with Theodor Moelling.
When Mr. A. Poppenberg took a long trip back to Germany, he took the young man with his company. The young man comported himself with prudence and insight.
In 1881 Mr. Kuhn married Miss Matilde A. Fuchs, a daughter of Mr. August Fuchs. As of now the couple have 4 children, 3 boys and one girl. The diligent and beloved musician is the director of the locally well-known Kuhn's Orchestra, which plays at balls, concerts, receptions, weddings, etc. Mr. Kuhn is a highly-esteemed teacher of violin, piano and flute. Besides his own work, since 1892 he has been an active member of the Symphony Orchestra and has been its business manager. He lives with his family at 582 Ellicott Street.
is a son of Mr. Franz A. and Mrs. Katharine Kuhn. He was born October 25, 1854 in Buffalo, New York. He attended Public School 15 after a short time at St. Louis Church School. The young man's love of music moved him to seek out the excellent Carl Gräfe as a teacher and to study violin. He was no slouch when it came to the study of harmony and counterpoint. For that he went to Mr. C.F. Baum.
During the '60s Mr. Kuhn further studied music at Canisius College and was an esteemed member of the Beethoven String Quartet, with which he enjoyed a happy career.
Mr. Kuhn is at this time a member of the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra. He is their librarian. He is also the director of musical performances at the Star Theater in this city. Mr. Kuhn's principle instruments are the violoncello and the contrabass.
On July 26, 1877 he married Miss Caroline Riegelmann, who bore him 6 children, of which 2 still live. After the death of his wife on December 31, 1895 he remarried on November 24, 1897 Mrs. Louis Haller, nee Knell, of Berlin, Ontario.
was born in Buffalo on August 29, 1856 and is a member of the famous musical family of the same name. Like his brothers, he attended St. Louis School and after graduation studied cigar manufacture. At the same time he received musical training in violin under Carl Gräfe and clarinette under A. Schweidop. At the time he was so busy with his musical engagements that he had to give up cigar manufacturing. He's still employed in music. He is unmarried and lives at 355 Ellicott Street.
is another member of the beloved and famous musical family of the same name. He was born in Buffalo on July 14, 1860. He attended St. Michael's Parochial School. After he achieved a basic education he studied music, in which he has attained a high level of proficiency. He is currently a member of the Star Theater and an accomplished musician. He married Emma, nee Huber, on June 14,1889. He lives at 353 Ellicott Street.
is the daughter of Franz A. and Katharine Kuhn. She was born on July 24, 1864 in Buffalo and she attended St. Michael's School, where she excelled. Since July 8, 1889 she has been married to Louis Schultes. Their marriage has been blessed by 3 children. She lives with her family at 355 Ellicott Street.
Carl Andreas Peters
was born on February 5, 1828 in Rostock, part of Mecklenburg, Germany. He attended the local school and received a fine education. After leaving school he learned the saddler's trade. He worked in various cities in the fatherland and came to America in 1853. He arrived in the month of May and proceeded immediately to Buffalo. Since he couldn't find any work in his profession he became involved in the upholstery and tapestry trade. In 1855 he became a soldier in the 10th Regular Infantry, with which he travelled to Utah. At the outbreak of the war he resigned due to illness and returned to Buffalo. Since that time he has been in the saddlery trade, which has served him well. His honest and simple manner has made him a highly esteemed and beloved individual by all who know him. Since 1851 he has been married to Sophie Peters. They were blessed with 11 children - 8 boys and 3 girls. Four of the boys and one girl have died. It's noteworthy to mention that in 1848 Peters served with the Tann Free Corps in Schleswig-Holstein and in 1849-50 he served on the warship "Lübeck". Mr. Peters lives at 678 Washington Street. While conducting business he can be found at 393 Ellicott Street.
From Webpage 3:
was born on March 26, 1826 in Bodenheim in the Rhein-Hessen Province. He took his first instruction at the school in which his father taught. He later took private instruction in Kreuznach to complete his education. The young man wished to become a merchant and dedicated himself to the study of that trade in places where wares of all kinds could be procured. He had the opportunity to acquire a multifaceted education in merchandising. When his training years were over he was involved for more years in the textile trade in Marburg and Bingen on the Rhine. Wanderlust soonafter overcame the young man. He left for America on April 23, 1848 and arrived in New York on June 1, 1848. He remained there for only one day, then came to Buffalo, arriving here on June 9th.
Soon after he settled in Buffalo he established himself in a textile store on Main Street but he left there after a short time to join his uncle, Conrad Hellriegel, at a dry goods store on Main Street at Goodell. Later the uncle turned the business over to his son. The cousin went into partnership with Rodenbach. The partnership lasted until 1851. Mr. Rodenbach then opened a business himself, based on the models he had studied during his apprenticeship years. He was thus employed until 1865, when he sold the business. In 1866 he opened an apothecary shop in the same store and remained there until 1882 when he sold it. In the interim he built a house at the corner of Main and Allen Streets. In 1876 he opened a new, very elegant apothecary shop at that location, which he retained until 1896. In 1896 he decided to retire, so he sold the business. As a businessman, Mr. Rodenbach has had an impact on the development of Buffalo's commerce. Since 1868 he has been one of the trustees of the Buffalo Savings Bank and from 1894 to present he has been the Vice-President of this institution. He's also been an alderman of the 6th Ward. In 1848 Mr. Rodenbach married Miss Catharine Hellriegel, who bore him 2 children, one of whom still lives. She died after a long illness in 1867. After her death Mr. Rodenbach travelled back to Europe. After his return he married Miss Caroline Holser, with whom he had 5 children, 4 of whom still live. Mr. Rodenbach currently lives at 423 Richmond Avenue.
was born on June 18, 1824 in Kastel near Trier. After attending school in his hometown he learned iron casting. He came to the United States in 1850 as a mould maker. In 1854 he opened a grocery store at the corner of Ash and Sycamore, which he moved in 1866 to the corner of Genesee Street and Jefferson Avenue. His restless energy combined with a sharp business sense, diligence and frugality helped the business flourish. Within a few years the store was counted among the most significant in the city. Mr. Welker helped to establish the Erie County Mutual Fire Insurance Company and was a member of the first Board of Directors. He was a sponsor of the German community's greatest effort's. He was an active member of the Sängerbund and the Orpheus singing societies and he was a life-long member of the German Young Men's Association. In the same year that Mr. Welder opened his own business, 1854, he brought Miss Barbara Kuhn of Williamsville home as his bride. From this union there resulted the following children: Otto F. Welker, Peter J. Welker, Barbara Welker, Mary Sarbin, Amelia Fleiner, and Lillie Mumm. Mr. Welker never held public office and he considered being a businessman a truly enviable profession. Mr. Welker reached the age of 66 when he died on September 5, 1890. A few months later on June 15, 1891 his loyal wife followed after him.
nee Kuhn, was born on March 24, 1834 in Otzenhausen near Trier. After her arrival in the United States she settled in Williamsville, Erie County. In 1835 she married Mr. John Welker. She has 6 children still living. Mrs. Welker died not quite one year after her husband on June 15, 1981.
was born on July 31, 1837 in Nieder-Klingen, part of the Hessen-Darmstadt area. He attended a Protestant church school. Afterward he worked as a farmer. He later learned cigar-making, a trade to which he has remains true to this day. He's done well by it. In 1855 he emigrated to America, arriving in New York on June 8th and in Buffalo on June 10th. He conducts his trade from his burgeoning facility at 454 Main Street. Mr. Breitwieser is considered among the most prominent of Buffalo's German businessmen. He is highly esteemed and beloved. He's also well thought of in business circles and has to this day been regularly involved in the topics significant to the German community. His advice has been sought in politics. Since 1889 he has been City and County Commissioner of Public Buildings. He was married to Maria L. Schänlin from January 3, 1867 to July 28, 1881. Four children, all of whom are still living, sprung from the marriage. On January 29, 1884 he married Louise Stroh, widowed name Neubauer. The union is blessed with one child. Mr. Breitwieser lives at 583 Ellicott Street.
Frank J. Bissing,
one of the best known of the younger German-Americans, was born on October 25, 1855 in Buffalo. He attended the German St. Mary's School and Empire College. After graduation he learned the real estate and insurance business in all its peculiarities. He's successfully employed at that profession to this day. Along with the boom in this city's business activities, Mr. Bissing takes part in politics. Several times the citizenry has entrusted him with political office. He was an alderman for the 7th Ward in 1892-93. He was elected councilman for a four year term in 1897. F.J. Bissing is married to Gertrude C. Terhaar. They have 6 children - 3 boys and 3 girls. He lives at 384 Clinton Street. You'll find his business at 208 Broadway.
one of the best known German businessmen on the East Side, was born on February 27, 1845 in Sulzbach, Bavaria. After receiving a fine education at the local school, he learned the pastry trade. He is employed in that field to this day. He came to America in 1869, stayed for a year in Patterson, New Jersey, and then settled in Buffalo. He established a successful business here in 1878. He has regularly been involved in affairs concerning the German community and for that reason he is much esteemed and loved. He is married to Antoinette Groning. The marriage produced 7 children. Two sons and two daughters still live. You'll find his home and business at 275 Genesee Street.
is one of the oldest and most respected residents of this city. Mr. Beyer was born on September 23, 1820 in Gundershofen, Alsatia. He came to America when he was 8 years old and settled in the "German Village" with his relatives. The boy attended the local schools. After gaining the necessary education he became a merchant. His first position was at Colton's, a dry goods store ("Materialgeschäft") at the corner of Main and Genesee Streets. Later he worked as an assistant to Millard Fillmore then as an assistant at Howard & Whitcomb's, a general merchandising establishment. The talented young man's drive enabled him to become a partner in a textile business ("Ellenwaarengeschäft") under the firm name of Georger & Beyer. Later Mr. Beyer took full control of the store and placed the business under his own name. It remained that way until his death in 1881. Naturally Mr. Beyer took part in the progression and development of the German community. Primarily he assisted in the establishment of the German Young Men's Association in 1841. He was a true and active memeber of the Association. Even with his primary occupation he managed to set aside enough time he attend to the common good of the young city of Buffalo. He was not only a director of the German Fire Insurance Company but a director of the Buffalo Savings Bank. These were two highly responsible positions in which he conducted himself knowledgeably and productively. Mr. Beyer also played an active role in politics. He was elected Alderman for his Ward for the first time in 1859 and again in 1866. From 1872 to 1879 he was Police Commissioner and Treasurer of the Police Board. On February 27, 1849 he entered the bonds of matrimony with Miss Caroline Rinck. Seven children came from the union. Five still live. The last family residence of Mr. Beyer was at 596 Ellicott Street. The city's remembrance of Mr. Beyer is one of respect and admiration because of his strong support and promotion of the German community, and because of the part he played in bringing business sense to the city, and lastly because of his spotless record as a politician.
Caroline Beyer, nee Rinck
was born on September 9, 1827 in Vonberg at Kaiserlautern in the Rheinland Palatinate. She is the daughter of Wilhelm Rinck and Elizabeth Diehl and came to New York with her parents when she was 3 in 1830. Scarcely 6 weeks after their landing the family came to Buffalo and lived on Pearl Street near Tupper and then on Genesee Street near Jefferson. Caroline Rinck received an excellent education at Schreck's School. On February 27, 1848 she married Jacob Beyer, with whom she lived in marital bliss until his death. She has 7 children, of whom 5 still live - 4 sons and 1 daughter. Mrs. Beyer lives at 596 Ellicott Street.
was born on July 26, 1828 in what was then the Rheinland Palatinate city of Germersheim. Many remarkable historical events have since gone on within the walls of this city. Mr. Walkam attended what was then a public school. It's now a grammar school. After his schooling he studied tailoring, an occupation which he conducted for 5 years. In 1846 the 18-year-old came to the United States and in October of the same year arrived in Buffalo. When California Gold Fever broke out he went to the promised land on the Pacific Coast in 1856 and took part in mining. Thirteen years later, in 1866, he returned to Buffalo and entering in partnership with a lumberyard owner, built a planing mill. This business remained under his direction until 1895, when he retired. Mr. Walkam, who lives at 735 Ellicott Street, married Miss Mary Willyoung on May 3, 1872. Two children came from the union. Both are still living.
Mrs. Mary Walkam,
the daugher of Michael Willyoung and his wife, Margarethe, was born on March 26, 1847 in the vicinity of Bowmansville in Erie County. She attended the district school. On May 3, 1872 she married John Walkam, with whom she has had a happy marriage and by whom she had 2 children. She lives at 735 Ellicott Street.
is the only daughter of John Walkam. She was born on February 20, 1873 in Buffalo. She attended Public School 15 as did her brother. She then took instruction at Bryant and Stratton Business Academy. Since June 16, 1896 she has been married to Charles Fiadd and has lived in Rochester, New York. The marriage has produced one child.
Charles J. Walkam
is the son of John Walkam and was born on July 17, 1876 in Buffalo. He attended Public School 15 and then spent a year at the DeVeaux College near the Suspension Bridge. After that he concluded his last year of courses at Bryant and Stratton Business Academy, where he managed through his perseverance and his achievement to gain the attention of all his teachers and fellow students. At present he is in the laundry business. He's been married to Grace Schauermann since January 27, 1897. He makes his home at the family estate at 735 Ellicott Street.
was born on February 9, 1837 in Gaenheim, Bavaria. He came to the United States in the Spring of 1847. At the beginning of 1848 he came to Buffalo with his parents. He attended the public schools and received a general education. At the end of his schooling he became a printer's apprentice at The Democrat and from there became a book printer. He later got a job in the printing department of the Express. He worked there until 1861, at which time he gave up the trade and took up the photographic profession. He's been employed in the field ever since. The firm, at which Mr. Simon works and from whose studios a large portion of the portraits in this book have been taken, is famous throughout the state for its artistically produced pictures. It has won awards for its work. Mr. Simson played a large part in the firm's success. There are few photographs in the city which can so artistically portray nature and few photographers with the knowledge to accomplish the task. The photographic studio of Simson and Beach, located at 456 Main Street, is a true art gallery. Mr. Simson belongs to the German Young Men's Association as a lifetime member. He's also a member of the Buffalo Library Association. He is married to Mary Upson. They have one daughter and live at 5 North Pearl Street.
Friedrich C. Pries
was born on July 26, 1849 in Rostock in Mecklenburg-Schwerin. After getting the necessary education at the town school, he worked at various jobs and eventually became a tailor. He learned the tailoring trade at the famous Klemm Academy in Dresden in 1857 and then began his journeymanship. In 1864 he came to America and immediately thereafter came to Buffalo. He's been here ever since. Mr. Pries has been self-employed since 1880 and has for the past 13 years had his popular tailoring shop at 165 Main Street. His persistence, ability, and hard work have made his business flourish. He regularly takes part in affairs of the German community and is counted among the best-known and beloved members of the colony. Besides various other associations and organizations, Mr. Pries is a member of the Free Masons, the Oddfellows, and the Sängerbund. In 1862 he married Miss Louise Jacobs, who gave him 6 children. She died in 1894. Of these children 2 sons and l daughter still live. In 1896 Mr. Pries married Miss Anna Walter of Saratoga, with whom he lives in wedded bliss at 70 Triangle Street, near Pries Avenue.
From Webpage 4
On October 31, 1833 Mr. John Kam first saw the light of the world in the extraordinarily romantic little city of Pleistein in the Oberpfalz. He attended the congregational school in his home district. After he left school he studied the malt and beer brewing trade. He spent 3 years away from home and worked in the brewery of Count Max of Bavaria, then he worked in Kübach and finally in Ingolstadt in Bavaria. In 1855 he emigrated to America and found employment in our city at the brewery of Jacob Scheu. He was at this establishment for five years, acting as brewmaster for the last two years. He was an active and capable staff member. His desire to be self-employed led him to leave his employment and establish a bakery at the corner of Genesee and Spring Streets. He conducted business there with exceptional success from 1860 to 1869. In 1869 he established a malt house next to the bakery. He then sold the bakery for a good profit. His malt business flourished more after Mr. Kam was able to contribute all his time to it. Business was so good that he had to enlarge it. He relocated the business to the corner of Pratt and Genesee Streets. You'll find the business there today. It's considered a significant establishment among its competitors. Since 1889 the business has been incorporated with 3 family members in control. The President and Treasurer of the company is Mr. John Kam, Sr. Mr. John Kam, Jr. serves as Secretary. The "John Kam Malting Company" is today one of the largest privately-owned commercial enterprises in Buffalo. The building, relatively smaller in dimension at the beginning, had to be enlarged year after year. Now it measures 125 X 160 feet. Its corporate capital averages $200,000.
On August 17, 1856 Mr. John Kam married Miss Magdalena Beck of Pleistein. She gave him 5 children, all still living. She died in 1892. In 1893 he reentered the bonds of matrimony with Miss Anna Zintl, also of Pleistein. The marriage is childless. The private resident of Mr. Kam is at 379 Genesee Street.
is the oldest son of Mr. John Kam. He was born in Buffalo, New York on October 27, 1862. He first attended St. Boniface School. In order to broaden his education he further studied at St. Mary's College. Mr. Kam is a young, ambitious, and talented man, who is employed as a practitioner in the malt business. He's also a company officer in the "John Kam Malting Co.", an executive position of much responsibility. On September 24, 1884 he married Miss Rosa Scharf. The couple is blessed with 4 children, only 2 of whom have survived. The family residence of the young couple is at 418 Pratt Street.
is the second son of Mr. John Kam. He was born in Buffalo on October 13, 1864. After attending St. Boniface School and graduating from Canisius College he learned the malt trade and became the Secretary of the "John Kam Malting Company". He's also a partner in the company. Mr. Joseph Kam is a man with an exceptional talent for business. This has brought him financial reward and recognition through his posting on the Board of Directors of the German-American Bank and secured him ownership of the Exchange Elevator Company. On September 25, 1889 the young man married Miss Ottille Regina Hager of Buffalo, who has given him 4 children, 3 of whom still live. Mr. Joseph Kam's private residence is at 704 Ellicott Street.
John Kam, Jr.
The youngest son of Mr. John Kam saw the light of day for the first time on April 15, 1871 in Buffalo. He was named after his father. Like his brothers, he followed the same courses of study, which started with the basics of the sciences at St. Mary's School, continued with studies at Canisius College and ended with apprenticeship in the malt business. Today Mr. John Kam, Jr. is the office manager and head of the company. He's also part owner of the "John Kam Malting Company". On June 24, 1896 he married Miss Louise Victoria Simon, who presented him with a strong, healthy baby boy on June 15, 1897. Mr. John Kam, Jr., lives with his family in a house at 379 Genesee Street.
Heinrich Ernst Beyer
was born on November 23, 1813 in Naila, part of Oberfranken, Bavaria. He attended the Lutheran Church school of his district. After receiving a solid education he learned the bakery trade and after his apprenticeship he took up his journeymanship. Thus he worked from 1827 to 1843 as a baker in Warsaw, in the Russia controlled portion of Poland. In 1846 he emigrated to America, arriving in New York in August and proceeding immediately to Buffalo via the Erie Canal. In December 1846 he opened a bakery on Cherry Street between Hickory and Spring Streets. In 1848 he relocated to Genesee near Hickory and stayed there until 1871. He was a very successful businessman and was highly esteemed in the widest of circles. On September 36, 1842 he married Catharine Kuntgunde Trägve, who was born in Neudorf near Naila. The happy marriage has produced 7 children, 3 of whom still live. Mr. Beyer lives at 694 Ellicott Street.
was born in 1823 in Erfurt in the Kingdom of Prussia. He attended the local school in his home city and then studied carpentry. During his 3 year apprenticeship he attended the Erfurt Drafting School and took private instruction in architectural design. After graduating from his apprenticeship he gained further education through his journeymanship and remained for 5 years away from home. In 1847 he decided to emigrate to America with Buffalo his final destination. He found some work as a construction and furniture carpenter. In November 1849 he went to St. Louis and returned in October 1850. Soon after he procured gainful employment at the "Buffalo Steam Engine Works", which at first was managed by Wm. Williams and later by Mr. Tifft. Mr. Ritter was first employed as a model builder and later became foreman of the model department. His comprehensive and thorough education, his knowledge with regard to calculation and construction, the ability to correctly execute plans, along with his practical sense and energy made him indispensible to the company to such an extent that all work at the building site was personally supervised and measured by him. With only a brief interruption, he was continually employed for 42 years, 8 months until September 1, 1893.
Mr. Ritter married Miss Alwine Kühl of Stettin on May 11, 1851. Eight children were born, of which 4 still live. They are Pauline, married to Herman Stechholz, a pastor in Paterson, N.J.; Eduard, collector for the "Lake View Brewing Co."; Martha, married to Gottfried Burk, a professor in New Ulm; and Emma, the wife of John Schiebel, an engineer at the Electrical Power House. Mr. Ritter lives at 133 High Street.
Heinrich Schirmer, Sr.
first saw the light of the world on June 6, 1824 in Monsheim near Worms in the Hessen-Darmstadt area. He received a basic education at the protestant general school in his home district. He then entered apprenticeship with an excellent teacher and learned to be a furniture joiner and an organ builder. After the Storm and Stress days of 1848 he could no longer justify his support of the old fatherland and consequently emigrated to America, the land of free thought. He landed here on September 17, 1849. After a short stay in New York he came on October 24 of the same year to Buffalo, which at the time was not considered a significant area. Here he settled for the duration. He was very successful in his undertakings until his retirement a year ago. Like so many other Germans, during the Civil War he traded in the tools of his trade for a weapon and served in 1863 many long months in the ranks of the 65th Regiment of the New York State Militia. Mr. Schirmer had in earlier years taken an active part in politics and from 1870 to 1872 he represented the old 7th Ward as a supervising councilman. Mr. Schirmer is one of the oldest members of the Order of the Harugari. He's belonged to that group since 1851. On October 26, 1869 he was one of the founders of the Buffalo Lodge. He was first married to Christine Amend, whom he wed while still in Germany back in 1848. Six children were born of that union. Two sons have survived. His first wife died in 1858. He then married Margarethe Herman of Buffalo, who died January 5, 1897, leaving him with 2 children.
was born on December 28, 1827 in Brumath, Alsatia. He attended the German and French school and learned the butcher trade. In 1851 he emigrated to America and settled in Buffalo in early 1852. He married Miss Katharine Reinheimer on September 2, 1854. He lived on Pine Street near Broadway. In 1855-1856 he worked in a butcher business on William and Bennett Streets and from April 1857 to 1868 he was head man in the business belonging to Mr. Alberger. His diligence, hard work, and frugality allowed him to open his own business in 1870 at 1057 Main Street and then he relocated in 1874 to 1081 Main at the corner of St. Paul. Here he successfully conducted business until his death on September 25, 1894. Mr. Bald was a skilled businessman, who achieved a comfortable existence through his untiring perseverence and strong sense of responsibility. He had a truly Germanic, jovial nature full of earthy humor. He was much loved. Seldom does a man acquire so many friendships and acquaintances that he is sorely missed the way Mr. Bald is today. At his death he left behind a widow and 8 children - 6 boys and 2 girls. They all live together at 1081 Main Street.
belongs among the ranks of the best-known pioneers of the German community. He is counted among the most respected and best esteemed businessmen in the city. This memorial serves as a lasting tribute. Mr. Houck was born on November 30, 1825 in Gensingen of the Hessen-Darmstadt region. He attended the local school and acquired for himself an excellent realm of knowledge. In Fall 1840 he emigrated to America with his parents, who were in agriculture. He lived on a farm near Hamburg in Erie County for 2 years. In 1842 he settled in Buffalo where he was employed in the meal and grain business from 1830 until his death on January 6, 1896.
In business circles he achieved high status and among the members of the German community. He was loved for his amiable and sincere character, his easy demeanor and his pleasing personality. Whenever a proposal was made for the good of the German community, he was its biggest supporter. At the beginning of the 1860s the war broke out. He wasn't content to stay at home. He joined the 65th Military Regiments, the N.G.S.N.Y. As a captain in the artillary company, he went to Harrisburg, Pa. with his regiment.
He was married 3 times. His first wife died 3 months after the wedding. He died on January 6, 1896, leaving behind his widow, Eva, nee Ernst, and 11 children. Three of the children were the result of his marriage to Marie, nee Rodenbach, who died in November 1863. On February 29, 1868 he entered the bonds of matrimony again with his still living widow, Eva, nee Ernst. Mrs. Houck lives at 97 High Street.
From Webpage 5
was born almost a hundred years ago in 1799 in Altkirch, part of the upper Alsace region. In 1828 he emigrated to America after having learned the gunsmithing trade in the old fatherland. He settled in Buffalo, taking a house near Washington and Carroll Street. His first employment in his trade he found with Mr. Daggert, who had a gunsmithing business at the time, which was located on the west side of Main Street south of Seneca. After working there for a few months and demonstrating that he was thoroughly versed in the various German methods of the trade, Mr. Daggert took Mr. Haberstro into partnership. In 1830 Mr. Haberstro saw better opportunities open up for him so he left the firm. He took out a 15 year lease on a piece of land owned by Mr. Le Couteulx, which was located at 193 Main Street.
He built a 2 story wooden structure in which the first floor served as his gunsmith shop and the second story served as his private residence. After his lease ran out he built a solid, 3 story brick building on Main Street, which had the number 401 at the time but which today would be 523 Main Street between Mohawk and Genesee. Mr. Haberstro said goodbye to his trade in order to make greater profits in textiles ("Ellenwaaren"). For this purpose he constructed a new building, which also included his private residence. He opened the business on May 1, 1845 and successfully conducted business there until his death on March 26, 1862. Mr. Haberstro married Miss Catharine Mesmer here in 1830. The marriage produced 11 children, of whom 4 still live.
Let it further be mentioned that Mr. Haberstro fully committed himself to the cause when he became a firearms maker for the Federal Army from 1830 to 1845. This was a satisfying and useful undertaking. What's even more interesting about this energetic and goal-oriented man is the fact that Mr. Haberstro was a trustee and member of St. Louis Church. During the well-known strife that took place between the Catholic clergy and the congregation concerning the title of ownership of the church, Mr. Haberstro was fully on the side of the congregation until the situation was favorably resolved. In Mr. Haberstro the once young but now significant and substantial congregation of St. Louis' had found a strong and energetic supporter.
Joseph Lambert Haberstro
When Buffalo was just a village Joseph Lambert Haberstro was born on July 27, 1831 at the corner of Carroll and Washington Streets. He attended the public school in his district and the Schreck Private Institute. Afterwards it was only natural that he should follow in the footsteps of his father and learn the gunsmithing trade. He was later in textiles and dry goods with the business at 153 Main Street. In 1859 he changed over to the brewing trade and was a diligent staff member of the German-American Brewing Company at the corner of High and Main Streets. In 1885 he withdrew from this business in order to work as an insurance agent and notary public. Mr. Joseph L. Haberstro also played a significant role in city and county politics. From 1864 to 1867 he served as an alderman and in 1866 he became Council President. From 1868 to 1871 he was City Treasurer and from 1877 to 1879 he was Sheriff of Erie County. On September 1, 1853 he married Miss Barbara Scheu, with whom he had 11 children, of whom 6 still live. Mr. Joseph Haberstro documented his German ancestry and his German attitudes in many ways. He was a member of various German associations such as the Liedertafel (Glee Club), the Orpheus, the Harugari Men's Choir, and the Sängerbund.
This didn't happen just for the sake of enjoyment. It was his way of immersing himself in the German element of the city and perfecting his command of the German Language. He lacked the basics of German culture and language because his parents were Alsatian - his mother from Upper Alsace, his father from Lower Alsace.
Besides all this Mr. Haberstro was a member of the volunteer fire brigade, he is an "exempt fireman", and last but not least an esteemed member of the Harugari and the Free Masons. He entered his first organization in 1852, but he decided to join the Masons in 1853. This was the Concordia Lodge No. 143, F. & A.M. The great service that he did for this lodge is testified to in the following piece. It speaks for itself:
Buffalo, N.Y., February 15, 1878.
To the H.M.(Honorable Membership?) of the Concordia Lodge No. 143, F. & A.M.: Honored Brothers - In a meeting held by the members of the aforemention Lodge on February 10th of this year, the following was unanimously accepted:
Put forth, that on March 22 of this year, 23 years have passed since our honored member Joseph L. Haberstro first saw the mason's light and proposed that he be considered for all time a true Mason; and proposed that we have him to thank for the establishment of the Concordia Lodge and for the flourishing circumstance in which it now finds itself.
Thus let it be passed, that the Concordia Lodge No. 143 on the evening of March 21 of this year will hold a fete with a dance to honor the honorable member, Joseph L. Haberstro, and a committee of 5 will be appointed to make all arrangements.
Committee: Frank Sipp as Chairman and the brother-masons Brost, Schmidt, Kaiser and Stover.
The above-mentioned committee met on February 14th and decided to commission the Secretary to bring the united decision concerning the honorable member Joseph L. Haberstro open to general knowledge.
Awaiting your answer,
respectfully signed, George Brost, Secretary
After the newspaper report of this time the projected fete took place in the Sports Hall. It was a glorious affair. All participants who are still living remember it as an amicable and lively testimonial.
The present family residence of Mr. Haberstro is at 958 Washington Street.
Dr. John Hauenstein
was born on June 28, 1821 in Degerfeld in the Canton of Argau, Switzerland. He went to the public school there and received the first part of his elementary education. He was scarcely 10 years old when his parents decided to emigrate to America. Buffalo was their destination. On September 7, 1831 they arrived in this city and took up residence on Eagle Street near Union Street. The lad was entrusted to the private school of Pastor Gumbel and was later sent to the private school of Mr. Bean in order to receive better instruction in the English Language. First that school was at the corner of Pearl Place and Mohawk Street and later located on Bean Alley. After he had acquired the necessary skills he attended the Fay School, which at that time was in the same building as the Hospital of the Sisters of Charity, which is still on Main Street across the street from St. Louis Church. From here he attended the Medical College at Geneseo to study medicine. After much diligence and robust effort the young student received his medical diploma in 1844 and returned to Buffalo the same year to practice medicine. His practice grew from year to year since the young physician tended to his patients with untiring fervor and ceaseless devotion. He put his own life at risk during the great cholera epidemic by caring for others, thus earning the gratitude of many suffering people. With this same sense of self sacrifice he continued his practice until 1895 when he retired. As a member of the Erie County Medical Association, of which he was president in 1881, he earned the respect of the profession. He took an active role in the development and founding of the Buffalo General Hospital. He is still a member of the staff. Dr. Hauenstein, who to this day cherishes his German roots, has played a major part in the development of the Buffalo's German community. Among other things he is a member of the German Young Men's Association, the German Fire Insurance Company, and the German Bank of Buffalo. On December 2, 1845 he married Miss Magdalena Sigwald, with whom he has 5 children, 4 of whom still live.
Henry J. Kreinheder
was born on July 26, 1845 in Neuenkirche, Germany. When he was 6 weeks old his parents emigrated to America, where they settled in the Buffalo neighboring district of Williamsville. After they lived there for 2 years, they came to Buffalo and secured a home at 64 Gray Street. That was 1848. When he reached school age he attended the congregational school of Trinity Church and studied under Mr. C. Kurtzmann to learn piano construction. At the age of 23 he prepared himself for the dry goods trade. He longed to be self-employed so he established a dry goods business under the firm name of H.J. Kreinheder & Co., which was considered among the most profitable businesses of the Buffalo area. It was a business he maintained as senior partner until his death on August 1, 1893. At the time of his departure from this world he was a member of the upper house of the city council - for a year he was the only Republican. Back in 1876 he was alderman for the 7th Ward. He was an active member of the Volunteer Fire Brigade, from which he received an honorable discharge.
In 1875 he entered the bonds of matrimony with Miss Ida E. Poedding, with whom he had 6 children. Four of those children still live.
His family home is at 199 Sherman Street, where he breathed his last breath.
was born on March 28, 1831 in Schwabach, Bavaria. His father, a musician himself, taught the child how to play the flute when he turned 6. The child had a pronounced talent for music and the father devised a course of schooling, which did not neglect a musical education. Besides the piano and string instruments, the lad thoroughly learned how to play wind instruments, at which he exceled. At the age of 14 he untook seminary instruction in harmony and contrapoint, which secured for him a significant position on the all-student orchestra. He also availed himself of the opportunity to study and master his talent for conducting. When he graduated from the seminary in 1851 he took a position as a teaching assistant in the neighboring vicinity. He remained at that posting, actively broadening his musical education, until the work field seemed too limited. He decided to seek his fortune elsewhere. In 1854 he relocated to New York, in order to negotiate for himself a better perch from which to return to Buffalo. As a musician he wasn't able to find immediately a suitable niche for his talents and energy. First he took on conducting a small singing society and gave private lessons. With the growth of the German community grew his activity. In 1857 he was appointed conductor of the Sängerbund, a position which he held until 1886. With the great singing festival of 1883, held in Buffalo, he was one of 3 festival conductors. The Harugari Men's Choir stood under his direction for a year. In 1861 he established a music and singing school, for which he composed and produced a number of children's operettas, based mostly on fairy tales. He was organist for St. Paul's Church on Ellicott Street for more than 35 years. There he also had the opportunity to assemble a fine choir. He maintained this position until his death.
He departed this world on August 31, 1896, leaving a wife and 5 children - 3 daughters, Anna, Minna, and Julie; and 2 sons, Adam and Carl, both of whom are well known and accomplished musicians.
Mr. Friedrich Federlein may rightly be considered a epoch-making pioneer of the highest order for his contribution to the musical life and momentum of Buffalo. It was he who created the high status of the German community's singing choirs. He ambitiously strove to obtain fine orchestra music for their accompaniment. The City of Buffalo in retrospect has him to thank and will fondly remember him with gratitude.
first saw the light of the world on April 11, 1841 in Lettweiler, part of the Bavarian Rheinpfalz. He came from a family of teachers. His father, his grandfather and his great grandfather were teachers. He himself was an accomplished and diligent teacher and organist. At the request of his uncle, Peter Fiscus, who was organist and teacher of St. Paul's Congregation, he came to the United States and arrived in Buffalo on April 14, 1865, only to find to his horror that his uncle had already died on March 25th and that the position was already filled. On August 19th of the same year he secured a position as teacher and organist with the reform Zion Congregation. He maintained that posting until August 30, 1872. He was employed in the same capacity from September 1, 1872 until March 10, 1884 at St. Peter's, from March 4, 1885 to March 30, 1888 at St. Mark's, and from April 1, 1888 to November 1, 1891 by the St. Jacob's Congregation. For the most part he enjoyed the greatest of success as an educator. Currently you'll find him at his dry goods business at 14 Lemon Street. On April 18, 1867 he married Amelia Rochevot. The union has produced 2 sons and 3 daughters, all of whom still live.
From Webpage 6
was during his time one of the best known and most loved of Buffalo's German settlers. He was born on December 29, 1828 in Schwaben Hall, Württemberg. He emigrated to the United States around 1845. He first settled in New York, where he married Miss Elizabeth Roskopf in 1854. Shortly after the wedding he came to Buffalo in order to open a restaurant in the old Post Office building at the corner of Seneca and Washington Streets. He maintained this business for 14 years, which became more popular and beloved with every year that passed. It was a meeting place for the best known politicians and served at the time as a place for mass gatherings of the elegant clubs of the day.
In Mr. Broezel's restaurant one could daily meet people from Cleveland, Bass, Folsom, Lansing, Ganson, and Warren as well as the various representatives of all political parties. Here is where Mr. Broezel made his fortune during the war, and it must be mentioned that his lovable and hard working wife played quite a part in the success, which Mr. Broezel enjoyed. Having amassed a substantial fortune and having achieved popularity and favor as an individual in Buffalo, Mr. Broezel retired in 1872. However his propensity towards work, his sense of regularity and his spirit of enterprise would not let him be inactive for long, so we saw him return to full activity. In 1875 he built and opened a beautiful, friendly hotel on Seneca Street, which was called "Broezel House". It quickly developed a well deserved fine reputation. Mr. Broezel was a man of excellent character and because of his common sense, his readiness to do good, his willingness to be a true friend, and his drive to be the best at what he did, he couldn't help but be loved and respected by his fellow citizens. Although he was barraged from all sides, he never failed to honor each and every request made by public officials. Mr. Broezel was one of the first members of the German Young Men's Association, the Orpheus, and the Sängerbund. He was a director of the German Fire Insurance Company. He died in Buffalo on October 10, 1887. Two of his children, Mrs. S.F. Eagan and Mr. John Broezel, live in this city. Men like Mr. Broezel show what diligence, honor and good will can accomplish. In his various relationships he stood out as a wealthy man but for his progeny he leaves them with the knowledge that to have a name, of which one can be proud, is worth much more than all the riches in the world.
was born on December 31, 1823 in Flannersheim in the Canton of Frankenthal in the Rhine Palatinate. He attended the school in his district until 1838, when he emigrated to America with his parents. He arrived in Buffalo on July 3rd of the same year. At first he lived with his parents on 509 Oak Street, near Goodell. Henry Werich learned furniture joinery and the upholstery trade and worked at the same task for 33 years until he retired. In 1861 when the Civil War broke out he couldn't bear to stay at home so he entered the 10th New York Cavalry Regiment as a private. He served with great distinction and was made a second Lieutenant. He also belonged to the Volunteer Fire Brigade and is now a member of the Veteran Firemen's Association. On October 3, 1850 he married Veronica Herder, who gave him 6 children, of whom 1 son and 2 daughters still live. He lives at 437 Oak Street.
was born on May 7, 1835 in Harxheim, which is on the Mainz River in the Hessen-Darmstadt region. He attended the district school. In 1845, at the young age of 10, he emigrated with his parents to America and landed after a relatively long journey in New York. On September 3 of the same year the parents settled in Buffalo and took their first residence on the corner of Batavia and Pratt Streets. After the lad attended Public School 12, he studied the hotel and restaurant management business. After a few years he was self-employed. For nearly 20 years he was greatly successful. Schenkelberger's Restaurant, located in Ziegele's Hall, was a favorite and popular place in Buffalo. In October of 1887 he took over the restaurant in the old Music Hall, which he managed until March 1, 1888. In this same year he was appointed by President Cleveland, with whom he shared a fine friendship, to the post of Pension Agent. He held this office with such great prudence that he was reappointed by President Harrison. In 1893 he retired from public life but in 1894, at the urging of many friends, accepted the nomination to run for Sheriff on the Democratic ticket. He was defeated by the Republican Lamy. Thereafter he lived peacefully in the bossom of his family in his happy and extremely comfortable home on 26 Otis Place. He went to his eternal rest on May 17, 1898. All who knew him mourned his passing. His very happy marriage was blessed with 6 children, all of whom still reside in Buffalo with the exception of his oldest son, Albert, who is employed as a merchant in Boston. Of special note in the life of Mr. Schenkelberger was his participation in the Civil War. He served in the Light Artillery Unit of Battery A of the 1st New York Volunteers as a Lieutenant. He personally took part in all the schirmishes and battles fought by the Battery. He lost a leg in the great battle of Bull Run. His wound made it impossible to continue fighting in the War; Washington notified him that he was discharged. Despite his injury he had a generally sound constitution. As a Veteran, who acquired many friends due to his amicability and rich, full life, it's understandable that he possessed many fine social skills. He was a member of the Orpheus for 28 years and from 1854 he belonged to the German Young Men's Association. The Sängerbund counts him among their founders.
was born on June 2, 1843 in Bramsch, part of what was then the Kingdom of Hannover. After attending the public school, he learned the farrier (shoer of horses) trade. In 1869 he came to the United States and settled immediately in Buffalo. Three years later, on July 1, 1882, he established his own business at 101 Clinton Street. He works at that old place to this day. He's widely known for his fine work and is counted as one the finest German residents in the city. He's the personification of German endeavor. For years he's been a member of the Sängerbund and the Sports Association, ever willing to fulfill any task given to him. Mr. Storck is married to Francisca Krüger. He lives at 103 Clinton Street. Of 6 children born to the marriage, 3 still live.
is a man who enjoys unusually great political popularity. His fellow citizens have chosen him to represent them in both houses of the State Legislature as well as at various conventions of the Republican Party. For more than 10 years he has been sent to all important conventions by his party. He was born on September 12, 1857 in Buffalo. From the age of 5 he attended the public schools and then went to Bryant and Stratton Academy to study business. After finishing his education in 1878 with distinction, he entered his father's coal business. Later he opened a men's shop on the East Side, which brought him great success for many years. In 1889 he gave up that business in order to accept an appointment under President Harrison as a United States "Aicher" [tariff officer]. He continued in this capacity until 1893 when he became an agent for the "Magnus Beck Brewing Co." He still holds that position. For many years Mr. Seibert has been active in the affairs of the Republican Party. He was a strident activist for them on the East Side and was for a long time President of the East Side Republican League. Mr. Seibert has been the Party's strongest second-hand. In 1893 he was honored by a nomination for the Assembly. Although the democratic majority was 600 strong and his opponent was a man whose popularity was proven through earlier victories, Mr. Seibert was elected with a majority of 1356 votes. After representing his district excellently for a year in Albany, he was again nominated in 1894 and this time won by an even bigger margin. At the end of his second term he received an even greater honor. He was nominated to run for the upper house of the State Legislature as Representative for the 48th Senate District. The Convention, at which he received the nominination, was made up of businessmen, and his nomination occurred amid acclamation. In 1892 Grover Cleveland had won in this district by 2000 votes. Mr. Seibert had a majority of 2206 votes, even though new voting laws meant that nearly 1000 votes had been lost. In 1896 he was chosen to be an alternate delegate for the National Convention in St. Louis. Mr. Seibert's unceasing success leaves one to wonder about the source of his political popularity. He himself does not consider it a form of genius but rather the result of participation in which he has properly dealt with his constituents and has never promised them anything that he couldn't deliver. This is how he has acquired the trust and respect of all and his best friends are those who have known him the longest - this is the best proof that one truly can decipher the character of a man. Mr. Seibert is a member of the Mystic Star Lodge, I.O.O.F., the Millard Fillmore Lodge, K.O.P., the Teutonia Men's Choir, the Sprudel Fishing Club, the Silver King Fish Club, etc.
William Nicklis, Jr.,
whose life will be delineated in the following lines, was born on January 21, 1840 in Buffalo. He is the son of William Nicklis, Sr., who came into the world on January 21, 1809 in Niederwiesen and emigrated to Buffalo in 1836. He opened a tailoring shop on the top floor of an old stone building on the corner of Main and Erie Streets. When his father had been in Buffalo for about 4 years he built a store at 27 - 29 Main Street, which is still there today after 56 years and is still family owned. Mr. Nicklis, Jr., whose father died in 1874, has 6 siblings - Mrs. Geo. Dickerson (Eva), Mrs. Clark Leonard (Nettie), Mrs. Fred Conaut (Carrie), Jacob, Ferdinand, and Mrs. William Pierce. Only Mrs. Dickerson and Mrs. Conaut are still living. Mr. Nicklis, Jr. attended what is now called the grammar school. It was originally a city school. At the age of 21 he entered his father's business and remained there until his death. On 1861 he married Liliam Elizabeth Fysh, who gave him 6 children. He died in the prime of life in March 1884 at the age of 44. The business, under the firm name of Nicklis & Company, is managed by his son, William Nicklis.
Henry W. Brendel,
one of the best known and most important lawyers in Buffalo, was born on December 10, 1857 in Buffalo. He is the child of German parents. After receiving a basic education at the public schools in his father city, he entered the law firm of Hawkins & Fischer as a student, or perhaps more accurately, as an apprentice. He finished his studies at the office of lawyer Delavan F. Clark. In 1879 he became associated with General James C. Strong, in whose firm he was so successful that in 1891 he could stand on his own two feet. Consequently he absolved the partnership with General Strong.
Mr. Brendel has regularly taken part in the politics of his own County and the entire State. As a result of his hard work and amicability he has held various honorary positions and offices. For a string of years he was a member of the Executive Committee of New York's Republican Party and for 3 years he was Treasurer of the Republican Party in Erie County. He was nominated 3 times by his Party for the State Legislature but was defeated because he ran in a predominantly Democratic district.
He was a member of St. Stephan's Evangelical Church, the Order of the Harugari, and the Teutonia Men's Choir, in which he is especially active. He's had quite an influence over the singing and musical scene here in the city.
Mr. Brendel was appointed Collector of Harbor Fees for the City of Buffalo by President McKinley. He is also Captain of Company D of the 65th New York State Regiment. He served in that capacity in the field with his regiment at the outbreak of the Spanish-American War.
Johann Friedrich Barth
is one of our old, true warriors from the Civil War and at this time is an alderman for the 16th Ward on the City Council. Mr. Barth was born on April 4, 1844 at Höfen in Württemberg. He attended the Protestant Congregational school there and after his emigration to America on November 30, 1854 he attended Public School 12 in the City of Buffalo. After his schooling was completed he learned the cigar maker's trade and worked in this trade at various businesses until 1876 when he opened his own cigar factory at 179 Orange Street. His factory has a well-deserved, good reputation and is to this day considered a well-run and and respectable business. Soon after the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted as a volunteer in the 187th Regiment. From September 4, 1864 to July 5, 1865, on which date he was honorably discharged, he took active part in battle at the Battle at Five Forks, both battles at Hatcher's Run on October 24, 1864 and February 12, 1865. He fought valiently for his adopted fatherland. He took part in the Battle at Walton Road in 1863 and he was a participant at Petersburgh and Richmond, Va. He lived to see General Lee's capitulation to General Grant. Mr. Barth is a zealous and treasured member of the Republican Party, by whom he was nominated to be alderman. As already mentioned he was elected in the Fall of 1897. In 1866 he married Miss Anna Hoffmann, who was born in Bavaria. Nine children have come from the union. Unfortunately only 4 still live.
From Webpage 7
Francis J. Kraft
was born on November 18, 1820 in Wangen in the Alsace region. He attended the congregational school in his district and then learned furniture joinery. In 1840 he came to the United States and settled in Buffalo, where he opened a furniture business on Main near Mohawk Street. He worked there until 1844 and then became an undertaker at 31 East Huron Street. His carried on the profession until his death on March 16, 1898. In the last years he was in partnership with his son under the firm name of F.J. Kraft and Son. Mr. Kraft was one of the first members of the St. Louis Congregation and one of its most zealous workers when it came to building a foundation for the small church, which stood where the magnificent house of God stands today. He was married there to Miss Anna Rebstock of Stuttgart on February 19, 1846. He celebrated his golden wedding anniversay with her in 1896 in the old homeland. In 1870 he was elected Commissioner of the Poor on the Republican ticket. He tended his office with such conscientiousness that he was elected 2 more times. He was a true champion of the poor and anyone who knew him was convinced of his good heartedness. Besides his loving wife he is survived by the son mentioned above and 3 daughters, 2 of whom are married.
Frank A. Kraft,
son of the late undertaker F.J. Kraft, was born on December 18, 1853 in Buffalo, New York. After graduating from the elementary school he attended the Canandaiga Academy, where he received an excellent education. For 15 years he worked in the Interior Tax Service of the United States and later became a partner in his father's business, F.J. Kraft and Son. He's still at 31 East Huron, the place where "Papa" Kraft established the business. Mr. Kraft is one of the premier businessmen in the City of Buffalo and enjoys the high regard of his fellow citizens, as did his father before him. He is completely involved with making sure that the business' reputation remains unblemished. Despite modern trends, the business continues to grow. He is married to Elizabeth Cornelius and lives at 53 Lexington Avenue.
the subject of our next sketch, was born on July 23,1837 in Gensingen at Bingen on the Rhein in the Grand Duchy of Hessen-Darmstadt. He came to America as a youngster of 2 and a half years with his parents, who settled on a farm near White's Corner in the Town of Hamburg. He attended the district school and after graduation he spent the winter at a so-called "Select School". Until age 19 he worked on his parent's farm. On April 4, 1857 he entered the flour business of Philip Houck and in 1862 we find him as a partner of this business, which operated under the name Phil. Houck & Co. Currently Mr. Cornelius is a senior partner in the firm. His sense of fair play and business accumen couldn't help but win him the respect of all with whom he had dealings. It's no wonder others have sought his assistance with the establishment of their own businesses. The German Fire Insurance Company, the Union Bank, the Commercial Insurance Company, of which Mr. Cornelius is a Director, are indebted to him for their positive stature. To the Order of the Free Masons, in which he has made it to the 32nd level, he is a highly esteemed individual. The Buffalo Orpheus, to which he has belonged for many years, treasured him. He served as Captain of a Cavalry Troop in the New York Militia under General Howard. On June 9, 1861 he married Miss Caroline Huber, born in the Town of Hamburg. The happy union, which unfortunately ended on February 8, 1895 with the death of Mr. Cornelius' beloved life partner, produced 3 daughters all of whom are alive and married. On November 12, 1896 Mr. Cornelius, whose home is at 42 Linwood Avenue, married the Widow Caroline Scheu.
was born in Meisenheim of the Hessen-Homburg region on June 18, 1822. After he finished school he learned the saddlery trade in Kreuznach and later travelled to Strassberg. From 1841 to 1845 he worked in his shop in Paris. Then he went to America and first settled in Newark, New Jersey. In 1849 he followed his brother Julius to Buffalo and procured a position as a clerk in a speciality shop. The brothers soon after established a business under the firm name of A. & J. Fuchs, which dealt with specialty items, wines and liquors. In 1855 their brother Eduard became a partner in the business and the name was changed to Fuchs Brothers. Mr. Augustus Fuchs was a Democrat, took an active part in politics and served the city for several years as Parks Commissioner. Since the heart of his interest was the beverage trade, he held influential positions within the industry. He was elected President of the Wine, Liquor and Beer Dealer's Association, and he was chosen for the General Executive Board (the 3 federations). Furthermore he was Treasurer of the New York State Liquor Dealer's Association. He regularly took part in the affairs of the German community. He was a member of the Concordia Lodge No.143 Order of the Free Masons, the Germania Capital No. 256, R.A.M., the Buffalo Liedertafel (Glee Club)and many long years sas President of the Buffalo Sängerbund. On May 20, 1852 he married Miss Helene Mayer of Eden, New York, who died March 16, 1886. He survived her by only 2 years and departed this world on December 7, 1888. From the union there are 5 children still living: 2 daughters - Mrs. J. A. Kuhn and Mrs. Frank Kuhn, and 3 sons - Edwin G., William L. and Charles F. Fuchs.
first saw the light of the world on April 15, 1797 in Weistein, in the Baden region. After successfully completing his schooling the 17-year-old young man decided to emigrate to America. In 1815 he arrived at the hospitable shores of this land and made his way to Pennsylvania, settling in Harrisburg. He became familiar with the language, the customs and the manners of the land and through hard word and persistence established a snug abode. On August 23, 1821 he brought his bride, Miss Sarah Gorgas, to her new family home.
Due to certain circumstances he left Pennsylvania and came to Western New York. He lived in Lyons from 1826 to 1836. In April of 1836 he made Buffalo his home. Two years after settling here he was appointed to the office of Post Master by Martin Van Buren on the 8th of June. On April 1, 1845 he was reappointed for a second time by James K. Polk. In 1856 he was a candidate for delegate on the Fremont Presidential Ticket. In 1859 he was elected Treasurer of the State of New York and stayed in this office until December 1861. In the following year he was appointed Inland Tax Collector on August 22 and remained at that post until 2 years before his death on April 11, 1868. He was a volunteer in the German War for Independence.
was born on February 5, 1832 in Lyons, New York. When he was 5 his parents moved to Buffalo. When he reached school age he attended the public schools and graduated. He wanted to study jurisprudence so he attended Harvard University. After he finished his studies he was admitted to the Bar. During the Civil War he served on the staff of General J.C. Fremont, whom he assisted diligently.
In 1869 he was appointed Federal Prosecutor of the Northern Districts of New York by Andrew Johnson. He stayed at this post until 1871. In 1874 he was elected with Samuel J. Tilden to the office of Lieutenant Governor. He was Lieutenant Governor a second time, this time running on the ticket with Lucius Robinson in 1879.
After his second term he settled in New York and established a law partnership with David Dudley Field. In 1884 he took over the editorship of the New York Star and guided it in a positive manner.
Mr. Dorsheimer was one of the principle founders of the Parks System and put much time and effort into its improvement and elaboration during his stays in Buffalo. He died on March 26, 1888 in Savannah, Georgia.
John Philipp Einsfeld
The above mentioned individual is counted among the oldest and best known settlers in Erie County. In 1832 he was born in Partenheim, part of the Hessen-Darmstadt region. He emigrated to America in 1846 when he was 14 years old in the company of his parents. He arrived in Buffalo on June 15, 1846. He had attended the local congregational school in the old homeland. Attending school in America precluded his need to learn a trade. Soon after his arrival he learned the art of printing. He remained true to the profession for 10 years. Fortunate circumstances got him selected to be a doorman in the House of Representatives. He held this position from 1859 to 1864. He then became secretary to the Honorable E.G. Spaulding during his term as a Congressional Representative.
In 1868 he went into partnership with Geo. Zeiler and established a household goods business under the name of Zeiler & Einsfeld. He remained there until 1876. Later he established the firm Einfelds & Emig, a shoe and boot factory, which stands in full bloom. The old 7th Ward was represented by him from 1872 to 1875. He volunteered for service in the Civil War in 1862 and remained in service until the end of the war, earning the rank of second Lieutenant. On August 2, 1852 he married Miss Barbara Weaver of Chippewa, Ontario. She gave him a daughter, now Mrs. Adolph Frankenstein. She still lives in Buffalo. Mr. Einsfeld died on April 16, 1891. He was truly loved by all who knew him, business associates and social acquaintences alike.
who died January 16, 1898 was, like his grandfather and father in Germany, famous in America for his artistic musical instruments. Mr. Dufner's grandfather, Anton Dufner, who was born in Furtwangen in the Black Forest in 1730, occupied himself with making mechanical musical instruments and might well be considered the father of the orchestrion, an invention usually attributed to F.T. Kaufmann. The later first offered his mechanical music player to the public in 1851, while Dufner was working as a clockmaker.
Dufner had first come upon the idea at the end of the previous century to create a self-playing organ when he received musical instruction from a monk. His first instrument had 21 pipes and all who saw it were impressed that it was a wonderful invention. It held a place of honor within the church. Dufner, with some of his relatives, established a factory to produce orchestrions, which were perfected to the point that they could play the most difficult of musical pieces. Anton Dufner died in 1834. His son, Bernhard's father, took over the business. He produced an especially large instrument and toured the land with it. He came to Stuttgart, the capital city of Würtemberg. The instrument stirred up a lot of attention. The King extended to him the rights of citizenship, full exemption from taxes, and a pension of 10,000 Guilders in exchange for his moving to Stuttgart and setting up an orchestrion factory. Dufner declined the offer and stayed in his home town. His son, Bernhard, was born on July 1, 1836. After the father's death he took over the business but decided in 1857 to emigrate to America. He was convinced that he could find a better location for his mechanical instrument factory. He stayed a year in New York then settled in Buffalo. The first instrument, which he produced, was acquired by the late W.G. Fargo. His orchestrions found buyers throughout the land. The finest of the instruments he produced can be found at the Powers Gallery in Rochester. It cost $12,000. Mr. Dufner, who was married to Anna Freiner, lived at 108 Goodell Street. He was an extremely decent man. Most Buffalonians knew him as did residents of other cities since his name was famous because of his musical instruments. He was an active member of Branch No. 15 of the C.M.B.A. and the Niagara Council No. 169, C.B.L.
The life of Mr. Bleistein may serve as an example of what hard work, energy and ability can do to secure for poor people a comfortable and respectable life. As the son of poor parents he was born in Buffalo on December 6, 1861. He attended the German St. John's School for 2 years then he attended Public School 15. In order to support himself he was forced to leave school at the age of 14. He found employment at the Courier Company. Through his diligence and persistence he was able within 5 years to raise himself from office boy to management. He later became President of the company, a position which he still holds today. Under his guidance the Courier developed into one of the most respected and influential Democratic newspapers in the State, which advocated honest and corruption-free city government and never used its influence for self-gain. When the Home-Rule Movement took on greater dimensions, Mr. Bleistein worked zealousy for this principle. He was the President of Home Rule Democracy for Erie County. Although he was an avid Democrat and an influential leader of his Party, he resisted the cajoling of his friends to run for public office. The only public post which he held was that of Trustee for the City and County Hall. Mr. Bleistein held that post for 7 years, 4 of those years as Chairman of the Trustees. On April 28, 1886 he married Elizabeth W. McCune, who gave him 3 children - 2 sons and 1 daughter. Mr. Bleistein's private residence is at 438 Delaware Avenue. The parents of this ambitious businessman were born in Germany and settled in Buffalo in 1836. Since the Courier changed hands a few years ago, Mr. Bleistein spends more of his time managing the large printing office of the Courier Company.
From Webpage 8
about whom this next section deals, is known well beyond the city limits because of his artistry in the creation of ironwork. He was born on June 9, 1851 in Coelieda, Thuringia and attended the city school. He learned the locksmithing trade, which he perfected to an artistic form. In 1881 he emigrated to the United States and settled in Buffalo on April 22nd of the same year. He worked for many years in various machine shops and finally opened his own ornamental metal works shop on July 15, 1891 at Genesee and Oak Streets, which he later relocated to 20 Lock Street. You'll find it there today. Mr. Feine, a true artist in his craft, is responsible for the wonderful and pleasing portico on the Main Street side of the Iroquois Hotel, as well as the magnificent and graceful picture frames he presented to the Buffalo Sängerbund in 1898 to celebrate the anniversary of its founding. These provide proof of the number of skilled craftmen in his shop and what he can do with modern machinery to produce the most intricate examples in the field. From his workshop comes ironwork for all kinds of construction - fire escapes, stairs, landings, etc. but above all else his specialty is ornamental latticework, which evokes the awe of professionals and laymen alike for its fine and artistic execution. Since 1882 Mr. Feine has been a member of the Order of the Harugari and the Harugari Men's Choir. Since 1891 he has belonged to the Buffalo Sängerbund as an active member. Currently he is its Vice-President. Furthermore he is a member of the Concordia Lodge Order of the Free Masons. Mr. Feine, who calls the exceedingly comfortable house at 365 Johnson Street his home, has been married to Barbara Weber since August 28, 1876. Six children, all still living together, have sprung from the generally happy union.
nee Weber, was born on May 2, 1832 in Rockenhausen, part of the Rhein Palatinate. She attended the Protestant Congregation school in her home district. On August 28, 1876 she married Mr. August Feine in Frankfurt on Main. They came to the United States in 1881 and settled in Buffalo on April 22nd of the same year. Mrs. Feine, the mother of 6 children still living together, enjoys the greatest respect of all who are fortunate enough to know her because of her excellent character as a proper German housewife.
Johann Georg Soergel
was born on October 9, 1842 in Eschenfeld, Bavaria. He emigrated to America at the age of 4 with his parents. After enduring an arduous journey they arrived on July 4, 1846. They immediately settled in Buffalo, living on Sycamore Street between Spruce and Walnut. After attending Public School 12 and St. John's School on Hickory Street, where he first studied the rudiments of English and later German, he learned the butcher trade. He worked for several fine establishments including 9 years for Bullymore. In 1875 he launched his own business at 1560 Main Street. In 1877 he relocated to 1550 Main Street, conducting business there until 1894. Mr. Soergel was a successful businessman who combined untiring diligence with strong, dignified business sense. These traits helped him acquire a comfortable existence. He enjoys overall respect and uncompromised esteem. His circle of friends is very large. He has been happily married to Selma Schwenkenbecher since November 13, 1864. They had 4 children , of whom 2 sons still live. Mr. Soergel lives at 13 Oxford Avenue in his very comfortable and pleasant home.
Mrs. Johann Georg Soergel
was born on July 21, 1843 in Grossloma, part of Saxony-Weimar. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Schwenkenbecher and has the baptismal name Selma. She attended Public School 12 and the German Protestant School of St. Peter's at the corner of Genesee and Hickory Streets. At both schools she acquired a good knowledge of English and German. In 1847 she emigrated to America with her parents and arrived in Buffalo in the summer of the same year. Her parents settled at the corner of Goodell and Mulberry Streets. On November 13, 1864 she married Johann Georg Soergel, whom she diligently and untiringly helped with his business without neglecting her household duties. The apparently happy marriage has produced 4 children, of whom 2 sons, Johann and Georg, still live. Mrs. Soergel lives with her husband at 13 Oxford Avenue.
Jacob Gustav Soergel,
a son of Mr. Johann Georg Soergel, first saw the light of the world on December 25, 1869. Like his brother, he attended Public School 17 and Bryant and Stratton Business School. He also learned the butcher trade and took over his father's business in 1894. He's still conducting business at the old place at 1550 Main Street. It was his intention to modify and enlarge the old business and he has managed to do this quite well. Mr. Sörgel [sic] is happily married to Olive Dunstone of Palmyra, Jefferson County, Wisconsin.
August Theo. Soergel,
the elder son of Mr. J.G. Sörgel, was born in Cincinnati on September 14, 1875. He came to Buffalo when his father opened up his own business. He attended Public School 17. He later attended Bryant and Stratton Business School. He then learned the butcher trade and entered the hotel business in 1888, the business in which he has been employed ever since with great success. He is married to Wilhelmina Louisa Raquet, who was born on June 29, 1879 in East-Amherst.
was born on January 1, 1829 in Fulda in Hessen-Nassau. He received his education at the parish school in his district and learned cigar making. In 1851 the young, ambitious man emigrated to America and settled in Buffalo, where in May of the same year he began drawing up plans for a cigar factory. His reliability for delivering excellent products yielded him a good name in the world of business and he saw his business prosper. In 1853 Mr. Erb joined the Volunteer Fire Brigade and at the end of his service he joined the Exempt Firemen's Association. He regularly participated in affairs of the German community and he belonged to several lodges including the Harugaris, the Odd Fellows, etc. He was also involved with various charities including the German Hospital. On May 17, 1854 he married Maria R. Seilheimer. The marriage was childless. Titus Erb died suddenly on September 9, 1897 as the result of an accident. He is truly missed by all who knew him.
Maria Rosina Erb,
nee Seilheimer, was born January 19, 1832 in Mettenheim in the environs of Worms in the Grand Duchy of Hessen. She attended the parish school in her home district and came in 1848 with her parents to the United States. They immediately settled in Buffalo. She married cigar factory owner Titus Erb on May 17, 1854, with whom she had a very happy, though childless marriage until his sudden death on September 9, 1897. Mrs. Erb lives at 269 Spring Street.
was born in 1817 in Herzheim-Weier in the Rhein Palatinate. He attended the Catholic school in the village. Afterwards he learned the bookbinder trade and emigrated to the Promised Land in 1840, where he settled in Buffalo. As a bookbinder he entered the business of Mr. H.G. Steele, for whom he was employed for 18 years. In his spare time he took instruction in the English Language. Spurred on by his love of working outdoors, he hung his bookbinding trade apron on the doornail and established a fruit and vegetable garden on Genesee Street by the Scajaquada Creek. There he cultivated grafted fruit orchards and planted shade trees. He was also the first working flower grower in Buffalo, having been instructed by Mr. Steele, who lived at Clinton Street near Michigan. In its day his park-like residence was visited by many strollers and it became a scenic attraction of the city. Mr. Reichert was a businessman of whom we Germans may be proud. His strictly honest business dealings made him many friends. His knowledge of his field and the energy with which he pursued his occupation had much to do with the success he enjoyed. In 1861 he represented the 12th Ward in the Supervisory Council and when he left the County Legislature, all were convinced that he had served the interests of his constituents and the entire county selflessly. He was nominated to run for the post of Treasurer of the City but he was defeated, despite his early majority at the polls, by the Democratic candidate. He was a lifelong member of the German Young Men's Association and he belonged to the Sports Club, the Sängerbund and the Free-Thinkers Club, which next to his relatives received a large bequest in his will.
The German Young Men's Association received $3000, the Sports Club, the Sängerbund and the Free-Thinkers received $1000 each. Mr. Reichert was married to Barbara Kernner. The marriage was childless. He died in 1878, mourned by the entire community of Buffalo, who knew well how to treasure an individual of excellent character.
Hermann A.O. Hoffmann
was born on March 19, 1858 as the son of Lutheran cleric in Harburg, Hannover. He received excellent private instruction under the supervision of his father at the parental home for many years. Then he attended the scientific high school in Lüneberg. It was his parent's wish that he pursue an academic career but the young Hoffmann felt the urge to join the theater. He came to the United States in 1882 even though his father never would have granted him permission to do so. He made the journey in order to gain fame on the stage. After his landing in America he spent many years out West, successfully employed at various theaters. He eventually established a farmer's newspaper in Dubuque, Iowa. In 1886 he was engaged at the German Theater here in Buffalo under the direction of Gühlen. He spent many years plying his excellent, well-received craft and talent at our German temple to the Muses. Afterwards he also became a member of the editorial staff of the Volksfreund (The Buffalo People's Friend) and in 1891 he established the Sunday Post with Mr. Keller, while still performing with great success on the stage. Hermann Hoffman was a spirited, untiring performer with a well-trained baritone voice, which pleased the audience immensely. He belonged to a number of German clubs, primarily the Turnverein [Gymnastics Club], whose singing section has him to thank for their establishment. He belonged to the Orpheus, the Sängerbund, the Harugari Frohsinn, the Harugari Men's Choir, the Zither Club, the Orpheus of Niagara Falls and the Press Club. Hopefully we've listed them all. Mr. Hoffman distinguished himself not only as an actor and singer but also as an excellent poet. His light pieces in the Sunday Post, in which he dealt with the question of the day, earned him the accolades of a very wide circle. He was a genius at incidental poetry. On November 27, 1889 he married Ernestine Reinhardt. No children came from the union. "The Master of the Sunday Post", as he was widely known, died in the prime of life at the age of 39 on November 27, 1896. His death created a large rift in the circles in which he moved. The degree of his popularity was apparent on the day that his mortal remains went to the flames. Representatives of every class from the German community paid their last respects.
is one of the oldest, still-living settlers of Buffalo. Mr. Weber was born on January 26 1811 in Sand in the parish of Kübelberg, Lothringia. He attended the community school and learned the tailoring and cape making trade. In 1833 he emigrated to America and immediated steered his steps towards Buffalo, where he spent the rest of his life. On February 18, 1845 he married Rebecca Ziegler, who gave him 10 children. Eight of those children are still living. Mr. Weber rejoiced in the proliferation of 9 grandchildren and 8 great grandchildren. On February 18, 1895 the old but still lively couple celebrated their golden wedding anniversary.
the wife of the aforementioned gentleman, was born on November 16, 1823 and emigrated to America accompanied by her parents in 1832. First they went to Hamburg, New York, where the 9-year-old Rebecca attended the district school. In 1845 she came to Buffalo and married Mr. Nicholas Weber on February 18, 1845. Her maiden name was Ziegler.
From Webpage 9
was born on November 5, 1824 in the small industrial city of Kemberg in the environs of Wittenberg, located in the Saxony Province. He received a standard education at the city school in his home district. After leaving school he learned the blacksmith trade. In 1852 he emigrated to America and settled in Buffalo, where he lived until the end of his days. After working for a few years for other people he opened his own blacksmith shop in 1855 at the corner of Genesee and Oak Streets. He conducted business there for 30 years. From 1885 to 1888 he operated a well-frequented tavern on Genesee and Oak so that he could retire. Mr. Holzhausen was a member of the Concordia Lodge of the Order of Free Masons for many years. He was one of the founders of the Buffalo Sängerbund, to which he belonged until his death. He also belonged to the St. Peter's Relief Society. He never attempted to seek public office although his friends would have loved to see him serve the community because they treasured his forthright personality. On October 11, 1855 he married Susanna Schmidt. Four children resulted from the union, of whom 3 are still living. Until his death on May 25, 1891 he lived at 616 Northampton Street, where the family still resides.
Georg Vom Berge
Few men have earned the lasting esteem of their city and their circle of acquaintences the way Mr. Benjamin Gottwald Vom Berge has. Mr. Vom Berge was born on February 27, 1831 in Ottendorf, Silesia. He came from the old, noble families of the Prussian Provinces. After attending the High School in Görlitz and later acquiring the technical knowledge of surveying, he went to the Royal Architectural Academy in Berlin, where he completed his studies in railroad construction. On November of 1853 he emigrated to America and settled in Buffalo. The then-booming city provided ample opportunity for employment of his skills and he acquired a fine reputation. With only a 2 year interruption he was involved in the implementation of the first phase of city planning. Considering the expanse of the city, this was not an easy assignment. When the job was completed he became a construction engineer for the building of the Erie Railroad, an assignment which lasted 6 years. In 1862 he was appointed Consulting Engineer to the city and in 1867 was nominated by the Democratic Party to run for the office of Chief Engineer. He was elected by the citizens of the city. In 1873 he was again a consulting engineer to the city and about 4 years after that he received the nomination of the Worker's Party for Chief Engineer.
The Democratic Party endorsed the nomination and he was elected a second time. From 1881 to 1884 he was employed as the railroad technical specialist for the Lackawanna Railroad,and was then appointed consulting engineer by the city. He died on September 4, 1886 while at this post. His passing was mourned by all. Not only had the city lost it's most diligent, capable, and esteemed citizen but his fellow citizens, especially the Germans, had lost a loving and supportive member.
Mr. Vom Berge married Miss Marie de Rutte in 1872. They had a son, Henry Vom Berge. In his earlier years Mr. Vom Berge regularly took part in association activities. His social talents made him a treasured and esteemed participant. He was President of the Liedertafel (Glee Club) and the German Young Men's Association. In other clubs he was a highly respected member.
was born on May 10, 1839 in Berlin, Prussia. He attended the public school in his city and learned the cigar-makers trade. Shortly before the outbreak of the war with France he emigrated to America in order to seek a better life than he could find in the homeland. On June 17, 1870 he arrived in Buffalo and lived here ever after. Mr. Kiekebusch owns one of the best known cigar factories in the city, famous for its high quality products. The business is loated at 499 Main Street. Mr. Kiekebusch is married to Bertha Wenke. Four children, all still living, have come from the union. Mr. Kiekebusch is known by young and old alike for his irrepressible sense of humor. He belongs to several societies including the Sängerbund, the Orpheus, the Turnverein [Gymnastics Club], and the German Young Men's Association, the Society of Old German Settlers, et.al. He lives at 31 East Utica Street.
was born on December 31, 1829 in Adelsdorf, Bavaria. He received a well-rounded education at the Preparatory School in Erlangen and learned the fine fashion trade. In November of 1847 he emigrated to America and immediately came to Buffalo to seek his fortune. With the exception of spending the years 1850 and 1851 in California, he lived continually in Buffalo. Mr. Geiershofer established a tailoring and fine fashion business at 267 Main Street, which he continued to operate with great success until the end of 1880. He relocated his business in 1865 to the American House and after a short time to a building at 468-470 Main Street, which he had built. You'll now find the Hanan Shoe Co. there. At the end of 1880 he retired from business. Since then he's lived at his cozy home at 39 W. North Street at the corner of Linwood Avenue.
Mr. Geiershofer is one of the most prominent figures in the German community. He is highly esteemed and loved. In its time his business was one of the most popular in the city. It's now operated by Mr. M. Spiegel. He is married to the Widow Mary Maxon and has no children.
one of ths most successful German businessmen in Buffalo, was born on October 3, 1831 in Usingen, in the Hessen-Nassau region. He attended the public school in his district and then the secondary school. He learned the dyer and dry cleaning trade. He came to America in 1856. After a 42 day long journey by sailing ship he landed in New York and came to the environs of Aurora, Erie County where he was employed as a farm worker. In 1862 he settled in Buffalo in order to establish himself in the trade for which he had been trained. After working for several years for John Schmitz on Court Street he established his own business in 1864, which you'll now find is operated by his sons. The business is at 128 Seneca Street. Mr. Pinkel has escaped twice from the terrible peril of fire, in 1886 and 1888. Since October 26, 1856 he has been happily married to Johannette, nee Busz. They celebrated their silver wedding anniversary on October 26, 1881. They've been blessed with 7 children. Two sons and 1 daughter are still living. The daughter lives in Fredonia. Mr. Pinkel is a principle supporter of the United Evangelical Church of St. Paul and has served to the benefit of the congregation. He lives at 367 Elm Street.
Johannette Pinkel, nee Busz
was born on August 12, 1836 in Upper Hoergen in the Hessen-Darmstadt region. She came to America with her parents and one brother in 1854. After a 42 day journey by sailing ship they landed in New York and headed immediately for Buffalo. On October 26, 1856 she married Christian Pinkel, with whom she lives to this day in wedded bliss. Mrs. Pinkel is a member of the Ladies Association of the United Evangelical Church of St. Paul. She is a beloved member of the congregation because of her warm personality and because she is ever willing to be of assistance.
one of the oldest living German settlers on the East Side, was born on March 3, 1823 in Upper-Inzelheim in the environs of Bingen, Hessen-Darmstadt region. He attended the Evangelical parish school in his home city and then learned tailoring. After spending a year as a journeyman he emigrated to the United States in 1846 and arrived in Buffalo on May 30th of the same year. For many years he has successfully run one of the best known tailoring businesses on the East Side. He's been one of the administrators of St. Peter's Evangelical Church for a long time. He is loved and respected by all because of his honest, simple nature. Mr. Schneider has been married twice, from 1848 to 1849 to Louise, nee Fries and from 1851 to 1896 to Catharine, nee Ruppel. There's a daughter from the first marriage and 4 sons and 3 daughters from the second. All children are still living. He lives at 445 Genesee Street.
Catharine Schneider, nee Ruppel
was born on December 12, 1828 in Münster, Hessen-Darmstadt. She came with her parents to Buffalo in 1850. On March 18, 1851 she married William Schneider, with whom she lived in wedded bliss. She died on March 26, 1896.
Johan Martin and Marianna Georger
Johann Martin Georger was born in 1796 in Röschwoot, Alsatia. After leaving school he learned the hat making and furrier trade. He married Marianna Heyl, who first saw the light of the world on March 25, 1800 in Zabern, Alsatia. He emigrated with his family to America in July of 1847. The Georgers settled in Buffalo. Their sons had already settled here a few years before. Mr. Georger died on January 29, 1859. His wife died on July 23, 1882. The marriage produced 6 children: F.A. Georger, Karl Georger, Julie, who was married to F.F. Günther in New York, Frank Georger, Rosa, the wife of Mr. Edward Harries, and Fannie, who is married to Mr. Karl Adam. Of the children only the last 3 are still alive.
F. Augustus Georger,
the eldest son of Mr. J.M. Georger, was born on August 10, 1821 in Lauterbach, Alsatia. He attended the public school in his home district and emigrated at the young age of 17 to the United States. In 1839 he settled in Buffalo when the small number of inhabitants had among them few Germans. He procured a position as a store clerk in a dry goods store. Through energetic and honest effort he succeeded in becoming self sufficient in 1843 and opened up a firm in partnership with Jacob Beyer. The flourishing firm was called Georger and Beyer, a dry goods business, and it was located at 520 Main Street. In 1848 he took over full ownership of the business and he continued to operate it until 1862 when he sold it in order to assume the position of Secretary of the Western Savings Bank. Two years later he established his own banking business with Augustus Paul at 518 Main Street. The firm's name was Georger & Paul, from which originated the founding of the German Bank, which we have today. Mr. Georger had a lot to do with the establishment of the German Bank. He served as President of that financial institute until his death. In the course of the years it has become powerful and today it is counted among the most solid of institutions in the United States. Mr. Georger was undoubtedly one of the best known, most influential and most prominent German citizens in the city. He did much to contribute to the raising and prospering of Buffalo's business interests. He was an avid supporter of the German community as demonstrated by the advice he had given and the actions he had taken. He was one of the co-founders and supporters of the German Young Men's Association. He was elected its first President, an office to which he was reelected on the golden jubilee of its founding in 1891. He was a lifelong member of the Orpheus. He was married to Barbara Sigwalt and from the union came Eugene A. Georger, successor to his father at the bank, Mrs. Frank Brazington and Mrs. John Bartow, both of whom are living in Cleveland. Mr. Georger died after a short illness on June 27, 1898.
the second son of Mr. and Mrs. Johann Martin Georger, was born on November 16, 1822 in Lauterbach, Alsatia. He acquired a sound albeit modest education in his district. He learned the hat making and furrier trade like his father. He emigrated to the United States in 1841 and settled in Buffalo. Here he opened a fur and hat business, in which his brother Frank later came in as partner. It soon became one of the significant businesses in the city. Mr. Georger married Miss Dorothea Schuh, who gave him 6 children, all of whom still live in Buffalo. Counted among the most respected of businessmen as is his brother, Mr. Georger died on March 18, 1892. His surviving widow lives at 904 Main Street.
was born on March 31, 1829 in the town of Lauterbach, Lower Alsatia, which is famous for its hop gardens. Until his 14th year he attended the town school and then learned the hat making and furrier trade. In May of 1847 the 18-year-old emigrated to America and settled a month later in Buffalo, where he lived for the rest of his life. He raised himself up to become one of the most respected and prominent German businessmen in the city. The firm F. Georger & Son, which conducted a significant hat and fur business, enjoyed an envious reputation beyond the city limits because of his good business sense. Mr. Georger never sought or held public office, however he was an avid promoter of German endeavor: whenever there was the opportunity to support German enterprise you'd find him standing in line to help. He was an active, lifelong member of the German Young Men's Association and he participated in the golden jubilee of this old German-American society in 1891. A few years earlier Mr. Georger was an honory member of the Buffalo Liedertafel (Glee club) and he was an active member of the Orpheus. Mr. Georger was not connected directly with commercial enterprise but he did enjoy great success. He is currently on the Board of Directors of the Buffalo Savings Bank, an extremely well-situated financial institution in the city. Mr. Georger married Eliza Jane Lawrence on September 5, 1854. The marriage produced 4 sons, who are all established in Buffalo, and like their father,are considered among the most respected and prominent businessmen in the city. Mr. Georger lives at 159 Prospect Avenue.
From Webpage 10
Franz Friedrich Unbehaun
was born on September 12, 1843 in Mankenbach, in the Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt region. He emigrated with his parents to the United States when he was 7. The family immediately settled in Buffalo. The young Unbehaun attended the Lutheran Church of the Trinity School at Goodell and Maple Streets and after he left there he learned tailoring. In 1865 he opened his own business at 404 East Genesee Street. He's been conducting business there continually ever since. Mr. Unbehaun never held public office but he did serve his adopted country as a volunteer in the ranks of the 65th Regiment for 4 weeks towards the end of the Civil War. He went with the regiment to Harrisburg, PA, Mt. Vernon, PA., and New York. Mr. Unbehaun enjoyed the reputation of being a solid, honest businessman. He married Miss Emilie Ernestine Friedericke Schultz on May 12, 1864. The marriage produced 7 children of whom 5 are still living: Frank, Emile, Mathilde, Alfred, and Charles. Mr. Unbehaun, who is an old and esteemed member of the Sängerbund, has his private residence at 771 Delavan Avenue.
Emilie Ernestine Friedericke Unbehaun
was born on January 14, 1846 in Demmin, Pommerania. She was the daughter of Johann Theodor Schultz and Friedericke Marie Magdelena Schultz, nee Bobzien. She attended the local public school and emigrated with her parents to the United States in 1856. The family arrived in Buffalo on August 2nd and settled on Mulberry Street. The daughter attended Public School 15. On May 12, 1864 she married F.F. Unbehaun, to whom she gave 7 children; 5 are still living. Mrs. Unbehaun is an active member of the Ladies Section of the Buffalo Sängerbund. She served as President for several years.
was born on June 3, 1821 in Planig in the Rhine-Hessen region. After receiving a good education at the local parish school, he went to Kreuznach in 1849 to become a baker. In 1849 he emigrated to America, first staying in New York and in 1853 going with his father to Utica. His father had a job as a baker at the State Insane Asylum. Mr. Roskopf worked with his father at that facility for 11 years. He then came to Buffalo and worked for his brother-in-law as a baker at the Broezel Hotel. On September 1, 1868 he established his own bakery at 142 Seneca Street. The business was sought out for its quality baked goods. This was in no small way due to Mr. Roskopf's effort and ability. Even though the bakery business took up a great deal of his time and effort, he found time to take part in the social life of the German community, Among others groups, he regularly participated in the German Young Men's Association, he was a founder and director for the Citizen's Gas Company, and today he is a director of the Erie County Fire Insurance Company. He is loved and respected by all for his open and honest nature. Having given up his business, he's enjoying a well-deserved retirement. Mr. Roskopf was married to Elisabeth Kaiser but lost his wife and 3-month-old daughter in 1872. He lives at 635 Main Street.
was born on June 3, 1818 in the Danube region of Swabia, near Neuberg in Bavaria. He was first educated at the village school and later at the secondary school in the district's city. In Ulm he learned the merchant trade and was for a long time employed as a salesman of wine and tobacco. Having taken part in the 1848 Revolution and fighting against the forces of the fatherland, he decided it might be a good idea to find a land for which he would be willing to shed his blood. Consequently he came to America. In 1849 he landed in the Land of the Free and came to Buffalo where he managed to find employment at a tobacconist business on Genesee Street. He remained there for many years but left when he had the opportunity to improve himself by becoming a clerk for the Buffalo Post Office in 1861. The city and the mail traffic were significantly increasing and a new service was added for the delivering and sorting of mail from Germany and other overseas places. Mr. Geiger punctually and conscientiously carried out this assignment until he left this life on September 14, 1868. In 1849 Mr. Geiger married Caroline Hochstein, a compatriot. The 1852 Cholera epidemic in Buffalo took away his wife and his child. On May 1, 1853 he married Regina Brunn, who gave him 2 boys - Charles, currently a partner in the firm Barnd & Geiger; and Max, who works for the Water Department.
Mr. Geiger was an old German of true, noble character, who approached matters of the German community with vigor and energy. He was well thought of and respected by all who knew him.
Regina Geiger, nee Brunn
was born on July 22, 1828 in Speyer, part of the Rhine Palatinate. She attended the village school. In 1848 she emigrated to America with her parents and arrived in Buffalo on October 12th of the same year. In 1853 she married Friedrich Geiger with whom she lived in wedded bliss until his death. The marriage was blessed with 2 children, both of whom are still living.
Mrs. Geiger operated a millinery business from 1854 to 1862. The family residence is at 19 Dodge Street.
first saw the light of the world in December 1808 in Oberhausen, Hessen-Nassau. After attending the public school in his district, he apprenticed himself to a turner and became an accomplished practitioner. He also acquired skills in all facets of joinery. Because of his sense of fairness and his diligence he was loved by his fellow citizens but he never attempted to hold public office. He was married to Elizabeth Hecker. Six children came from the marriage. Four are still living. They are Mrs. Leonhardt Miller of Lockport, Mrs. Nicolaus Mörschfelder of Buffalo, Henry Zipp, the well known coal dealer and Councilman, and Mrs. Stephen Harbeck of Buffalo. The 2 children who are dead were Mrs. Phillip Miller and Gustav Zipp.
Mr. Henry Zipp is undoubtedly one of the most energetic, most active and most beloved of businessmen and public figures in our city. He was born on September 4, 1841 in Gräfeneck, Nassau and emigrated to America with his parents in 1852. They settled in Buffalo and the young son attended the public schools. After graduating he became a student at a trade and business school, where he became a skilled bookkeeper. He then had practical training in merchandising in a dry goods store. Later he was employed as a accountant for various firms and he held a responsible position for a long time on the Central Wharf.
In 1866 he established a grain and fodder business which lasted for a number of years. In 1877 he switched over to the coal business, which he still operates today.
Mr. Zipp was a member of the Parks Commission from 1891 to 1896, at which time he left since he was elected as a Councilman. Since 1898 he's been the President of the City Council.
Mr. Zipp is an active Free Mason and a respected member of this brotherhood. He is a trustee of the Free Mason's Temple and the Life Insurance committee for the Free Masons. Additionally he is a Director of Western Savings Bank and the Union Bank. He has taken an especially active interest in the affairs of the Orphanage of St. John's Church and has been a trustee there for some years. He was a member of St. John's German Church, consistently aware of his obligations and ever willing to sacrifice. He was on many church boards.
His wife Emilie, daughter of Martin Haller, gave him 2 sons, Albert and Georg. Mr. Zipp's private residence is at 100 Walnut Street.
From Webpage 11
belongs to one of the most respected German families in the city. He was born on January 14,1835 in Buffalo over the building which housed the Free Press on Ellicott Street. He is a son of Conrad Diehl, originally of Wittgenbron in the Hessen-Kassel region who died in 1884. Henry Diehl was educated at the Schreck Private German School and the public schools of the city and later went into the tobacco and cigar business. He finally opened a tobacco and cigar business of his own in the old American Hotel Block but over the course of the years he conducted business out of his brother's apothecary shop. He is there today. He is married to Salome Kabel from Buffalo Plains and lives at 391 Oak Street. Four sons from the marriage are still living.
John P. Diehl,
brother of Henry, was born on February 4, 1837 in Buffalo. He attended a German private school and then the public schools.He went into apprenticeship with a pharmacist and later opened an apothcary shop, which he operates today with his brother, Jacob W. Diehl. The business is at the corner of Main and West Genesee Streets. Besides his various successful business activities, Mr. Diehl is currently a Director of the Buffalo Savings Bank, the Commercial Insurance Co., and the German Bank. He belongs to the Queen City Lodge No.358 of the Order of Free Masons and is a member of the Hugh de Payens Commander Knights of the Templar. His marriage to Louisa A. Smith has produced 2 children. He lives with his family in a cozy home at 388 Pearl Street.
Jacob W. Diehl,
son of the late Conrad Diehl, was born on December 13, 1838 in Buffalo. He attended the public schools and then acquired an education to become a practicing apothecary. He maintains the business today with his brother, John P. Diehl. Mr. Diehl is well respected by fellow members of his profession and he is a member of the New York State Pharmaceutical Association and the Erie County Pharmaceutical Association. He is one of the Vice-Presidents of the German-American Bank, one of the best financial institutions in the country. He is married to Louisa D. Dickman, who gave him 2 children. He lives at 361 Pearl Street.
Dr. Conrad Diehl,
currently the mayor of our city, was born on July 17, 1843 in Buffalo. He received his early education in the local private and public schools. After graduation he went to the University of Buffalo to study medicine. As a graduate student he went to Europe in order to broaden his knowledge base by studying under the best teachers there and enrich his skills through work at their hospitals. After returning home he established a medical practice in 1867. Through his skill and dedication he became a beloved physician with a practice which couldn't fail. In 1867 he was elected coroner by a large majority and he held that office for 3 years. He declined the nomination for another term in order to tend to his ever growing private practice. In February of 1874 he was appointed as an assisting physician of the General Hospital after the death of Dr. Rochester but he filled the position of head physician. Dr. Diehl was Secretary of the Medical Staff of the General Hospital for 25 years. During the years 1870 - 1878 he was the Regimental Physician of the 65th Regiment and in 1871 he became a physician at the Erie County Poor House. He was President of the Medical Staff of the German Deaconess facility. For many years he was a member of the School Board. He was their President in 1896. He declined reelection. In 1897 he was placed on the Democratic Ticket as a mayoral candidate. He was elected with a significant majority. There were Germans from both political parties who placed Mr. Diehl in office thus proving the high esteem and respect they had for their compatriot. Mr. Diehl's first marriage was to Caroline Trautman of Weissenburg, Alsatia on May 5, 1869. His second marriage was to Lol M. Martin of Somerset Massachusetts on May 20, 1892. He is a member of the Orpheus, the Sängerbund, and the Liedertafel as well as other clubs in the city.
was born on September 17, 1863 in Buffalo. Although he is still quite young, he's one of the most respected businessmen in the city and an influential politician. His parents, Jacob and Eva Gerst, nee Dormire, were born in Germany and emigrated to America. The young Philip attended the public schools and after graduating from Bryant and Stratton, where he studied merchandising, he entered the Law Offices of J. Roberts, who is now the State Comptroller. He changed careers when he secured a position as clerk in the freight department of the Erie Railroad. After 8 years of service he had been promoted to head clerk of the department in Black Rock, where he also went into partnership with the late Marshall Doll in a paper and writing supplies business at the corner of Amherst and Dearborn Streets. He successfully conducted business there for 3 years then in 1890 he went into the insurance business. Mr. Gerst is one of the foremost political leaders of the Republican Party. His lovable nature and willingness to oblige have made him very popular. In 1894 he was elected to the State Legislature and became Chairman of the Canal Committee. In 1895 the Buffalonians elected him City Treasurer. Mr. Gerst is a member of the Occidental Lodge, F. & A.M., the Buffalo Lodge No. 517, I.O.O.F., and the Lodge of the same order established in Black Rock. He lives at 1823 Niagara Street.
Eduard J. Eisele
was born on Febraury 13, 1831 in Degenfeld, in the Gmünd region of Württemberg. He attended the local school. He apprenticed himself in Vienna to a goldsmith where he had to go through a 6 year training program before becoming an assistant in the business. After working for a year in Vienna and proving himself an accomplished goldsmith, he emigrated to the United States in 1854 and first settled in Brooklyn. He stayed there until 1857 then came to Buffalo in the Spring of that year. After working at various businesses, he established his own gold and silverware factory in partnership with Wm. F. King. To this day its branches in Buffalo are counted among the most important. His partner died in 1895 but the factory remains to this day under the old name. The business enjoys a find reputation for its sound business practices and artistic creations. The local facility is located at the corner of North Division and Washington Streets. Mr. Eisele is married to Margaretha Hilfinger. One son and 4 daughters have come from the marriage. All are still living. The family lives at 114 North Pearl Street.
nee Hilfinger, came into the world on February 16, 1839 in Schwenningen, Württemberg. She is married to the well known goldwares manufacturer Eduard J. Eisele, to whom she gave 4 children.
was born on March 13, 1819 in Wellstein in the Hessen-Darmstadt region. He had his first schooling at the local congregation school and learned the bakery trade. In 1834 he emigrated to America, arriving on May 28th. Next he travelled from New York to Lyons in Wayne County, New York. He plied his trade here until 1836 then he moved to Buffalo in order to work in his father's bakery. When the business was handed over to his 2 brothers he stayed and later bought into the partnership. The business was a flourishing concern. In 1870 he retired. Mr. Hellriegel had much to do with the development and prosperity of Buffalo through his business and through his fine service as an Alderman of the old 7th Ward from 1856 - 1858. He's a German through and through, having never refused to give his assistance and willing to further the cause through German ingenuity and effort. He is one of the founders of the German Fire Insurance Company. Currently he serves as a Director. On September 19, 1842 he married Miss Louise Rinck, with whom he has lived in wedded bliss. He lives at 601 Ellicott Street, at the corner of Goodell.
is a name which the oldest German citizens of the city will carry in fondest memory. In his day Mr. Bettinger was one of the most prominent businessmen in the city. He was born on November 11, 1821 in Gross-Redringen, Lotharingia, which at the time was a French province. He came to the United States in 1830 with his parents, who settled in Eden, Erie County. Two years later he settled in Buffalo and after graduating from school became an apprentice in the dry goods trade. Through hard work and integrity he raise himself up the ranks and later established his own dry good business on the East Side of Main Street in the block between Genesee and Mohawk. He remained there for a long time and was counted among the most prominent in the profession. Mr. Bettinger united basic business sense with astonishing energy and keen insight, which was often the envy and the wonder of his contemporaries. He took an active part in politics. In 1856 he was Supervisor and in 1858-1859 he was Alderman of the old 4th Ward. He conducted himself in commendable fashion. His marriage to Margarethe Yager was blessed with 10 children - Stephen P. Bettinger, Albert A. Bettinger, and Mrs. Charles H. Ribbel still live. He died on March 21, 1886.
Dr. Ernst Wende
Mr. Wende may be counted among the most capable and popular physicians in this city. He was born on July 23, 1853 in Mill Grove, New York. He attended the Buffalo High School and graduated in 1874. Deciding to pursue medicine as a career, he attended the local university until 1878, then the University of Pennsylvania and later the Department of Medicine at Columbia College. To further his education he travelled to Berlin and Vienna and enriched his knowledge base by studying with experts in science. When he returned to the States he settled in Buffalo and succeeded in establishing a good practice. Dr. Wende has been Commissioner of Health for the city since 1892. He is well known throughout the country for his unbounded energy and foresight as well as for his introduction of numerous inventions and improvements in the field of sanitation administration in the city. His first appointment as Chief of the Sanitation Department occurred under Mayor Bishop; his second under Mayor Jewett. Mr. Wende is an instructor on the subject of skin diseases in the Department of Medicine at the University of Buffalo and an instructor of botany and microscopy at the College of Pharmacy. He is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the State Medical Association, and other scientific organizations. Dr. Wende was married to Miss Francis [sic] Harriet Cutier of Omaha, Nebraska on August 25, 1881. He lives with his family at 471 Delaware Avenue.
who was born on February 29, 1829 [sic] in Böchingen by Landau in the Rhine Palatinate, attended the local school and after graduation learned the furniture carpentry trade. In 1845 the young man succumbed to his irresistable desire to wander, packed up his tools, booked passage on a ship, and sailed to the Promised Land of America. He arrived at the gates on Christmas Day. He stayed in New York until the following March and then came to Buffalo and worked as a clerk until 1849. In this year he opened a specialties and provisions business at the corner of Cedar and Eagle Streets, which he relocated in 1851 to the corner of Cedar and Pine Street. He conducted business there until 1873 and then took a well-deserved retirement. Mr. Persch has been a Trustee of the Buffalo Loan, Trust & Safe Deposit Co. since its founding. He is also the Vice-President of the Union Fire Insurance Co. Mr. Persch's name is closely associated with the Order of the Odd Fellows, to which he has been a member for many years. Much of the order's prosperity in Buffalo can be attributed to him. In acknowledgement of his invaluable service, a branch of the Odd Fellows was named for him in September of 1887 - the Persch Lodge of the Militant Patriarchs. Since September 27, 1849 Mr. Persch has been married to Carolina Streich of Cöppingen, Württemberg. Mr. Persch lives today at 83 Pine Street.
From Webpage 12
Chas. F. Bishop
Former Mayor Chas. F. Bishop was born in Williamsville, Erie County on October 14, 1844. In his youth he came with his parents to Buffalo, where the family settled on Grey Street. He attended the public schools and at the age of 13 entered the specialties business. He stayed there until he opened his own business. In 1869 he established a coffee and spices warehouse at 80 Main Street. In 1884 he relocated to 93 Seneca Street. He needed more room because the business had grown dramatically. Today it's one of the most important facilities in the city. In 1887 Mr. Bishop was requested to accept the nomination for County Treasurer. His personal magnetism got him votes. He gathered a greater majority than any other candidate in his Party, however there were irregularities in the ballot count and his opponent was declared the winner after the first counting of the ballots. Mr. Bishop actually received 151 more votes. Two years later he ran for mayor on the Democratic Ticket and after a hard fought campaign he was elected. Governance during his first term in office was distinguished by strict adherence to principles. This served his Party and his constituents to the fullest. It was never suggested that he misused his office to serve his personal interests or those of his Party. In the Fall of 1891 he again received the Party's nomination. They didn't even consider choosing another man. He was reelected and he followed the same tenets of governance, which had successfully guided him in his first term. In his private life Mr. Bishop enjoyed the same high regard. He has been a member of the Orpheus for many years. He was its President for 3 years. Furthermore he belongs to the Concordia Lodge of the Order of the Free Masons and was an Assistant Grand Master of the 25th District of the State of New York for 4 years. While in this capacity he laid the cornerstone for the Free Mason's Temple. In 1865 he married Miss Kate Moran. Mr. Bishop, who enjoys great popularity in both his social and business circles, and possesses the unqualified trust of his citizenry, lives at 220 Summer Street.
is one of those men who, no matter how great the obstacle is before him, is able to change it through enormous patience and energy. Despite many hinderances which have daunted his existence, he raised himself up from a impoverished youth to one of the richest and most respected businessmen in the city. He can truly be called the architect of his own happiness and fortune.
Mr. Strauss was born on April 15, 1836 in Remich in the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg. He came from an old family of hide tanners. They had carried on that trade for hundreds of years. He was the eldest of 5 sons. He told his parents when he was 14 years of age that he was going to America. With salient insight he projected that he could find a better place for the family trade. Based on his advice the entire family emigrated in 1850 and settled in Buffalo. Both father and son found work at the tannery of Breithaupt and Schöllkopf. Their wages did not quite live up to their expectations. The older Strauss had to make due with the standard wage, 75 cents per day, while his son received half that sum. But young Mathias didn't lose his courage. He worked that much harder and after 5 years he became foreman of the dye department. When it came to matters concerning the dyes used for modern tinting, his skill was unequalled. When the firm dissolved in 1861, at the age of 21 he attempted to become self-supporting and he rented an old tannery. He increased his effort and expanded his business sense to the point when he laid the cornerstone for his own establishment at the corner of William Street and Fillmore Avenue. The business is now quite large. On May 6, 1893 his business was taken from him by fire but Mr. Strauss did not let that misfortune break him. He worked even more vigorously. Without laying off a single worker, within 6 months time everything was back to its usual and precise method of operation in the magnificent tannery. In time the management was turned over to his 2 sons, John and Charles, and Mr. Strauss decided to spend his remaining years in retirement. The capable businessman was twice a member of the City Council. As a cofounder of the Church of the Sacred Heart he spared neither time nor money and the German Catholic Orphanage received his full attention. Mr. Strauss is also a member of the Old Germans Association, The Knights of St. Mary, the Tabernacle Society, and the Board of the Working Boy's Home. Strauss Street, on the city's East Side, is named after him. Mr. Strauss is married to Elisabeth Brosart. There are 12 children from the marriage. Four daughters and 4 sons are still living. The private residence of Mr. Strauss is located at 322 Eagle Street.
Although they have been here for 3 generations, the Lamy family has managed to maintain its German identity and customs. Charles Lamy was born on May 7, 1849 in East Eden, Erie County. He received the first part of his education there at the district schools. He also helped out to the best of his abilities at his parent's farm. When he was 15-years-old he apprenticed himself to a housewares and groceries dealer and he learned the business from the ground up. He established a concern of the same type for himself at 301-305 Elk Street in 1874. Since he had to pay a great deal to rent the location, he decided 8 years later to buy the spacious, 4 story brick building and enlarge the business. The business grew larger with each passing year and it is considered one of the most prominent by the businessmen of the city. Despite the huge number of business transactions he conducts, Mr. Lamy has a great capacity for activity and still finds time to take part in other affairs. Among other things he bought a significant number of shares in the Magnus Beck Brewing Co. For 4 years he was President of the company. In 1895 he sold his shares and devoted himself solely to the operations of his own business. Since Mr. Lamy was able to lead the relatively quiet life of a prospering businessman, in 1893 he entered the local political arena. Urged on by his friends and acknowledging his civic duty, he sought out the nomination for State Senator. He got the nomination as a Reform Candidate and was elected with a substantial plurality of 3,889 votes. Mr. Lamy did not abuse the trust of his constituents. He donated all his time and energy representing their interests.
He was chairman of the Canal Committee and a member of several other important committees. His major achievement was the appropriation for the new armory of the 74th Regiment. During his second term he used fulminating oratory with regard to the negative impact of the Hamburg Canal. Thanks to him the matter was tabled. Mr. Lamy became a diligent and dedicated Republican and served the Party in Erie County with his loyal and selfless leadership. He is a Free Mason of high degree and is an active member of the St. Mark's Methodist Congregation. On June 10, 1875 he married Magdalena Urban and after her death he married Clara B. Demeyer on June 10, 1885. His private residence is at 305 Elk Street.
Philip Henry Bender
Among the long line of biographies of diligent Germans it's not strange that we would included Philip Henry Bender. As publisher and editor of a German newspaper, he was directly involved with the shaping of the German community. He was born on June 9, 1830 in the district of Eschelbach at Baden, where he received a portion of his education. He learned the basics of printing press trade. He emigrated to America with his relatives in 1845. At first they settled in Griffins Mill, Erie County. Two years later they came to Buffalo.
The young man first occupied himself plying his acquired trade. Through diligence and energy, as well as an iron will, he was able to make himself self-supporting. Eventually he was not able to deal with the mechanical side of the work, that being the type setting and press inking; to restore his health his went to the literary end of things. With time The Telegraph established a good name for itself in Buffalo and the diligent and ambitious young man became a participant in its production. At the time the firm was called Miller & Bender and the concern flourished. Later Mr. Bender took over the management of the newspaper and raised it to the status of a prominent German newspaper in this city. Mr. Bender was always a Republican and served his constituents well as a Republican member of the State Legislature.
On May 21, 1856 he married Elizabeth Gelb, who bore him 9 children, 3 of whom died at a tender age. His two oldest sons, George Frederick and Abraham Lincoln, live in New York. His eldest daughter, Dr. Ida Bender, is presently Assistant School Superintendent of Emerson and carries the title of Supervisor of Primary Grades. Mr. Bender died in 1882 in Washington, where he had moved a year before his departure from this life. His body rests at the family plot at Forest Lawn.
came to America in 1836 and settled in Buffalo a year later. He is justifiably counted among the oldest settlers of new Buffalo. He was born on June 24, 1817 in Dernbach in the Rhine Palatinate. He attended the district schools and learned carpentry and brick-laying. Before coming to Buffalo he lived for a year in Stanhope, New Jersey. After plying his trade for a long time for Audere, he established and managed his own important building contracting business in the city. From his hands came some of the best known buildings in Buffalo, some of which still grace the city. These led to his prosperity and good reputation.
He obtained the contracts for the paving of several streets in the city. Although he was among the most prominent and popular people in the city, he never sought public office. He was however an ardent and strict Party man. First he was affiliated with the Whigs and later cast his lot in with the Republicans, for whom he was an active member until his death. He was a Lutheran by religious conviction and he is in no small way to be thanked for the building of St. John's Church. The Lutheran Orphan facility on Hickory Street and the Asylum in Sulphur Springs owe much to him as well. He was always ready to help with a generous hand and sound advice. He was a member of several organizations including the Sängerbund and the Liedertafel.
On June 24, 1836 he married Elisabeth Klein, who bore him 10 children, of which seven, one son and six daughters, still live in Buffalo. The youngest daughter, Miss Laura C. Gelb, is a teacher at the high school in Masten Park. Mr. Gelb died on October 9, 1893. He was a highly esteemed and treasured citizen.
is the wife of the above mentioned Friedrich Gelb. She was born on February 14, 1817 in Gries, part of the Rhine Palatinate, where she acquired her schooling. She came to America with her husband in 1836, first staying in Stanhope, New Jersey then coming to Buffalo in 1837. Mrs. Gelb, well on in years and living in her old home on Ellicott Street, enjoys an uncommonly spirited vivacity, is interested in the questions of the day in a most lively way, and remembers a great deal about the history of young Buffalo. She is an active and lifelong member of the St. John's Congregation and is known throughout the city for her generosity, her deepfelt religiosity and her charity. Mrs. Gelb has 22 grandchildren and 20 great grandchildren. On June 24, 1886 she and her husband celebrated their golden wedding anniversary.
Without a doubt Mr. Conrad Baer belongs to the roster of esteemed German citizens of our city. He first saw the light of the world on April 10, 1825 at a farm near Sulzbach, Upper Bavaria. He attended the village school in his district. No longer willing to tolerate the policies of the old fatherland, he emigrated to the United States in 1844 and settled in Buffalo. Here he entered the Preparatory Institution of Pastor Grabau and educated himself to become a teacher. He worked as such after leaving the school for a while but did not find complete satisfaction in the profession. He found himself better suited to working in a book printing business. He worked there for a while. Finally he opened a notary, fire insurance, and travel agent bureau, which over the course of the years developed into a mighty endeavor due to his energy and untiring perseverence. Amid the German community it's considered one of the most popular establishments. Mr. Baer is also the agent for the Royal German Consulat-General in New York, certainly submitting proof that his firm has acquired the trust of all. In earlier years Mr. Baer took part in political life. From 1869 to 1871 inclusive, he satisfactorily represented the old 7th Ward in the Supervisory Council of Erie County. He is married to Ulrike Pielmann, who was born in Strasburg in the Uckermark region. The union was blessed with 6 children, all of whom are still living. The residence of Mr.Baer is located at 41 East Tupper Street. The Bureau is at 527 Main Street.
From Webpage 13
was born on December 29, 1831 in Trichenricht, near Bayreuth in the Bavarian section of Oberfranken. He arrived in Buffalo on October 18, 1844, accompanied by his parents and 6 siblings, of whom 2 sisters are still living. On October 20, 1845 he became an apprentice in a brasswares and machining shop. For the first two years he received $50 per year plus board. After these 2 years he became a foreman and his salary was raised by $10 per year. After working in the workshop of J.D. Schäper and the Plumbing and Gasfitting business of James Thomson, he became self-supporting and established a business, which grew larger with each passing year. The firm is now called Irlbacker & Sons. He and his sons manage the business. It's one of the largest establishments of its kind here in the city and it's located at 529, 531,and 533 Main Street and 504, 506, and 508 Washington Street.
During the Civil War Mr. Irlbacker was a Captain in Company F of the 65th Regiment and helped with the suppression of the rebellion in the City of New York on July 14, 1863. In 1852 Mr. Irlbacker married Miss Katharine Clear of Walthurn. The marriage produced 9 children, 4 boys and 5 girls. They are Mary, now Mrs. Louis Brunner; Louise, married to Charles Kleber; John, who died on March 24, 1874 at the age of 18 years and 5 months; George, Anthony, Katie, who is married to Frank Chretien; Carrie, wife of Peter Schirra; Jacob C., and Edward F. Irlbacker. Mr. Irlbacker lives at 766 Ellicott Street.
Fred. F. Dorn,
whose firm is one of the most popular German establishments in the city, was born in Buffalo on February 25, 1856. He received an excellent education at the public schools and then later at St. Joseph's Academy. Afterwards he learned the jeweler's trade. He worked for many years for King & Eisele and Hiram Hotchkiss in Buffalo. He was also employed in significant jewelry businesses in New York, Philadelphia, and Cincinnati. In 1886 he opened his own business at 87 East Genesee Street, which you'll find today at the same location. Hard work and good business sense have helped the business to flourish. Mr. Dorn's first marriage was to Hattie Clelland, who gave him 2 girls, one of whom still lives. His first wife died in 1894. Since April 1898 he has been married to the Widow of the late Henry Bormuth. He lives at 72 Carlton Street.
As a 12-year-old boy Friedrich Held came with his parents to Buffalo in 1840. He was born on December 20, 1818 in Bechtoldsheim, Hessen-Darmstadt. Soon after he got a job as a paperboy at the Weltbürger (The World Citizen). He learned typesetting and eventually became a partner in the paper in 1853. The Weltbürger was a weekly newspaper which was founded by Georg Zahm in 1837. Zahm was killed in an accident involving the raising of a flag pole and the business went into the hands of Dr. Brunck and Mr. Domedion in 1845. In 1848 Carl Esslinger founded the Buffalo Democrat, a German weekly newspaper, which after a year and a half was bought by Carl De Haas and Knapp. In 1850 it became a daily newspaper. The Democrat was the first daily German paper in Buffalo.
In 1853 the two newspapers merged. Mr. Held bought Knapp's shares and the Democrat was published as a daily paper by the firm of Brunck, Held & Co. while the weekly paper appeared under the title The World Citizen. In 1859 De Haas left the partnership. In 1875 Dr. Brunck left and Mr. Held became sole owner of the newspaper. Friedrich Held was a self-made man in the truest sense of the word. Through untiring effort and strictest honesty he achieved the respect and love of all people and this followed him through to his retirement. From humble newspaper carrier he worked his way up to owner of a large and powerful business. Mr. Held married Caroline L. Beyer, daughter of Philipp Beyer, in 1863. He died on March 6, 1885 leaving behind his widow, 3 sons and 1 daughter. The business went into the hands of Mrs. Held, and later to his sons, who operate it today.
Mr. Held, a model of German perseverence, belonged to several organizations and was a member of Concordia Lodge 163, F. & A.M., Hugh de Payen Commandery of the Knights of the Templar, the Buffalo Capital 61, R.A.M., the German Young Men's Assocations, the Liedertafel, the Sängerbund, the Orpheus, the Turnverein [Gymnastics Club], and many others. He also belonged to the Volunteer Fire Department.
was born on November 5, 1822 in Ladorf. He attended the parish school in his district and then learned the lathe turning and pipe making trade as well as toy making, which in the region of his birth was a predominant industry. On May 1, 1860 he emigrated to the United States and after his landing in July he headed for Buffalo. He settled on Genesee Street near Oak and worked for Hersee & Co. and later for W.H. Glenny. In 1861 he opened a specialties business together with a restaurant at 28 Broadway, which he successfully operated until his death on March 2, 1895 following a short illness. Mr. Carl, whose honest German character gleaned him the respect of all who knew him, regularly took part in the affairs of German organizations. He was a lifelong member of the Buffalo Sängerbund, and could be counted among the most prominent members of the Buffalo Aid Society, whose finances he oversaw for 20 years as treasurer. During the Civil War he was called up twice for military service but he was not taken, the first time because he wasn't a citizen, the second time because he was too old. In 1885 Mr. Carl took a trip to Germany in order to plant the American flag in the name of Germans in this country at the Kemberger Archers Guild, celebrating its 150 year jubilee. As he often explained, he considered this trip the most beautiful memory of his life. He was married on November 15, 1849 to Pauline Rupprecht. Five children came from the marriage. Four are still living.
is counted among the most intelligent and industrious businessmen ever to be within the walls of the Queen City of the Lakes. He first saw the light of the world on February 6, 1833 in Schönenburg in Bavaria. In 1849 his parents settled in Zweibrücken where the lad learned the butcher trade after finishing his schooling. In 1850 he emigrated to America with the intention of settling in Cincinnati. But his travel money ran out in Buffalo so he changed necessity into virtue and stayed here. It was a decision he never regreted. It wasn't difficult for this clever young man to find a relatively good paying job. After working for 6 months as a journeyman butcher, he became self-supporting and established a meat business. He conducted business until 1868 then decided to give up the general meat trade in order to concentrate on hog slaughtering and pickling.
He worked with great vigor to raise the business to prominence. The task was made that much more difficult by the fact that he was trying to compete against older and richer firms. Fortune was with the young businessman and through determination, diligence and hard work the business he established has become one of the foremost in the United States. The business is located at the corner of Depot and William Streets. The large slaughterhouse spans 18 acres. The magnificent building has the most up to date appliances and machinery. Over 300 workers are employed there.
Not only is Mr. Klinck a successful businessman and prominent citizen. He has served the city as a politician of incorruptible character and enormous conviction. In 1863 he was elected Alderman of the 13th Ward and after being away from the political arena for 30 years he was elected Councilman. In 1896 he was President of this body. He is a director of the Citizen's Bank and the German Orphanage and a broker for the Life Stock Exchange and the Crocker Fertilizer Company. Mr. Klinck lives at 144 Swan Street.
was a man the likes of which our community has seldom seen. He was born in April 1830 in Oberotterbach on the Rhine in the Rhine Palatinate. He attended the elementary and secondary schools in his district and completed his studies at an institute in France. In 1847 he came to America and came directly to Buffalo via Albany and the Erie Canal. Here he found employment as a clerk in the specialties business of Jacob Dorst, where he had to make due with the monthly salary of $4 plus board. While in this position he developed the energy and determination which characterized his entire business life. In the following years he increased his income by becoming a clerk for Abram Twitchell at a yearly salary of $75. Two years later we find him at the warehouse and wholesale operation of Leibel & Co., then at A.P. Yaw, where he was able to draw on all his business acquaintences. After he had been in this country for approximately 7 years, he had managed to save $400. With this small sum and another $2000 loaned to him by friends, who were convinced of his excellence of character, he opened a small store on Main Street near Court. With this he laid the groundwork for the large and highly respected firm of Philip Becker & Co. Untiring hard work and frugality allowed him to expand the business year after year. The firm, which later took in his brother-in-law Georg Götz and Michael Hausauer, developed over the course of the years to the largest specialties warehouse and wholesaler in Western New York. The window glass business, which Mr. Becker established, also flourished.
The success, which acompanied Mr. Becker's business untertakings, was no accident. Ceaseless, intelligently performed work, frugality and circumspection assisted him. When he was building up his own business he used the opportunity to lend others a helping hand. He did this in such a warm and friendly manner that he acquired an incredible host of loyal friends. It's doubtful that there could have been another man known by most of the community to the degree that Mr. Becker was.
His energy, his open character, his sociability and his success brought him to the citizenry's attention. They honored him by electing him to various public offices. During the Centennial Year (1876) and the the years following he was mayor of the city. He had the honor of being the first German mayor of Buffalo. His administration was thoroughly businesslike and satisfactory to all parties. In 1886 he was reelected and 2 years later he held the office for a third term. These two terms of office were conducted in the same businesslike manner as the first. His administration of city affairs was particularly positive for Buffalo because no mayor had taken the interests of the citizenry to heart as stringently as he had. In 1888 Mr. Becker was one of the members of the electoral college.
In 1891 his friends urged him to seek the nomination for Governor. He was reluctant but finally gave in to their pressure. His name was proposed at the Republican State Convention but Platt's contingent unfortunated thwarted his nomination. In 1876 and 1892 he was a delegate to the Republican National Convention. Mr. Becker was also one of the commissioners in charge of the management of the building of the City and County Hall. Buffalonians have reason to be proud because it is well known that seldom are public buildings constructed without a hint of scandal.
Mr. Becker performed great service with his participation in the building of the Music Hall and the organization of the Singing Festival held here in 1883. Furthermore he was one of the founders of the German Insurance Company, for which he was President from 1869 until his death on July 4, 1898. Along with this accomplishment he helped establish the Buffalo Commercial Insurance Company amid the growing concern over reputable insurance companies. He was its first President in 1896. Mr. Becker was also a member of several charitable organizations and other associations.
Mr. Becker left Philip Becker & Co. at the beginning of the last decade but the firm still carries on the old, respected name.
Mr. Becker, who lives at 533 Delaware Avenue in a splendid villa, was married to Miss Sarah Götz in 1852. He leaves behind no children.
From Webpage 14
who was born on September 4, 1838 in Meisenbach, in the Upper County of Neuenbuerg in the Kingdom of Württemberg. After graduating from the congregational school in his home district he learned barrelmaking and the meat slaughter trade. In 1857 he emigrated to America and after arriving in Buffalo he settled in Black Rock. He plied his trade here with great success. He is married to Friedericke Westerfelder. Of the children born to the couple the following are still living: Louis, Christ, John, Regina, Marie, Catharine and Cora. He lives at 231 Amherst Street.
August F.D. Jansen, M.D.
was born on October 18, 1818 in Antwerp, Belgium. He received an excellent education in his district and emigrated in 1846 to America. After living for several years in Mexico, he came to the United States and settled in Buffalo in 1852. In 1855 he went to the city's Medical College and completed his exams to become a physician. His wealth of knowledge and his wisdom to the ways of the world, acquired through his years of travel, were put to good use in his practice. He was counted among the most popular and successful physicians in the city. In early 1874 Dr. Jansen decided to make the first pilgrimage to Rome and revisit his homeland of Belgium.
Since he could speak Latin, French, German, English, Spanish, Italian and Flemish fluently, he acted as chief interpreter for the large group of travellers. Dr. Jansen belonged to the Medical Association of Erie County and was one of its most prominent members. He was skilled and highly knowledgeable in his profession. He was a loyal friend and a sage giver of advice. He had a quick mind and a happy disposition. He knew how to liven up a group with his hearty laughter. Overall he was well received by others. He could talk on any subject as only a man of the most varied education and widest range of experience can. He never sought public office although he was for a while a County Doctor. He was married to Caroline Young. Three children came of that marriage. Dr. Jansen, who lived at 550 Swan Street, died in February of 1880.
Louis F. Jansen,
son of the man described above, was born in June 2, 1863 in Buffalo. He attended the public schools and completed his education at Canisius College. Here he learned lithography and photography. In photography he has perfected the art and is counted among the premier photographers of the city. His studio, located at 854 Main Street, is elegantly and beautifully built. He is married to Anna Dank and has 3 children, 2 daughters and 1 son. His private residence is at 33 Holland Place.
Mr. William Hengerer is a man who knows how to make the most of his innate talent. He's the head of the most important department store in this part of the city. He was born on March 2, 1839 in the Württemberg region. He was the son of a Lutheran minister. He came with his parents in 1849 to the Land of the Free and the family settled in Pittsburgh.
At the age of 21 Mr.Hengerer came to Buffalo and became employed in the dry goods business. The firm was called Sherman, Barnes & Co. Mr. Hengerer made $6 a week as a clerk. He was scarcely in Buffalo for a month when the war broke out. Inspired by the noble cause of the northern states, he left immediately and enlisted as a member of the 21st Regiment of the New York Volunteer Contingents, which met up with the Army of the Potomac and took part in various battles. His was the first regiment to go to the front. In 1863 Mr. Hengerer returned to Buffalo and rejoined Sherman, Barnes & Company. From this unremarkable beginning he worked his way up through untiring effort, persistence and strong business sense to the high business, social and political position he has today. In 1874 the man, who had given Mr. Hengerer his start when he recognized his worth and ability, took Mr. Hengerer into partnership in the firm under the name of Barnes, Bancroft & Co. Eleven years later the firm became known by the name Barnes, Hengerer & Co. The death of the senior partner and the great growth of the business, having over the course of the years developed into a major department store, required that the business be reorganized. In 1895 the corporation was established under the name "The William Hengerer Co."
One may assume that Mr. Hengerer measured the course of his life by the increase in his riches. One might think Mr. Hengerer would ignore his duty as a citizen and a member of society. One would be making a serious error. Mr. Hengerer has always placed his time, his influence, and his money where it could be most beneficial. His help and advice have been sought in political matters by his Party. Fearing that his business would take up too much of his time, he has not sought political office. However he has spent his time working for the well-being of the community. He was Parks Commissioner from 1884 to 1898 and since 1885 he has been a trustee of the State Normal School.
As a member of the Lutheran church his name is synonymous with philanthropic works. Mr. Hengerer is a Free Mason of high degree and was the D.D.G.M. (District Deputy Grand Master) of the district. Furthermore he is a lifelong member of the Library Association and the Historical Society as well as a member of the Liedertafel, the Orpheus and the Buffalo Club.
He has been married to Louisa Duerr of Buffalo since September 24, 1863.
the well-known conductor of the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra, was born on October 29, 1859 in Hamburg [Germany]. His father, a merchant, wanted his son to study law but the young Lund, who inherited his mother's love of music, finally decided to study music. Already at age 6 or 7 he had learned under his mother's excellent instruction how to play the piano. At 10 he took instruction from Dinckler, with whom he continued to study until 1876 when he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory of Music. Under important teachers such as Reinecke, Wenzel, Oskar Paul, Judassohn and C.F. Richer he made great progress. He studied piano, violin, oboe, organ, harmonics, counterpoint and composition. He left the conservatory in 1880 with the best credentials. He was engaged as Choir Conductor of the Bremer Opera and 2 years later we see him as Assistant Conductor there. In 1883 he became Conductor of the Stettiner Opera.
Dr. Leopold Damrosch, conductor of the Metropolitan Opera House in New York, went to Berlin in 1884 in order to find a new assistant. He wanted to find a young man who was thoroughly versed in Wagnerian musical drama. John Lund was recommended to him. Dr. Damrosch hired him immediately for the German opera in New York. After Dr. Damrosch's death Lund became conductor of the Amberg Opera House. After a year he went back to Germany, where he stayed for a brief period and then returned to accept a position as conductor of the Rochester Glee Club. He didn't stay long in the Flower City. The Orpheus was looking for a competant conductor and Mr. Lund was recommended by William Steinway. In early 1887 Mr. Lund was engaged by the Orpheus. In fall of the same year, the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra was organized and Mr. Lund took over the role of conductor.
The orchestra was composed of 33 men, a number of whom were not professional musicians. It took many years before the conductor could turn things around with his orchestra so they could play an entire symphony but now, after strenuous, thoughtful work, his orchestra may compete with any similar-sized orchestra in the United States. The Orpheus has also evolved under Mr. Lund's director to become one of the most significant men's choirs in the state and has won various prizes at song festivals.
Although educated in the strictly classical principles of the Leipzig school, which at the time recognized only Mendelssohn as the outer limit of modern music, Mr. Lund is very liberal in his musical interpretation. His favorite composers are Wagner, Beethoven, Tchaikowsky and Svendsen but at the same time he doesn't ignore other composers in his concerts. He has achieved importance as a composer himself - we list here the "Wanderlied" for men's choir and orchestra; "The Blumen Rache", a cantata for full choir, solos and orchestra; the "Germanenzug" for men's choir, solos and orchestra; and concert pieces like "Scene amoureuse", "Im Garten", etc.
In 1888 Mr. Lund married Miss Ida Louisa Zeller, a daughter of the ex-Fire Commissioner G.F. Zeller. Unfortunately after a few years of marital bliss she died in 1897, leaving behind one child.
was born on April 15, 1834 in Igelsloch in the upper region of Neuenbürg in the Kingdom of Württemberg. In this beautiful Swabian land he attended the congregational school of his district and then learned the cooper's trade. In 1856 he emigrated to the United States, landing on April 18th and arriving in Buffalo on September 7th of the same year and subsequently settling here. Mr. Riexinger was employed for years in the grocery business. He was respected as a practical, diligent and solid businessman. He married Louise C. Kusterer and from the marriage there are 6 children still living. For the last years of his life Mr. Riexinger lived at 235 Amherst Street. The home is still owned by the family. He died on February 11, 1882. All who knew him mourned his passing.
first saw the light of the world on September 3, 1849 in Igelsloch, upper Neuenbürg in the Kingdom of Württemberg. After attending the congregational school he became a blacksmith's apprentice and learned the trade from the ground up. In 1869 he packed up his tools and came to America, settling immediately in Buffalo. His brother had settled here 16 [sic] years before. He worked continuously for 16 years in the factory of Pratt & Letchworth and in 1885 he followed his brother's example and went into the grocery business. Through untiring diligence he managed to make the business one of the best grocery and provisions businesses in that part of the city. Mr. Adam Riexinger, known as a consumate businessman, is a member of the Concordia Lodge, F.& A.M., the Black Rock Lodge No. 35, D.O.H., the Swabia Club, and the St. John's Church Association. He is married to Miss Agnes Poss. Eleven children have come from the marriage, all of whom are still living. Mr. Riexinger lives at 12 Military Road at the corner of Kail Street.
Dr. Edward Storck
When we're talking about Mr. Storck, it's certainly not too much to say that he may be considered one of the most intellectually significant and active members of the German American community not only of the city or of the entire state, but rather of the entire country.
Born on April 9, 1831 in Baden, he attended the secondary school in his home city. As the year of Storm and Stress, 1848, made its way through Germany it did not stop at the outskirts of the university. With courage young students joined the ranks of the activists. The consequence of Storck's participation was his emigration to America. After his arrival in New York he came directly to Buffalo where he found employment as a bookkeeper in the brewery of J. F. Schanzlin. He also assembled a group of students whom he taught German and French. These activities bespeak the ambitious and energetic character of the young man. Soon after we find him at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor where he studied medicine with great success. In 1853 he graduated with distinction, returned to Buffalo and established a good and steady practice, to which he tended most conscientiously and successfully.
He was a permanent member of the Erie County Medical Society, of which he was President in 1878.
Dr. Storck spared neither pain nor effort when it came to the support and prosperity of the German community of this city. No sacrifice was too great when it came to organization and implementation for the good cause. He took an active interest in German societal life and in various organizations he was either an active or an honorary member. It was the German Young Men's Association in which he had the keenest interest. He served as the association's President until his death on July 15, 1897. In political and public affairs Dr. Storck had high standing. Originally a Democrat he later joined the Republican Party and was sent as a delegate from Erie County to the National Convention, which nominated President Lincoln. He applied all his influence for the support of the Union through eloquent oratory and untiring activity in order to organize troops. He served for a long time as an examining physician for the army. After the end of the war he was elected to the City Council, by whom he was considered a most diligent and circumspect member. During his second term he was its President. He considered the work he did towards the improvement of the Parks System to be his pride and greatest accomplishment.
In 1854 Dr. Storck married Miss Lucy Grove of Williamsburg, who gave him a son, Dr. Eugene Storck. Mrs. Frank T. Williams is an adopted daughter of the late Dr. Storck.
Phillip Jacob and Anna Maria Seilheimer
Mr. Phillip Jacob Seilheimer was the father of Mrs. Titus Erb, about whom we wrote in another portion of this work. He was born on April 20, 1807 in the village of Mettenheim in the environs of Worms, Hessen-Darmstadt. He attended the congregational school in his district and learned agriculture and milling. In 1830 he married Anna Maria Neumann, born in 1810 in Alsheim, Hessen-Darmstadt. Mr. Seilheimer emigrated to the United States with his family in 1848 and settled on November 1st of the same year in Buffalo. He lived here for the rest of his life. In 1880 the happy couple celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. The marriage was blessed with 15 children, of which 7 are still living. Three live in Buffalo and 4 in Chicago. Mr. Seilheimer died on December 1, 1893 and his wife died on September 19, 1881.
From Webpage 15
was born on December 25, 1846 in Waren, part of theMecklenburg-Schwerin region. After graduating from the public school he learned the pastry trade. He had just completed his tour of military service when the German and French War broke out. He answered the call to follow the flag. He distinguished himself on the field but when it was over, he decided he could not return home. Instead he emigrated to the United States. On November 16, 1872 he came to Buffalo and worked at Rode's Bakery and later in McArthur's Pastry Shop. It's well known that the building collapsed on May 11, 1874. In that location you'll now find the southern portion of J.N. Adam's store. Mr. Behnke, who was there at the time of the collapse, escaped unharmed. On May 28, 1876 he married Mrs. Dankert. One daughter, Pauline, came from the marriage. The daughter is still living. Mr. Behnke took over the bakery, which his wife had managed. It's located at 163-165 Goodell St. It's still under his management today. From 1878-1885 he operated a branch store at the corner of Huron and Main Streets, on the Otto Block.
Mr. Behnke, a highly respected businessman in the city, is an active member of the Harmonia Lodge, F. & A.M., and the Concordia Lodge, I.O.O.F.
Mrs. Wilhelmine Behnke-Dankert,
nee Hornburg, was born on September 20, 1845 in Stargard, Mecklenburg-Schwerin. She is the wife of well known pastry chef and baker Emil Behnke. She attended the public school in her district but at a relatively early age came to the United States. After 15 years of wedded bliss to her second husband, she died on September 7, 1891.
Albert Ziegele, Sr.,
one of the most prominent citizens of our city, came from Stuttgart in Württemberg. He was born on April 9, 1818. After leaving school he learned the cooper's trade and after the end of his apprenticeship he turned his attention to beer brewing. A productive trip through France and his homeland gave him a basic and practical knowledge of the industry. In 1849 Mr. Ziegele emigrated to the United States and immediately settled in Buffalo. In the next few years he rented a small brewery on Genesee Street, from which he introduced Buffalo to the first brewed lager beers. This beer must have been an excellent quaff. Sales were so hefty that in 1852 Mr. Ziegele could afford to purchase a piece of land between Washington and Main Streets and build a brewery. Through the course of the years the brewery grew and production was improved with the latest in machinery. In the first year the brewery produced 2000 barrels. Later the capacity for production was increased to 50,000 per year with the purchase of property on Washington, Virginia and Burton Streets. On October 1, 1879 Mr. Ziegele withdrew from the operation of the brewery and placed it into the hands of his sons, Albert Jr. and Wilhelm. They studied at the technical high school in Stuttgart, as did his son-in-law, Hermann Grau. The establishment remained in the family until 1897 when it was sold to a corporation. Mr. Ziegele has taken frequent trips to Europe. He's been impressed by its architectural beauty and has brought back many items for his own villa.
When it came to the welfare of the city and the interests of the German community, Mr. Ziegele has always been generous. He is an old member of the German Young Men's Association. The Association owes much thanks to Mr. Ziegele for its beautiful home. Mr. Ziegele has been a member of the Turnverein since its founding. He's one of its oldest members. His generousity has earned him an honorary membership in the Turner's Society.
Furthermore Mr. Ziegele is on the Director's Council of the German Bank and the German Fire Insurance Company. As a confirmed Republican and an influential man, Mr. Ziegele has done much for his Party but he has never been persuaded to hold public office or seek nomination. Mr. Ziegele has 4 children, the aforementioned sons Albert Jr. and Wilhelm; and 2 daughters, Pauline married to Karl Reis of Karlsruhe, Baden; and Bertha, the wife of Mr. Herman Grau of Buffalo.
Mr. Christian Trapp may be listed among the most successful young German citizens in the city. He was born on September 13, 1866 in Giessen, Hessen-Darmstadt. He attended the business school in his district. In 1879 when he came to Buffalo and lived with a friend of his Uncle Louis, he further attended the public schools for many years. He went into the fire insurance business and later established a similar business of his own. He gave up this occupation in 1895, in order to accept a position as Assistant Secretary of the Brewers League on February 23 of the same year. He discharged his duties so well that he became indispensible so when the Secretary retired, Mr. Trapp was named his successor on February 5, 1898. He carried out the duties of his post to everyone's satisfaction.
Mr. Trapp regularly takes part in the social life of the city. He is one of the oldest and most active members of the Zither Club, he belongs to the Sängerbund and various other German associations, and enjoys immense popularity within these circles. On October 27, 1889 he married Amelia Stettenbenz, who gave him a son and a daughter. The family lives at 721 Ellicott St.
Born on February 22, 1840 in Tirschütz Bavaria, Mr. Celestin Bächer came to the United States at the age of 19. He stayed for a year in New York and then came with his parents to Buffalo, where he attended St. Boniface and the public schools. After finishing school he learned piano fabrication, went to San Francisco, California and took a job as foreman in the piano factory of C. Kurtzmann. Later he opened his own business on Main Street but has since retired. He is a founding member of the Buffalo Orpheus. His house was the singing society's first home. After the Music Hall burned down, the Orpheus again met there. Mr. Bächer married Miss Louisa Gerber in 1865. The marriage produced 4 children. One daughter still lives.
Dr. Friedrich Haupt
Few men in the early days of the city have been as esteemed and respected in scientific and social circles as Dr. Friedrich Haupt. The German community owes him much thanks for his contribution to their spiritual development. Mr. Haupt was born on March 14, 1804 in Homburg von der Höhe. After attending the school in his father city, he went to Heidelberg to study jurisprudence. He took the State Exams, received his doctorate, returned to his home city, and pursued a career in the upper eschelon of the Police Department. He became head of the Police Department and held that position for 25 years. He emigrated to the United States in 1857 and made his way to Erie, PA. After 3 years he came to Buffalo. He earned his living primarily through private tutoring. During this time and to the end of his life he was also involved in literary pursuits. His last work was the translation of a Bible commentary into English. This was a task which provided him with great satisfaction. He completed the work the day before his death. It's self evident that Mr. Haupt lent a helping hand to all German endeavor. Seldom does one find such clear and wholesome perception coupled with personal kindness, true masculinity and exceptional amicability. Under these circumstances it was no wonder that Mr. Haupt enjoyed greater than usual popularity and possessed a large circle of friends.
He was a member of the German Young Men's Association. He was its librarian for 13 years. He was also its President for a time. He was counted among the oldest members of the Liedertafel. When he took a trip to Germany in 1881 he became an honorary member of the club. In 1834 he married Auguste, Baroness of Busack, who preceded him in death in 1865. Mr. Haupt died on January 10, 1888. He was mourned by his large number of friends and acquaintances.
whom Buffalo can no longer count among its residents, was without a doubt one of the most popular Germans in the city. He was born on April 5, 1829 in Schwerin, Mecklenberg. He attended the public school and the secondary school and then went into the book trade. He emigrated to the United States in 1853. Buffalo was his final destination and he became editor of the Telegraph, forerunner of the Free Press. Later he was in the iron business of Edward Folger & Co. and for a time he was the warehouse manager for a whiskey distillery. In Buffalo Mr. Hoffmann was also known as a most reliable and talented books auditor and enjoyed great popularity among not only the German community but also the general public. On April 1, 1865 he was appointed Assistant Postmaster but he only held this post til May 1st (from All Fools Day to All Moving Day). Congressional member Bennett asked for his resignation for political reasons. At the end of the year 1869 Mr. Hoffman went to New York. Currently he is business manager of the German Association. Mr. Hoffmann, who took an active role in German association life, still belongs to the German Young Men's Association. On October 3, 1871 he was made an honorary member. He is one of the few living early members of the Buffalo Liedertafel. In New York Mr. Hoffman is a member of the Liederkranz. He's been its President 4 times. He is married to Anna Holierith of Buffalo but has no children. He lives at 60 Lenox Avenue in New York.
From Webpage 16
Among the many fine musicians who call Buffalo their home, Mr. Johannes Gelbke is certainly the most skillful of them all. Born on July 19, 1846 in Radeberg, a small city near Dresden, he showed an exceptional love of music at an early age. The love grew greater when he received instruction in violin and piano. After finishing his elementary education, on the advice of his teacher he went to the Krenz School in Dresden. He had an excellent soprano voice and was accepted into the famous alumni choir of the Krenz School, which provided the church music for the 3 main evangelical churches in the city. Here he learned the master works of church tonality. Julius Otto, leader of the choir, discovered the young man's musical ability, took an interest in him and gave him instruction in musical theory. At the time Mr. Gelbke composed various songs and choral works, among which was the music for the 1866 festival play "Sleeping Beauty", performed for the dedication of the new Krenz School. It was so well received that the ambitious youth decided to devote himself entirely to music. To this end he went to Leipzig and took the exam administered by Ignaz Moscheles for entry into the Royal Conservatory. His primary instructors were Ernst Friedrich Richter and Oscar Paul for theory and composition and Theodor Corvius and Wenzel for piano. Besides these courses at the Leipzig Conservatory he studied music history, acoustics and other subjects to further his education. During his stay in Leipzig he created a series of substantial compositions of lasting value, trained many groups in the neighboring city of Wurzen, and gave instruction in song and piano. One of those groups, the Orpheus, offered him the conductor's job and he came to the United States in December of 1882. On the 14th of that month he arrived in Buffalo and assumed his new post for the next 3 years. Furthermore Mr. Gelbke was for many years conductor of the Buffalo Sängerbund. He conducted the Central Sängerbund, composed of 12 local glee clubs, the Beethoven Club, the Mendelssohn Club, and other groups. He was the conductor of the Niagara Falls Orpheus for 10 years. In time Mr. Gelbke withdrew from the direction of singing groups in order to fully devote his time to instruction. He was later convinced to take over the direction of two aspiring groups, the Harugari Frohsinn and the Choral Section of the Buffalo Turnverein.
Proof of Mr. Gelbke's popularity can be seen through the number of honorary diplomas he received. His numerous compositions demonstrate individuality, melodic beauty and fervor. They have received well deserved recognition both here and in Germany. The most performed song by Mr. Gelbke is an old composition with the words beginning "Horch, die alten Eichen rauschen" [Listen, the old oaks are rustling].
Mrs. Mathilde Margarethe Gelbke
was born on February 1, 1856. She was the daughter of Mr. Carl Hütter and his wife Margarethe, nee Siegler, both of whom came from Württemberg. On December 27, 1887 she married Mr. Johannes Gelbke, whom we discussed in the previous sketch. Mr. Carl Hütter, the father of Mrs. Gelbke, came from Germany in 1848 and settled in Buffalo. He died here in 1888, a year after his wife had died (1887).
The Nachtrieb Family
Johann Georg Nachtrieb first saw the light of the world on November 15, 1828 in Birkmannweiler, in the district of Württemberg. In his district he attended the congregational school and then became an apprentice in his father's mill. In 1846 the 18-year-old emigrated to the United States and settled in Buffalo. A year later he went to Canada, where he stayed until 1849, then returned to Buffalo in order to establish himself as a contractor for finish work, excavation and street grading, etc. At the time he was the only contractor in his field in the entire city, so he was able to raise his business to a successful status. Today he is still one of the busiest people in the field. Mr. Nachtrieb is a director and founding member of the First German Methodist Church. He is counted among its major supporters.
He is married to Anna Maria Fehr, who gave him 11 children. All but 3 still live. His residence is located at 29 Goodrich Street.
Anna Maria Nachtrieb, nee Fehr, wife of the above mentioned, was born on October 8, 1823 in Zinsheim, Baden. She came to Buffalo in 1846. She entered the bonds of holy matrimony with Johann Georg Nachtrieb in 1847. She lived with him in wedded bliss until her death on April 20, 1883. The marriage was blessed with 11 children.
Johann Friedrich Nachtrieb, eldest child of the Nachtrieb family, was born in Canada on January 28, 1849 but unfortunately died on August 7, 1852 in Buffalo while his parents were moving.
Johann Georg Nachtrieb, brother of the late Johann Friedrich, came into the world on September 29, 1851. He was born in Buffalo. His parents had settled on Seneca Street. He attended Public School 14 and later Bryant and Stratton Business Academy. There he studied accounting , the profession which he practices currently. He's also a foreman in his father's flourishing business, in which he knows how to make himself exceptionally useful. Besides bookkeeping he's involved in just about every kind of trade activity. Mr. Nachtrieb, who lives at 73 Goodrich Street, belongs to the Volunteer Fire Department and is currently a member of the union. He's been married to Sarah Graeder since December 14, 1875. The marriage has produced one child.
Johann Karl Nachtrieb, a son of the well known contractor, was born on April 11, 1854 on Goodell Street. He attended Public School 14 and Bryant and Stratton Business Academy to learn accounting. He later went into the contracting business, in which he was successfully active until his death on Spetember 9, 1890. He was married to Margaret Bickelmann in February 11, 1881, who survived him along with 3 children. Two other children are dead. The family lives on Michigan Avenue.
Maria Nachtrieb was born on Washington Street in Buffalo on March 3, 1856. She attended Public Schools 14 and 15 and lives now with her father at 29 Goodrich Street.
Caroline E. Nachtrieb, who was born on November 16, 1857 on Ellicott Street, was educated at Public Schools 14 and 15. She also took instruction in German from Professor Schneider. She was musically gifted and her parents allowed her to receive an excellent musical education. Currently she is organist of the German Methodist Church. She lives with her father at 29 Goodrich Street.
Louise Nachtrieb, another daughter of Mr. J. G. Nachtrieb, was born on Main Street on December 4, 1859. She attended Public Schools 14 and 15 and took German instruction under Professor Schneider. On October 13, 1882 she married George J. Stumpf, with whom she lives at 190 Masten Street. Two children have come from the marriage.
Johann Gottlieb Nachtrieb, born on September 3, 1861 on Main Street, went to Schools 14 and 15 like his siblings and also took German instruction from Professor Schneider. He educated himself to become an accountant, worked for a time as a foreman at his father's business, then established himself as a contractor. Until September 1888 he had all the contracts for street cleaning in certain sections of the city. His marriage to Dora S. Stumpf, since November 29, 1885, has been blessed with 3 children. He lives at 46 Kingsley Street.
Emma Nachtrieb, born on April 11, 1863 on Main Street, received her education at Public Schools 14 and 15 and with Professor Schneider, from whom she took German instruction. On May 7, 1885 she married Clark E. Eiss, with whom she lives in Rosedale, N.Y. She is the mother of 3 children, of whom 2 are still living.
Friedrich Nachtrieb was born on October 3, 1864 at what is now the family home at 29 Goodrich Street. Unfortunately he died at a tender age of not even one year on August 4, 1865.
Wilhelm Nachtrieb, youngest son of the family of J.G. Nachtrieb, was born on April 13, 1866 at 29 Goodrich Street. After attending Schools 14 and 15 he furthered his education attending Wallace College in Berea, Ohio. He was later employed as an accountant and foreman, but now belongs to the city Police Department as a patrolman. On October 8, 1891 he married Annie McCrea. He lives at 50 Kingsley Street.
Sarah Nachtrieb, who first saw the light of the world on April 2, 1868 from 29 Goodrich Street, attended Public Schools 14 and 15 and took German instruction from Professor Schneider. On May 29, 1888 she married Pastor Henry Vollberg, whom she gave 2 children. The family lives at 43 State Street in Troy, N.Y.
Dr. Friedrich Dellenbaugh,
who was in his day the only German physician in Buffalo, was born in 1808 in the Swiss Canton of Bern. He came to America in 1825. He studied medicine here, practiced for a while in Pennsylvania, and then came to Buffalo in 1831 and set up a practice here at the corner of Rock Street and Maiden Lane. In the years that followed there was a terrifying cholera epidemic, during which Dr. Dellenbaugh was a true guardian angel to the poor, to whom he extended his help. His assistant was later Dr. John Hauenstein. Until 1876 Dr. Dellenbaugh was an active member and ardent supporter of the St. Paul's Congregation, whose church at the time was located on Washington Street. Then he joined the Trinity Congregation on Delaware Avenue, to which he belonged until his death on January 15, 1891. Dr. Dellenbaugh took an active part in politics. From 1839 to 1840 he represented the old 4th Ward as Alderman. From 1855 to 1856 he was alderman to the 5th Ward. At his death he left behind 4 daughters. One son had died before him.
Dr. Samuel Dellenbaugh,
who was born on February 28, 1806 in the Swiss Canton of Bern, came with his parents to America in 1825, after receiving an excellent education in his old district. The family first settled in Georgetown, Ohio. Mr. Dellenbaugh, who educated himself to be a practicing physician, went to Wheeling, Va. in 1833 where he married. In 1845 he came with his family to Buffalo, where his brother Friedrich had been practicing as a physician for years. Dr. Samuel Dellenbaugh acquired a growing practice because of his ability. He died a highly respected man on June 17, 1879, mourned not only by his widow and 4 children but by the entire community. His family residence is located at 245 Ellicott Street.
From Webpage 17
The Koons Family
Jacob Henry Koons was one of the most successful German settlers to come to Buffalo in the 1830s. He was born in Alsatia in 1806, attended school there, and emigrated to America in 1828. He worked for many months on a farm in the vicinity of Guilderland, Albany County, N.Y. but then established an emporium with his compatriot, F.J. Handel. The friends, who had left Alsatia together, operated this business until 1832.They then came to Buffalo and opened a small store on Main Street near Genesee. They sold specialty items or notions such as watches. Since Mr. Koons and his partner were capable businessmen, they were able to move forward and later establish a branch store in Paris, Ohio.
In 1848 Mr. Koons withdrew from the business.
By political affiliation Mr. Koons was a Democrat, who enjoyed the high regard of his fellow citizens. He found his calling when he was appointed Superintendent of the Poor in 1856. He administered to this office for 3 years to the full satisfation of all. Furthermore Mr. Koons was one of the first members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of St. John on Hickory Street. He was also a cofounder of the St. John's Orphanage. Unfortunately he was almost completely blind for the last 10 years of his life however he still actively participated in charitable causes. On November 11, 1834 he married Miss Elisabeth Dellenbaugh of Columbus County, Ohio. Six of his children are still living. Mr. Koons died on May 9, 1889 at 73 East Huron Street, the home where his widow resides to this day. All who had the opportunity to meet Mr. Koons mourned his passing.
Elisabeth Koons, nee Dellenbaugh, is a sister of Dr. Samuel and Dr. Friedrich Dellenbaugh. She was born on September 7, 1815 in the Swiss Canton of Bern. She came to America with her parents in 1823. Her parents settled in Georgetown, Ohio. On November 11, 1834 she married Mr. J.H. Koons of Buffalo, with whom she lived in wedded bliss for 55 years.
Henry Koons, son of the aforementioned, was born on October 9, 1838 in Buffalo. He attended the public school and then went to work for the American Express Company. After working there for 2 years he went West and learned the tanner's trade at G. Pfisler & Co. of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He stayed at the firm for 2 years then returned to Buffalo and took a position as clerk in the Office of the County Clerk from 1865 to 1871. In this last year he opened up a real estate office at 448 Main Street, which a year later he relocated to 474 Main Street. You'll find him there today. Absolute honesty in all business transactions is the guiding principle, which Mr. Koons follows. Over the years his business has flourished because of that.
Since June 1, 1884 his younger brother has been a partner in the firm and the business' name is now Henry and Edward L. Koons. Besides operating his own business, Mr. Koons also holds responsible positions in various significant corporations.
Elisabeth A. Koons, a daughter of Mr. & Mrs. J.H. Koons, was born in Buffalo on January 27, 1843. She attended Public School 13 and married Mr. Philip Schweikhart on October 6, 1863. She has blessed him with 4 children. The family residence is at 69 East Huron Street.
Amelia S. Koons, born on May 22, 1848 in Buffalo, is also a daughter of Mr.and Mrs. J.H. Koons. She received an excellent education at the public school and through private schooling. She married Mr. John Fullerton on May 2, 1871. They live at 73 East Huron Street. There is one daughter from the marriage.
Louise J. Koons, who also belongs to this highly respected family, was born on August 16, 1853 in Buffalo. She received a good education at the public schools and on June 20, 1876 she married the reknown apothecary, Edward J. Liebetrut. The couple lives at 71 East Huron Street.
Mary A. Koons is the youngest daughter of the late Mr. J.H. Koons. She was born on September 20, 1855 at the house at 73 East Huron Street, where she lives today with her mother and her family. She attended Public School 13 and later the high school. On August 23, 1877 she married Mr. John Reimann, who died on April 19, 1886. One son came from the marriage.
Edward L. Koons was born on October 1, 1861. He is the youngest son of Mr. and Mrs. J.H. Koons. After attending a public school and Central High School he entered the tax and title search business and is currently Secretary and Treasurer of the Erie County Guaranteed Search Company. On May 12, 1886 he married Anna C. Hengerer. Two children have resulted from the marriage. His residence is at 191 Linwood Avenue.
was born on November 30, 1852 in Buffalo. After receiving a good education at St. Michael's Church School, he became an apprentice for Franz Hafner, who operated a book, picture frame and stationery business. He stayed there for 6 years as a saleman. After that he worked for 17 years in the same shoe business while at the same time the store changed owners 3 times. The owners were Franz Kleber, A. Snyder and lastly Jos. Ellsworth. The fact that Mr. Schaefer continued to work at the same business while it passed through 3 owners attests to his ability and perseverence. Since May 1896 he's been successful in his own shoewares business at 148 East Tupper Street. He is a member of Branch 18 of the C.M.B.A.,and a member of the Men's Sodality of St. Michael's Church. He is married to Anna Philipps. The marriage has been blessed by 5 children, of which one has died.
whose full name is Peter Heinrich Gustav Glawatz, was born on June 8, 1823 in Rotenburg (Hannover). He attended the elementary school in his father city and later went to the seminary in Stade to become a teacher. He specialized in music and after finishing his examinations he became employed as a music and speech teacher at an institute in Wandsbeck near Hamburg. In 1848 he married Louise Wilhelm, the widow of a landowner. He gave up teaching and became a farmer in Liebenau, Hannover. His wife gave him 3 daughters. After she died he emigrated to America in 1862 and came directly to Buffalo. In 1865 his daughters followed him to Buffalo. He married Miss Anna Delitsch. Five children came from this marriage - Cecilie, Bernhard, Anna, Hermann, and Emma. These children and his children from the first marriage all lived together in Buffalo. Since Mr. Glawatz settled here he has been successfully employed as a music teacher. He never held public office however he has been involved in the musical and social life of the city. He is a long time member of the Liedertafel. He lives at 498 West Utica Street.
Frederick Hoddick, Sr.
Among the Germans who have emigrated here from the old fatherland throughout the years and among those who have contributed to the development and prosperity of Buffalo, Mr. Frederick Hoddick may justifiably be singled out. Mr. Hoddick was born on April 30, 1814 in Langenburg, Prussia. After receiving a good education, he went into the gold smithing trade. Capable and energetic about all he learned, he became a skilled worker who was soon in a position to secure a good living for himself. He was torn from his peaceful and active life by the political storms of 1847 and 1848. He himself had taken part in the fight for political freedom, and this prompted his decision to emigrate to America. In 1848 he landed in New York and stayed there for about a year and then he settled in Buffalo. Since Mr. Hoddick possessed exceptional musical talent, he came to the attention of the firm of George A. Prince and Co., a harmonium and melodeon factory. The firm recognized the young man's ability. In order to keep him there they made him a manager of the business. The improvements he designed into the instruments were more than just slightly responsible for the business' success. He stayed loyally at the side of the firm for 33 years.
In 1869 he established a picture frame factory with Chas. F. Mutter as partner. The firm went by the name Mutter & Hoddick. Six years later he bought out his partner and took his son Frederick into the firm. It now became Hoddick & Co. Later a young son, Henry C. Hoddick, entered the business. Until his death on December 12, 1893, Mr. Hoddick remained a silent partner in the business, providing advice and action when needed. Because of his musical ability, his loving manner and warm heart, he acquired many friends. Mr. Hoddick was a sought out personality. He played the organ in various churches in the city and was the first conductor of the Buffalo Liedertafel. He had much to do with the club's founding. Even toward the end of his life he took a regular and active part in the club. In 1849 he married Miss Henrietta Magnus. She gave his 7 sons - Frederick C., Henry, Arthur E., Otto, William, Charles and August. She also gave him a daughter, Julia.
Ernst Wilhelm Peseler
was born on December 2, 1820 in Leer, East Friesland, Hannover. He acquired his first schooling in the elementary and business schools in his home district. After graduation he attended the higher elementary school in order to become a teacher. In 1838 he became school teacher and organist in Leer, positions he held until 1851, in which year he emigrated to America. He arrived on June 18th. He immediately became the teacher and organist for the town of Lebanon, Wisconsin, an area of pure, primal forests. In May 1853 he came to Buffalo and lived here ever after. He had to earn his living with his hands through physical labor, stenuous and difficult. He shunned nothing in order to lend a hand to those in need. In 1855 he was able to return to his profession. He took a position as teacher and organist at St. Peter's School at the corner of Genesee and Hickory Streets. He stayed there until 1867. From 1855 to 1873 he was also organist for Pastor Vogt's French Protestant Church at the corner of Ellicott and Tupper Streets. From 1867 to 1890 Mr. Peseler owned a dry goods business at 382 Genesee Street. He started it with surplus capital. It was just after the war and times were tough, so in 1869 he built a private school, which he operated until 1876. He considered the young people he chose to be from the best German families. They wanted to expand their knowledge.
Mr. Peseler is highly respected in business and private circles. For many years he was Treasurer of the Evangelical Missions Governing Committee, Superintendent of Sunday Schools of the Districts of New York, and was a member in good standing of the St. Peter's Congregation. As a citizen the well-being of the city rested within his heart and he showed lively interest in the affairs of the German community.
On May 8, 1846 he married Miss Margarethe Sophie Sieling. In 1896 he celebrated his golden wedding anniversary amid a broad circle of merry participants. Unfortunately his loyal life partner was taken from him in death on January 13, 1898. The marriage was blessed by 8 children, 4 of whom still live. The family residence is at 605 Oak Street.
Margarethe Sophie Peseler,
nee Sieling, wife of the above mentioned, was born on May 2, 1822 in Zetel, Oldenburg. She received her education at the parish school. She was a model homemaker, wife, and mother. In joy and in sadness she loyally remained at the side of her husband and courageously shared his fate, as mixed by the heavens amid the sunny days of their union. She was a caring mother for her children. Fate dealt her a heavy blow through them and caused her unbearable bereavement. She guided and presided over the cozy family home at 605 Oak Street with sage prudence and active hands, ever vigilent to the needs of her family, their concerns, their well being, their entire world. She was a woman of virtue, who recognized the role of the proper German wife and behaved accordingly.
In the bearer of this name we find a man who gave the best of his abilities and intentions to help his fellow human beings, especially his German compatriots. No labor was too great and he spared no effort to foster and support their undertakings. Mr. Neupert was born in 1839 in Marienweiler, Upper Franken. In the local public school he secured the basic knowledge to become a capable tradesman. His parents then placed him as a apprentice to a soap maker. In 1852 the decision was made, thus the youngster, filled with fine German knowledge, came with his parents to Buffalo. He attended the public school here and through luck and skill working at various businesses managed to establish a wholesale carpet business. Circumspection and business sense made this one of the best-going concerns in the city. As we've already said, Mr. Neupert was always ready to support the endeavors of the German community, thus we see him become one of the founders of the Volksfreund [The People's Friend, a German newspaper], and we see him as a crusader and cofounder of the Catholic Orphanage, in which he had a special interest and for which he is Treasurer. Further Mr. Neupert is one of the directors of the Erie Fire Insurance Company, the Cemetery Association, the Metropolitan Bank and the Clinton Co-operative Brewing Co., of which he is a cofounder.
On July 25, 1860 he married Miss Barbara M. Brözel, who gave him several children. Two daughters and 4 sons are still living. Mr. Neupert has retired from business and the troubles of life and enjoys a well deserved rest in the circle of his kin at his comfortable and pleasant home at 616 Oak Street.
Mr. Heinrich Baethig was a thoroughly capable person with a multifaceted kind of genius. He was an old German pioneer in the truest sense of the word, not just a new settler in this city, this state or this land, but a pioneer when it came to life and its application. Born on November 22, 1809 in Halbau, Prussia-Silesia, he attended the local school and then travelled to Breslau to attend the secondary school and pass the college admissions exams. Later he went the the university and matriculated into the Theology Department. His rich spirituality made his studies easy and he would have secured for himself a fine career were it not for his misgivings about the old fatherland. He came to the Promised Land, America.
In October of 1850 he made the decision to emigrate. After a rather long voyage via sailing ship he arrived on the yearned-for shores in December. After seeing New York he figured the interior held more opportunity so he decided to come to Buffalo. His common sense told him that he wouldn't be able to make a living in his field, so he went into photography. It wasn't a solid profession but he was able to make a relatively good living. He wasn't completely satified with this undertaking so he decided to study pharmacy and medicine. In both fields he had success, especially as a physician. It gave him the opportunity to renew his good heartedness, his noble sensibility, and his love of humanity. Despite his busy practice, Mr. Baethig regularly took part in political events, though he did not actively seek or hold political office. He put all his energy and effort into generating fine and honorable principles in order to support and raise the interests of his fellow human beings.
In 1847 he married Miss Adelaide Ziekursch, who gave him a son, now a practicing physican known as Dr. H. Bäthig, and a daughter, Louise, who is deceased. Mr. Heinrich Bäthig died on December 5, 1870. He was mourned by his family and friends and by the countless individuals whom he had assisted during the course of his blessed life.
Bernhard F. Gentsch,
one of the most treasured men in the broadest circles of the entire county because of his excellent character, was born on April 12, 1835 in Sachs-Altenburg. He emigrated to America in 1854. As soon as he landed in New York, he turned his steps towards Buffalo. He found employment as a platelayer on the New York Central Railroad. Later when he no longer found this work sufficient, he found employment at Clark's Distillation. He maintained both jobs successfully. In 1859 he became a partner in Mennich's Vinegar Factory and he managed to significantly increase the business. In a few years he became sole owner of the business. His conscientiousness, his great circumspection, and his practical business sense soon made him a wealthy man. In 1878 he was elected to the Assembly. It had been 20 years since the strongly democratic First Assembly District had elected a Republican as their representative in Albany. From 1890 to 1893 he was Postmaster of Buffalo.
Mr. Gentsch was an active member of the Sängerbund. He was a good and true German with a warm heart and an active interest in the welfare and the woes of his compatriots and the Germans of the world. At his death on July 15, 1894 he left his wife, Catharin May whom he married in 1858, and 3 children.
From Webpage 18
The Brunner Family
Friedrich Brunner was born on November 26, 1845 in Gittersbach, Hessen-Darmstadt. He received his education at the parish school and became a baker's apprentice. In 1866 he emigrated to the United States and worked for the next 2 years as a journeyman in New York and another 4 years in the same capacity in Buffalo. In 1872 he returned to New York and stayed there until 1882. Through hard work and frugality he was able to acquire a tidy sum and he returned to Buffalo and established his own bakery. His baked goods developed a steady clientele because of their quality. Over the course of the years this seemingly insignificant little bakery grew ever larger, requiring that it be enlarged and improved. Today it's operated by steam and it's considered an operational model for a modern bakery. It's also one of the most important industrial facilities in the area. On March 17, 1870 Mr. Brunner married Miss Marie Edelmann. Five children came from the marriage. Today one son and two daughters are still living. Mr. Brunner's business is located at 263-269 Oak Street. The family residence is at 271 Oak Street.
Marie Brunner, nee Edelmann, wife of the aforementioned, came from Upper Finkenbach, Hessen-Darmstadt. She was born on June 8, 1846. She emigrated to the United States and married Mr. Friedrich Brunner in 1870. At the time he was a journeyman baker. In the course of time she gave her husband 5 children. Unfortunately 2 sons died. Of their siblings, 2 sisters and one brother still live.
Johann Brunner, the only still-living son of Mr. Friedrich Brunner, was born on February 8, 1875 in Buffalo. He came with his parents to Buffalo and attended the public school. Then he went into apprenticeship under his father and became a baker. He's also the bookkeeper for his father's business. The young Mr. Brunner is generally loved for his amicability, and should he take over his father's business, he will certainly make sure that he maintains the business' good reputation.
Catharine E. Brunner, sister of Mr. Johann Brunner, was born in the City of New York on January 8, 1879. At the age of 3 years she came with her parents to Buffalo. She attended the public schools and lives with her 2 siblings and her parents at 271 Oak Street.
Anna Brunner, youngest daughter of the family of Friedrich Brunner, was born in Buffalo on November 29, 1886.
There are few men of such indefatigable and stalwart principle as Mr. Otto Wende. Through his own power he has managed at a relatively early age to bring himself into high standing within the community. Mr. Wende, who by the way is a cousin of the Sanitation Commissioner, was born on April 19, 1866 in Wende, in the Town of Alden. His father, Hermann A. Wende, had a farm and operated a saw mill. Hermann Wende came from lower Silesia. He settled in the colony which bears his name on May 23, 1848 and on June 16, 1851 he married Marie Ries. The marriage produced 10 children. Gottfried, Karl, Wilhelm, Anna Louise, Marie, Otto and Heinrich are still living while Franz, Georg and Robert died at early ages. The father died in his 67th year on March 16, 1892. He was a respected citizen, who had held just about every public office in his town.
Otto, the eighth child in the family, grew up in Wende, attended school in the neighboring village and later received private instruction at a trade school in Buffalo. During the years 1887 and 1888 he was employed as a teacher in the village school where he lived. When he reached the age of 21 he was a tax collector and soon after was elected Justice of the Peace. He was the youngest to hold this appointment and probably one of the best the township had. His term of office had not yet run out but he was elected town supervisor by his fellow citizens. He resigned from his former office during 1895-97 in order to serve the interests of his constituents in the Supervisory Council of Erie County to the fullest. In later years he was elected Clerk of Erie County and he resigned from the position of Supervisor although he could have served for 2 more years. Mr. Wende is a strict Democrat and he is respected by his fellow citizens. He was a man with a vote, who never missed a party convention and who several times was sent as a delegate to the State Conventions. We Germans have particular reason to be proud of him because not only was he the youngest ever elected County Clerk but also the first of German ancestry. The measure of the respect given him by his fellow citizens is indicated by the large majority of votes he received in his last election. Mr. Wende is still a bachelor and lives with his mother in the parental home in Alden. He is a Free Mason and a member of various other associations.
who was popularly known by the name "Water John" during his time and is still referred to by that moniker to this day, is probably the first German in Erie County about whose life we have a significant number of details. John Kücherer was born on March 5, 1795 in Baden-Baden, a town in the Grand Duchy of Baden. He attended the local public school. In 1817 he emigrated and came here to Buffalo. He became a cattle dealer, travelling between here and Canada. He used a shallop, built with the sweat of his own brow, to transport his animals. One day the shallop was ripped loose from its anchor by a strong storm and tossed out onto the lake. The owner couldn't reach it in time so he lost all his property and goods. He also lost his livelihood so he had to come up with an alternate way to make a living. He found this way through providing the residents of Buffalo with a portion of their water. It was difficult to get water for clothes washing since you had to go down to Lake Erie. He used a wagon he constructed himself to which he harnessed a blind white horse. Water John with his cart became a well-known and sought-after personality.
Over the course of the years with improvement in city facilities, his business was no longer needed. He built a small home at the corner of Court and Franklin, which still stands today, and he established a small household goods business. The brave pioneer allowed a small protestant group to hold its services in a room of the house. From that small protestant congregation came the seed of the large congregation of St. Paul's Church.
Later John Kücherer built a livery stable on Pearl Street on the spot where many years later Miller's Livery Stable stood. Mr. Kücherer was a generally well respected and popular man, who lived to a ripe old age. He was 82 years and 6 months old when he died. He had a lively wit and a happy disposition. He was glad to tell the stories of Buffalo during the days when it wore diapers. He died following old age infirmity and was buried by a large number of participants from St. Paul's Church. His wife, Christina, with whom he lived for a long time in marital bliss, was born a Bronner from Oberbron in Alsatia. The couple had 7 children, of which 2 daughters, Mrs. Catharina Kuster and Mrs. Louise Crosier, still live in Buffalo. Another daughter, Mrs. Sophie Keller; the 4 sons, Johann, Louis, Carl and Friedrich, have already left the mortal plain.
C. Louis Fritz
Mr.C. Louis Fritz may be counted among the most highly respected Germans in the city. He first saw the light of the world here in Buffalo on April 24, 1838 on Fox Street, past High Street. After attending St. Stephen's Parish School and Public School 31 he went to Bryant and Stratton Trade School to become a businessman. Then he learned to become a pump builder. Today Mr. Fritz, known for his integrity and broad business sense, is the senior partner and manager of the Harvey Seed Co., a substantial enterprise with a large annual income derived from the sale of all kinds of meal, grain, animal feed, etc. He regularly takes part in German association life. Since 1893 he has been a member of the East Buffalo Lodge No. 335, Order of the Odd Fellows; in 1894 he entered the Modestia Lodge No. 340, F. & A.M., and the Modestia Rebekkah Lodge No. 69, Order of the Odd Fellows. He's also a member of the Jefferson Lodge No. 240 of the Odd Fellows, the Teutonia Men's Choir, known as one of the best groups on the East Side. Mr. Fritz is married to Elizabeth M. Witte, who has given him 5 children, and nary a girl. The family lives at 149 Peckham Street.
The Reinhart Family
John R. Reinhart, who is counted among the most respected citizens of the city, was born on September 11, 1825 in the Württemberg District. He attended the village school and emigrated in 1847 to the United States. In March of the same year he settled in Buffalo. He lived here until his death on May 1, 1885. Mr. Reinhart was married to Miss Christina Nagel. He is survived by 5 children. He belonged to the old 65th Regiment and served with distinction during the Civil War.
Christina Reinhart, nee Nagel, was born on June 8, 1825 in Baden. She attended the village school. She came to the United States in 1846, arriving in Buffalo on June 28th of the same year. She lived on Pine Street. She married John R. Reinhart on December 3, 1848. Of the 9 children, with which the marriage was blessed, 5 are still living. Mrs. Reinhart lives at 547 Oak Street.
Charles Frederick Reinhart, who was born on August 12, 1854 in Buffalo, attended Public Schools 13 and 31 and then learned accounting. On January 15, 1872 he went to Milwaukee, Wisconsin and from February 1872 to 1874 he was employed at W.G. Cutler & Co. He was employed as a salesman from 1874 to 1889 and then he established his own company, the Milwaukee Palming Co, at 425 Clybourn Street in Milwaukee. He's still owner of the company, which manufactures gloves and glove parts. The business has a respected name in the business world. Mr. Reinhart is married to Margaret Leigh, who presented him with 4 daughters and 1 son. He lives at 578 Milwaukee Street in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
Katherine Charlotte Reinhart, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J.R. Reinhart, was born on July 12, 1856 in Buffalo. She received her schooling at Public School 15 and is married to Philip Goehrig, to whom she gave 3 children. After her first husband's death she married Mr. Joseph Clody, the reknown restauranteur at 3322 Main Street. One child has come from that marriage.
William Peter Reinhart, who was born in Buffalo on August 18, 1858, attended Public School 15 and later educated himself to become a clerk. He is currently employed in that capacity in Monterey, California. He is married and the proud father of 4 children.
Amelia Marie Reinhart was born in Buffalo on May 2, 1861. She attended Public Schools 15 and 13 and is now married to Mr. Louis Hoehn of 626 Oak Street. The marriage has been blessed with 5 children.
Ernestina Margaret Reinhart first saw the light of the world in Buffalo on December 3, 1866. She attended Public School 13 and on November 26, 1889 she married the famous and popular journalist, Hermann A.O. Hoffmann, who unfortunately died on January 14, 1896. Mrs. Hoffmann, who lives at her mother's house on 547 Oak Street, is employed as a stenographer and typist. Her marriage to Mr. Hoffmann was childless.
Samuel J. Ramsperger
was born on April 25, 1862 in Buffalo and has lived here continuously. This gentleman has been entrusted with the interests of the city and represents the 48th Senate District. Despite the fact that he was left to fend for himself at the age of 7 because of his father's death, he managed to secure a good education through the parish and public schools and later at the renowned Canisius College, where he studied for 3 years. After graduation he was employed at the Hans, Nauert & Klein Printing Co., where he stayed for a short period of time. The late John Schüssler, who recognized his ability, took Mr. Ramsperger into his employ as a collector. He stayed in this position from 1877 to 1888. In the later year he established his own business, which he managed for a year and a half, and then he returned to the John Schüssler Brewing Co., owned by Mr. William Simon. He was a cashier and bookkeeper. In 1894 he took over the managing of the business.
Mr. Ramsperger was an active and decisive Democrat. He dedicated the best years of his life to the concerns of his party. Already at the age of 23 he was elected Alderman of the old 5th Ward, at the time one of the largest districts in the city. He was reelected 3 times and eventually nominated to run for Assessor, despite the fact that he was running behind the other candidate, who won by 3000 votes. In the Fall of 1898 he was elected Senator of the 48th Senate District. In the ranks of the Democratic party he was a leading figure and has been for 7 years a member of the General Committee. In 1896 he was elected its Secretary. Mr. Ramsperger is a member of various groups and charitable organizations, in which he often holds an office.
From Webpage 19
Christian Gottlieb Theurer,
one of the most highly respected and hard-working Germans in our city, was born in Altenstrich, upper district of Napold in Württemberg. He came to Buffalo in 1852 after working as a cook on the lake steamships for some time. In 1858 he established his own business on River Street, where he operated a restaurant, hotel, and boarding house. In 1869 he opened a winehouse and restaurant in the house he built himself at the corner of Chippewa and Ellicott Street. It had enormous popularity. He managed the place wisely and capably until his death on April 15, 1876.
In 1859 he married Miss Regina Magdalena Kull. Nine children came from the marriage. Six are still living. Mr. Theurer's death was quite sudden. He was deeply mourned by an unusually large circle of friends, who had found him to be an honorable, decent and thoroughly good man.
Mrs. Magdalena Theurer,
the wife of the renowned late restauranteur Christian Gottlieb Theurer, was born on June 13, 1837 in Hernald, in the upper district of the Kingdom of Württemberg. Her father's last name was Kull. She married Mr. Christian Theuer in 1859. She gave him 9 children. She died on March 3, 1879.
The Hintz Family
Carl Hintz, who was born in 1823 in Braunsberg, Prussia, came to Buffalo from the old fatherland in 1863. He was a cabinetmaker. He was a hard working and capable man who understood how to gain the trust of his fellow citizens. He was married to Auguste Gatzweiler, who gave him a son. That son is Dr. Felix Hintz, who lives at 1037 Ellicott Street. Mr. Carl Hintz died on April 14, 1874 in the prime of manhood, properly mourned by his remaining family and friends.
Auguste Hintz is one of German-Buffalo's best known beldames. Few among us are unaware of her amicability, her lively wit, and her good heart. She is treasured. Mrs. Hintz, or as she was known as a girl, Auguste Gatzweiler, was born on February 12, 1825 in Braunsberg, Prussia. She attended the village school and married cabinetmaker Carl Hintz on July 12, 1852. After his emigration to America, she patiently waited 2 long years until her husband was able to secure them a future. She then followed him to Buffalo. The hale and hearty old lady, whose husband never made it to old age, cannot be without activity so she operates a small store at the Chippewa Market. She sells tin and other types of kitchen and household goods and thanks to her friendliness and lively sense of humor she has a hefty clientele.
Dr. Felix Hintz, only son of Mr. Carl and Mrs. Auguste Hintz, first saw the light of the world on January 6, 1856 in Breslau, Silesia. He attended the business school there and after he left his German home with his mother in 1863 and emigrated to America, he attended the public schools in Buffalo, where his father had settled. He later went to the University of Buffalo to study medicine. He graduated from there in 1891.
Dr. Hintz has his office and private residence at 1037 Ellicott Street. It's easy to see how his professional dedication as well as his jovial and lively wit have helped him to establish a good practice. On June 29, 1884 he married Miss Catharina Theurer, who gave him 2 children, a boy and a girl. Dr. Hintz is a member of the Concordia Lodge No. 143, F. & A.M. For 25 years he's also been one of the most active members of the Buffalo Sängerbund.
Mrs. Catharina Hintz is a native-born Buffalonian. Her maided name was Catharina Theurer. She first saw the light of the world on August 24, 1862. She attended the public schools and married Dr. Felix Hintz on June 29, 1884, with whom she lived in wedded bliss.
Arthur Paul Hintz, son of Dr. Felix Hintz and Mrs. Catharina Hintz, was born on April 27, 1885 in Buffalo.
Florence Auguste Hintz, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Felix Hintz, was born in Buffalo on October 18, 1889.
who was born on March 18, 1817 in Nordhausen, Germany, came with his family to Buffalo in 1852. He found employment as a capable and knowledgeable typesetter. The urge to be self-supporting led him to establish his own business. With only $80 in capital he decided to establish a weekly newspaper, which he printed from a wooden press he made himself. Through effort mixed with a high capacity for work and the ability to lead, he managed to supercede unfavorable circumstances. He succeeded and enjoyed the fruits of his labor. On May 29, 1866 death ripped him away from his activity. He could rest peacefully in the knowledge that his son Ottomar, who had learned the business from his father, would bring the business to a flourishing status.
son of the aforementioned excellent German, who had always conveyed the interests of the German community extremely energetically, was born on November 26, 1840 in the romantic locale of Sondershausen, in the Principality of Schwarzburg-Sondershausen. He attended school in his home district until age 12, when he accompanied his parents on their trip to America. The family settled in Buffalo and the father of Mr. Reinecke established a German weekly newspaper shortly after his arrival. Young Ottomar, during school days an active and eager student in the public school of his district, helped his father daily at the press until closing time. Becoming ever more familiar with the business as he grew, he decided to spend all his time there and he became a capable and strong support for his father. Just at the point where the newspaper was gaining momentum the young man's father died suddenly. It was up to him to take over the newspaper and keep is self-sustaining. That was 1866. In order to put the paper on a stronger footing, he brought in his old and true friend, Mr. Franz H. Zesch, as partner. Hand in hand they led the business to its current prosperous standing. A short time later, after Mr. Zesch joined the partnership, a third partner, Mr. Georg Baltz, joined in 1872. After Baltz's coming the weekly newspaper became the daily newspaper The Free Press, a strident arm of the Republican Party. Two years later Mr. Baltz withdrew from the partnership. The firm of Reinecke and Zesch, which enjoys a fine repuation throughout the county, was thereby established.
Besides being co-owner of the Free Press and occupied by ancillary printing company business, Mr. Reineck is involved with other business undertakings with the self-same energy and business ability. For many years he has been a director of the Erie Fire Insurance Company and the Citizen's Gas Company. He's also involved in other land and business transactions. In 1896 he was appointed to the Parks Commission by Mayor Jewett. He's been a very capable and active member. From the time of his childhood, Mr. Reinecke was a nature lover, thus he's actively involved in the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences. He's one of the society's oldest members and for a time he was its Vice-President. His egg, butterfly and beetle collections are counted among the most comprehensive, massive and most valuable private collections in the country.
On September 25, 1866 he married Miss Eva Engel. After 25 years of marriage the happy couple celebrated their silver anniversary in the Gymnastics Hall (Turnhalle) in the circle of their children, other relatives and countless friends. Mr. Reinecke is a respected member of the Buffalo Typothetae and the Young Men's Association. He's one of the oldest and most active members of the Buffalo Sängerbund. He was its President. He's a member of the Turnverein, and he's one of the directors of the German Hospital.
Mrs. Ottomar Reinecke,
nee Eva Engel, first saw the light of the world on October 12, 1845 in Oberhofen, Alsatia. She came to America in 1853 and married Mr. Ottomar Reinecke, co-owner of the Free Press, on September 25, 1866. On September 25, 1891 the couple celebrated their silver wedding anniversary. Mrs. Reinecke has been a member of the Ladies Section of the Buffalo Sängerbund and the Turnverein. She has availed herself of the opportunity to serve both groups to the utmost and she is treasured by both organizations. More recently she has been actively pursuing the interests of the German Hospital. The happy marriage of the couple has produced 7 children.
Rosa Reinecke, born October 26, 1867. As a child she showed an unusual talent and love of music. Her parents did not fail in making sure she had a thorough and complete musical education. They take pleasure in the amateur opera recitals and concerts, in which their daughter takes part. On June 28, 1892 she married Dan. W. Schwartz in Niagara Falls. The young couple have 2 children.
Ottomar Reinecke was born on June 28, 1869. He apprenticed in his father's printing press business. On May 28, 1895 he married Miss Rosa Lüdecke. A son and 2 daughters are the fruit of their union.
Edward Reinecke was born on September 26, 1872. After graduating from the public and private schools he became an engineer.
Albert Reinecke was born on October 22, 1875 and currently works as an accountant.
Eugene Reinecke saw the light of the world on April 20, 1878 and at this time is in the insurance business.
Walter Reinecke was born on June 30, 1880 but died after ten months.
Else Reinecke was born on July 13, 1886. She's a talented young lady with much promise.
From Webpage 20
Matthew J. Chemnitz
He comes from one of the oldest and most important Lower Saxon families in the Prussian province of Schleswig-Holstein. His is a family, which has given Germany many noble and famous men. Martinus Chemnitz, the reformer of Prussia and Braunschweig and of Lutheran theology in the 16th Century, is an ancestor in direct line as is Phillippus Bogislaus von Chemnitz, Chancellor to Queen Christine of Sweden and right hand of the great Oxenstierna, one of the most clever politicians and capable historians of the 17th Century. His father was a well known attorney and editor and was the publisher of the fiery national anthem "Schleswig-Holstein by the Sea Surrounded", which encouraged the steadyfast Saxons of the neighboring land and supported the rebellion against the oppression of the barbarous Danes. It was only after many bloody battles that all conflict was brought to resolution by overwhelming forces facilitated by the betrayal of the hypocritical English. The leader of the movement and the officers of the revolutionary regime were forced to flee. Thus Mr. Chemnitz's father sought and found refuge in Würzburg. He married a Frankish lady there and after the banishing of the Danes to Holstein in 1864 he was a judge until his death.
Matthew J. Chemnitz attended various schools in Würzburg and in Holstein at Uetersen, Altona. Lastly he attended the Royal Trade Secondary School in Rensburg, from which he graduated. From 1874 to 1880 he studied chemistry and related sciences at the Royal Technical University in Hannover. His teachers included Kraut for Analytical Chemistry, in Technical Chemistry Heeren, in Mineralogy and Geology Ulrich and in Physics Quintus-Icilius. His studies were interrupted from 1878 to 1879 for a year in the Holstein Field Artillery Regiment No. 24, based in Mölle, Lauenberg, where he completed exercises for the qualifications for the officer's exams. Shortly before his leaving he was promoted and relocated from the Holstein Foot Artillery Battallion No. 9 to Bremenhaver, where after an 11 week exercise he quit the military.
In the Fall of 1880 he came to New York and was employed as an apothecary. Early the next year, which saw him in Buffalo, he spent a brief period of time partly as an apothecary and partly as a bookkeeper in a brewery. In the Fall of 1881 he was employed as a chemist for the American Glucose Co. at their Scott Street factory. He held this position without break for 11 years, the last 3 years employed as Assistant Superintendent of the refinery. From 1882 until 1883 he was Superintendent of the glucose factory of the same company in Peoria, Illinois. Due to his linguistic abilities and the nominations of prominent Germans, he was appointed the city's School Superintendent of Public Instruction in 1892. He was further appointed Superintendent of the German Department and Secretary of the Schools Department, a position which he held until January 1, 1893. Thorough yet methodical, lacking the popular tendency towards showmanship, he tried to keep German instruction viable and ever more attainable. Through certain arrangements he tried to make German indispensible to Germans and non-Germans alike. In the last 6 years he enlarged the German Department by 13 instructors and 2000 students. In another 9 schools where German is taught he created, through the establishment of a final Regents Exam, a firm basis for continuing the study of German in the high schools. It created a modest degree of comfort for students wishing to acquire their high school diploma. As Secretary of the Department of Schools he has led the effort for the significant improvement of bookkeeping and inventory, although this work was increased to an incredible extent by the introduction of free textbooks.
In 1881 he married Miss Emilie Eggers of Liebenburg on the Harz in Hannover. He has one son and one daughter. Since his arrival in Buffalo he has been a member of many German and English associations and clubs, in which he has often held a official position. He belongs to the Free Mason's Washington Lodge No. 240, the Free Mason Kapitel Germania No. 267, the Free Mason Acacia Club. He was the secretary or director of the German Young Men's Association, the Sängerbund, and the field division of the Natural Science Society. He belongs to the Soldiers Union, the Natural Science Society, and the Turnverein. At one point in time he was an officer of the German Evangelical Church of St. Luke on Richmond Avenue. He was an incorporator and the first Secretary of the German Hospital. The first 12 years of his residency in Buffalo were spent in the 8th Ward on Spring Street. Since then he's been in the 23rd Ward on 15th Street.
Martin Lauser, Jr.,
considered among the most well known young German-Americans in the city, was born on July 7, 1855 in Buffalo. He received an good education through St. Ann's School but at an early age he had to think of a way to provide for himself. In 1867 he went to work for the factory of the Buffalo Scale Co., where he remained until 1871. Until 1877 he was employed at the Frank & Co. Machine Factory and in the following year he opened a coal and wood dealership at 420 Emslie Street, which he ran until 1884. He then became a grocer at 137 Peckham Street. His business became very popular because of his hard work, frugality and rarely attained degree of honesty. All who know him in business and social circles respect him as a fine businessman. Mr. Lauser has regularly taken part in politics. In 1894 he was appointed a Federal Toll Inspector, a position which he maintained to the satisfaction of all. Mr. Lauser is married to Josephine Huber. Six children have come from the marriage, 3 boys and 3 girls. Five of the children are still living. The family residence is at the same house as his business, 137 Peckham.
is considered to be among the most respected and important contractors in the city. He was born on January 8, 1817 in Theisbergstegen in the Rhine Palatinate. He attended the public school and learned the mason's trade. In 1842 he emigrated to America and cast his lot in with Buffalo. What he had learned about his trade in the old fatherland he demonstrated when he came to America. The first buildings, which he built, made a name for him. It wasn't long before he was one of the most sought-out and respected contractors in the city. Many of Buffalo's most important buildings come from him. The first house he built was at 550 Genesee Street. It was built in 1846 for Mr. Wilhelm Hellriegel, who still lives there. Other building constructed by Mr. Beier include the Old American House, the Courier Building, St. Peter's Church, the Board of Trade Building, the old association building of the Y.M.C.A., and a large number of schoolhouses. In his later years Mr. Beier was in business with his son under the firm name of Beier & Son. On June 16, 1844 he married Miss Katherine Jung. Six children came of the marriage, of whom 2 died at a tender age. The 2 sons, Jacob and Wilhelm are no longer living. Jacob died in 1896 and Wilhelm died in 1897. The 2 daughters, Mrs. Leo Scheu and Mrs. Katherine van Tine, still live at the old family home at the southwest corner of Carlton and Ellicott Street, from which Mr. Beier departed on October 31, 1891.
nee Jung, who came to America at an early age, was born in St. Julian, Rhine-Bavaria on December 1, 1815. On June 16, 1844 she was married to Jacob Beier by Pastor Günther with William Rink and Christian Rheinwald as witnesses. She gave her husband 6 children, of whom 2 daughters are still living. Mrs. Beier died on March 29, 1881.
Frank H. Zesch
Mr. Frank H. Zesch, co-owner of the Buffalo Free Press, first saw the light of the world on April 16, 1840 in Stargard, Mecklenburg-Strelitz. After attending school in Germany until his 14th year, he emigrated with his parents to America in 1854. Many people had chosen to settle in Buffalo, Mr. Zesch among them. With the exception of one year in which he lived in Rochester, Mr. Zesch lived here throughout his life after his emigration. The first job he took after arriving in Buffalo was as a newspaper carrier for the Buffalo Democrat. He worked in this capacity for 2 years in order to became a typesetter's apprentice for the same newspaper. His father had intended for his son to take a job in one of the most important ironwares business in the city. When the owner of the Buffalo Democrat found out about this plan, he did not want to part with the young man. He had certain things in mind for him. He decided to keep the boy in his old position. In consideration for his talent and ability he was spared a significant portion of his apprenticeship and he was paid the same wage as a professional typesetter. Later, as we said, Mr. Zesch went to Rochester but after a year he went back to work for the Democrat. He stayed there for 2 years and then took a job at the Courier in the ancillary press department in order to perfect his knowledge in this field of book printing. Mr. Zesch stayed at the Courier for 3 full years, that is until 1867, and then became a partner in the Free Press, a business in which he is still occupied today. He is the chief of the ancillary press department . The business owes much of its continued annual growth to his perspicacity, his ability, and his energy. Besides various printing assignments in many different fields, carried on in German, English, and other languages, this department of the Free Press prints various monthly and biweekly church bulletins and publications of various organizations and societies under his auspices.
In 1855 Mr. Zesch joined the Turnverein, from which he has a diploma of lifetime membership. Likewise he also belongs to the Buffalo Young Men's Association. Since 1862 he's been a member of the Buffalo Sängerbund. For many years he's been a member of the Natural Sciences Society. He's counted as a founder of the Vesta Lodge No. 137, A.O.U.W. and he belongs to other clubs and social organizations. In 1898 he was appointed by Mayor Diehl to the post of Civil Service Commissioner, an honorary office, which he currently holds.
In 1863 Mr. Zesch married Miss Mathilde Hermin Milow, a lady born in Strassburg in the province of Ukermark. The marriage produced 9 children, of whom 8 are still living. They are Clara, now Mrs. John S. Kellner, Ida, at this time Mrs. Wm. Feuchter, Edward Zesch, Emma, now Mrs. George Ward, Frank, Arthur, Cecilie, and Bertha Zesch.
From Webpage 21
one of the best known and most highly educated Germans in Erie County, was born on February 25, 1840 in the small district of Zenner in Rhineland-Prussia. His father was a teacher. At a very early age he helped support the family by giving instruction in the neighboring schools. He still managed to find enough time to prepare for the exams so he could go to the teacher's seminary. He accomplished this at age 19, and when he left he received the highest honor. There was an incident during his school days when Rohr met a man who had left the fatherland as a poor teacher, went to America, and returned to Germany a rich man. We have this man to thank for first placing the idea in Rohr's head to emigrate to America. To prepare himself, he dedicated all his energy to the study of the English language. This wasn't an easy task since studies in other than the matriculated field of learning were forbidden by the educational facility. Besides the English language he studied French and above all else, German Literature, in which he gained for himself a thorough and valuable knowledge base. This course of study served him well years later when he was a journalist.
After completing his exams, he left the seminary in order to take a position as a teacher in the chief city of the district, Bitberg. He fulfilled his military obligation in Saarlouis then took the post at the Academy of Bitberg, where he successfully taught Literature, History, French, etc. He also made regular literary contributions to scholarly publications as well as to various political newspapers, making translations into French and English. All these intellectual undertakings were not enough to satisfy the young man. His sensibilities and his prolific nature required a larger arena. He believed he could find that broader opportunity in America. Thus in the company of a young German-American intellectual, who had been staying in Germany for a while, he made his way and landed in New York in 1868. He was immediately hired as editor for the Central Newspaper, which was a weekly publication in Buffalo. He held this posting for 2 years and then became a partner in a wine warehouse and dealership. This activity didn't really suit him so he grabbed at the proffered opportunity to take over the editorship of the Volksfreund. For many years he guided this newspaper with talent and wisdom, but then he resigned his editorial duties for several reasons. After enjoying a period of rest and renewal, he went into the insurance business and in 1883 he joined the Germania Life Insurance Company and became General Agent for Buffalo and the surrounding area.
Mr. Rohr showed a lively interest in local politics and became an excellent campaign orator in German and English. In 1874 the Catholic Union of Buffalo, headed at the time by Bishop Ryan, appointed him Delegate of the first great American pilgrimage to Rome and Lourdes. He took this trip on May 16th.
On September 23, 1869 Mr. Rohr married Miss Sophie C. Richert, the eldest, Buffalo-born daughter of Mr. Georg and Mrs. Christine Richert. Amid their family Mr. and Mrs. Rohr celebrated their silver wedding anniversary in September of 1894. The couple was given 11 children, of which 9 are still living. One son, the highly gifted Leo M. Rohr, in many ways a promising young jurist and a kindly disposed, popular, and warm hearted friend, lost his life on a canoe trip in the rapids of the St. Lawrence River in Canada. This tragic accident is still present in the minds of the city's widest circle and forever painful for his parents. He is remembered by many.
William Simon, Sr.
Mr. William Simon was born in May 22, 1853 in Baden Baden. He learned the brewery trade in Germany and came to the United States at the age of 18. Given that his financial resources were not that secure, his eventual success in hindsight attests to his intellect and capacity for hard work. He settled in Williamsburg [Williamsville], where he found a position with John Schneider at the monthly wage of $45. Since his employer recognized the young man's leadership ability, he raised his salary to $75. In the course of time Mr. Simon also worked in the breweries of Otto Huber, Leibman and Obermeyer in Williamsville, and for Conrad Decker in East Boston, for whom he was brew master. In 1878 Mr. Simon came to Buffalo and worked for a short time in Lang's Brewery, later for Georg Rochevot as cellar master, and finally with Georg Roos as brew master. From 1880 to 1888 he was again with Gerhard Lang, employed as brew master. In 1888 he was sick and he went back to his old homeland for a month. On the same day that Mr. Simon began his European journey, Mr. Schüsler was carried to his grave and his brewery was without a manager. Mr. Simon returned to America sooner than he had expected. Having returned to Buffalo, he went into partnership with Edward Schüsler, John Emery Trant and Mrs. S. Schüsler. In 1894 Mr. Simon became sole owner of the business and in 1899 the firm's name was changed to its present name, The William Simon Brewery. At the time of his death Mr. Schüsler brewed scarcely 17,000 barrels per year. Mr. Simon put all his effort into expanding the business. He did research to find out what kind of beer Buffalo liked best. With what he learned he altered production and in a relatively short time was brewing 60,000 barrels per year. He wanted to increase production to 80,000 barrels so he established many innovations and improvements. Mr. Simon's brewery is located at 127-161 Emslie Street. It supplies the best establishments in every part of the city.
Mr. Simon married Miss Theresa Banstetter in 1872. The marriage produced 6 children: Julie, married to Mr. Jos. Schaff, Louise, married to Mr. John Kam, Jr., William Jr., who's employed in his father's brewery, Marie, Anna, and Gerhard.
is the son-in-law of Mr. William Simon, whose daughter, Julie, he married on September 27, 1893. For 12 years he has been the manager of the William Simon Brewery. Mr. Schaff was born on April 26, 1868 in Buffalo. He attended the local schools and through private study acquired a fine education. He then became a salesman. For a long time he was employed at the Barnes, Hengerer Co. After that he went into brewery owned by his father-in-law. The marriage to Miss Julie Simon has produced 2 children.
Sarah Becker, nee Goetz,
was born on May 11, 1833 in Brumath, Alsatia. In 1839 she came to America with her parents, who settled in the Town of Attica. She attended the public schools there and after the death of her father she came to Buffalo in 1849. In 1853 she married Mr. Philip Becker, to whom she was not only a good housewife but a true and untiring co-worker in business. Mrs. Becker lives in the beautiful family home at 534 Delaware Avenue.
who was born in April 1830 in Oberotterbach on the Rhine and who died in Buffalo on July 4, 1898, was a formidible character and force for the German community of the city. He was the owner and manager of a large business, which he built himself through tremendous effort and mighty ambition and he was the Mayor of Buffalo for 2 terms of office. The reader will find an extended overview of his life in a different section of this book.
From Webpage 22
Gustav E. Fuhrmann,
who was born in Görlitz, Silesia, attended the elementary and high schools of his fatherland and after passing the college entrance exams matriculated at the Royal Trade Academy of Berlin. He came to America in 1857 and studied at the Central High School in Buffalo. For a time he was a teacher at a large plantation in Louisiana. He returned to Germany in 1862 and was employed in a position of trust at the world famous factory of Cornelius Heyt. He returned to Buffalo in 1882 and became teacher and organist at the St. Mark's Evangelical parish. He has been a member of the faculty of Masten Park High School since its opening. He's a professor of German Language and Literature.
George Urban, Sr.
Mr. George Urban Sr. was one of the first German settlers in Buffalo. He was born on August 19, 1820 in Morsbrunn, Alsatia. He lived his childhood there and came to the United States in the early part of 1835 with his parents. After growing to manhood he accepted a position as a buyer for Mr. H. Colton, who at the time had a large merchandiser's institute at the corner of Main and Genesee Streets. He stayed here until 1846. In order to become self-supporting in 1846 he established his own business, specializing in flour, at the corner of Oak and Genesee Streets. He had such exceptional success that he decided to build a mill on the opposite corner from his store. This endeavor was also highly successful and the products of the mill were in demand.
Mr. Urban, Sr. was a man of high standing not only in the German community of the city but also among the widest circles in America. He was the Vice President of the Western Savings Bank, the Parks Commissioner, etc. Mr. Urban, Sr. was married to Miss Marie Kern, a woman from Alsatia. She preceeded him in death on January 30, 1879. She gave him 3 children: George, Caroline, and William C. Urban.
Mr. Urban died on October 13, 1887 at the age of 67 years, 1 month and 26 days.
George Urban, Jr.
Mr. George Urban, Jr. is one of the best known, most respected, and most interesting personalities in the political and commercial sectors of the city of Buffalo. He is the son of one of Buffalo's oldest pioneers. He was born on July 12,1850 in the house at the corner of Oak and Genesee, across the street from one of the Urban Mills. He received his education at the public schools and at the age of 18 he went into his father's milling business. Two years later he became a business partner. The Urban family has been in the milling business for over half a century. The products from the mill have a fine reputation throughout the land.
Besides his business interests, Mr. George Urban, Jr. is involved in several other undertakings. He has a particular interest in the introduction of electric power for lighting and conveyance equipment. He's taking part in electrical endeavors of every variety.
As we've already mentioned, Mr. Urban plays a significant role in the political arena. He never let his business relationships get in the way of his accepting a public office. The urgings from his friends must have been great because he eventully decided to accept the post of chairman of the Republican Committee of Erie County. This was a position for which his excellent talent for organization was well suited. When his private business demanded more and more of his attention on a daily basis, it was to the great sorrow of his party that he retired from the chairmanship.
In October 1875 he married Miss Ada E. Winspear.
William Charles Urban,
the youngest child of Mr. George Urban, Sr., was born on July 28, 1861 in Buffalo. He received his education at the Buffalo schools and attended high school. After graduation he became a bookkeeper at his father's business, a large flour mill at the corner of Oak and Genesee Streets. Later he became a member of the firm, to which his brother, George Urban, Jr. and E.G.S. Miller also belonged. On April 1, 1897 the Urban Milling Company was incorporated with George Urban, Jr. as President, E.G.S. Miller as Vice President, William C. Urban as Treasurer, and William L. Seligmann as Secretary. After a time Mr. William Urban left the business. At this time he's enjoying the pleasure of private life at his beautiful home in Cheektowaga at least until another business venture calls to him. In June 1886 he married Miss Louise Burgard of Buffalo.
August and Louise Raeker,
about whom the following lines refer, may rightfully be considered among the oldest and most respected German inhabitants of the city. Mr. Raeker was born on July 9, 1819 in Lippe within the principality of Detmold. He attended the public schools of his fatherland and learned furniture carpentry. In 1848, during the Storm and Stress period, he emigrated to the Land of Freedom and immediately settled in Buffalo. He opened a furniture carpentry shop in the house at 98 Batavia Street, now Broadway. He was an extremely capable man in his field so he couldn't help but be a success. Mr. Raeker operated the furniture factory until 1880 when he withdrew into well deserved retirement. In 1850 he married Miss Louise Mahncke, in whom he found a loyal life partner. She gave him 8 children, 7 of whom are still living. The family resides currently at 338 Lafayette Avenue.
From Webpage 23
Wilhelm Lautz, Sr.
was born in 1815 in Umstadt at the foot of Oden Forest of the Hessen-Darmstadt region. He was the son of an old family, which had been in the same region for several generations. The old family house still stands there today and carries the inscription "this structure built by Johann Martin Lautz in 1774". He attended the local school, built a soap works factory, and in 1837 married Elisabeth Hiemenz of Dieburg, part of the Dieburg area of Hessen-Darmstadt. She was the daughter of tannery owner Johann Hiemenz. (This tannery today is significantly larger and operated by Johann Hiemenz's grandchildren.)
After operating the soap works for a short time, he took over the supervision and management of a number of holdings in Odenwald and Spessart, which belonged to Prince Löwenstein and Count Erlach. He remained in this post for about 8 years and then took out a mortgage on a property in Mittelfranken, Bavaria. After every possible misfortune he was forced to give up the property 5 years later. He decided that his last resort was to emigrate to America. He arrived here in 1853 with $5 and 7 children - Wilhelm, J. Adam, Karl, Elisabeth, Friedrich C.M., Anna, and Gretchen. The oldest child was about 15 and the youngest wasn't yet 2. Immediately after his arrival here he established himself by selling beds, etc so that he could get candle molds. He began making candles, which his sons sold in the stores. Through great frugality the business grew larger and larger. He soon started producing a small amount of soap with the help of his children. This business too grew in the course of the years. At the beginning the wares were carried in hand baskets and sold to the public. Then there was a hand cart. A little later they got a couple dogs to do the towing. Later still they could afford a small horse, thus paving the way for the most important soap factory of the time in Buffalo, which was located on Hanover Street. The business is there today in much expanded form. It has been sold.
In Buffalo he had 3 more children - Katharine, now Mrs; Georger, Martin, who died in 1893, and Suzanna, who died as a child. The father could no longer maintain his good health. After a short illness he departed this life in 1866. The mother lived to rejoice in the well being of her children for another 20 years until she followed her husband in 1887 because of a heart attack brought on by an arm fracture.
Wilhelm Lautz, Jr.
Mr. Wilhelm Lautz, without a doubt one of the most respected and popular Germans in Buffalo, was born on April 20, 1838 in Dieburg, Hessen-Darmstadt. He attended the local and private schools there. A love of art, artistic tastes and an artistic eye predisposed him to become a sculptor and ivory carver. He attended the art school in Frankfurt am Mainz with the best possible results. When his father was forced to leave Germany due to unfortunate circumstances, Wilhelm accompanied him to America in 1853. They came directly to Buffalo. After many difficult experiences the young man succeeded in securing his footing. At this time Mr. Lautz is the owner of a very important marble business, which due to his expertise in the field of art has developed an outstanding reputation. He married Miss Amalie Bank, who gave him 3 sons and 1 daughter. They live a peaceful life in their comfortable home at 31 Dodge Street.
J. Adam Lautz
was born in 1840 in Dieburg and came with his parents and siblings to Buffalo when he was 13. He put forth every effort to acquire a sound education and he continued this effort after reaching New York. When the Civil War broke out he enthusiastically responded to the call to arms. He became one of the founders of the 20th New York State Volunteer Regiments, otherwise known as the New York Turner Rifles. He took an active part in the war and fought in the second Battle of Bull Run, the battles at Lookout Mountain and Antitam, the Battle of Fredricksburg, the Battle at Gettyburg and many other small skirmishes. After his release from the army Mr. Lautz returned to Buffalo, where he became involved with several commercial enterprises. He was a member of the firm Lautz Bros. & Co., a partner in the Niagara Starch Works, the Niagara Stamping & Tool Works, president of Ziegele Brewing Co., and director of the Citizen's Bank. He was a member of the Merchant's Exchange, the Buffalo Club, a co-founder of the Orpheus, for which he was vice president for many years. He was president of the German Young Men's Association for many years. When St. Louis Church was built he was elected chairman of the building committee.
In 1865 Mr. Lautz married Miss Kate Bardol. The marriage produced 2 daughters and 2 sons, Carl A. and Otto J. Lautz. Mr. J. Adam Lautz died on August 17, 1894.
Among the sketches of so many of our German-Americans, the name of Mr.Charles Lautz must be placed at the top of the list as a fine German citizen and an excellent merchant. His career began with the moment that he stepped foot in America. His life serves as an excellent example of what determination and caution can accomplish. Mr. Lautz was born in Dieburg in 1842. Since the establishment of the soap business (now almost half a century ago) to the time of his death his vigilance never ceased. He lagged behind none in his branch of the family businesses. The firm of Lautz Bros. & Co. enjoys a fine reputation both near and far.
Mr. Lautz also took part in several other business ventures. He was one of the original partners in the firm The Lautz Company, which deals in imported and domestic marble throughout the country. He was a partner in the Niagara Machine & Tool Works, one of the founders of the Niagara Starch Works, now a branch of the National Starch Company, of which Mr. Lautz was a director. Additionally he was vice president of the National Soap Makers Association. He was president of the Niagara Heights Land Company and the Long View Driving Park & Land Company of Cleveland, Ohio.
He was director of the Linhurst Improvement Company of Baltimore, Maryland and a member of their commerce commission. He was one of the planners of the Buffalo and Williamsville Railroad,and a member of the National Association of Manufacturers of the United States. He was a life long member of the Catholic Institute, which had a well known public free library. Four times consecutively he was elected the institute's president. He was a member of the building committee of the association when they planned the construction at the corner of Main and Virginia Streets. Eight times consecutively he was president of the advisory board of St. Louis parish council. After the fire a new church had to be constructed. He belonged to the committee which toured churches in various cities in order to study building plans and details. In hindsight we can see that his knowledge and judgment were invaluable. Finally let it be mentioned that Mr. Lautz was a life long member of the Buffalo Academy of Fine Arts, one of the founders of the Orpheus, and for many years a director of the German Hospital, in which he was quite active. He was also a member of other associations.
His estate, known as Amherst Villa, is renown throughout Western New York. Amherst Villa is a farm in which Mr. Lautz united the aesthetic with the pragmatic into agriculture. It's in the Town of Amherst. In the stalls you'll find a valuable herd of full-blooded Jersey cattle.
In 1866 Mr. Lautz married Miss Susanna Bensler, whose father, Hermann Bensler, was one of the oldest settlers. He was a famous furniture maker, who enjoyed a fine reputation among his fellow citizens. Mr. Lautz lived with his wife in their comfortable house at 384 Linwood Avenue.
These are just a few words about the life of one of our most excellent and public-serving German American citizens.
Mr. Charles Lautz died after a long illness despite the tender ministrations of his wife and life partner on June 21, 1901.
Friederich Christopher Martin Lautz
is a son of Mr. Wilhelm and Mrs. Elisabeth Lautz. He was born on March 5, 1846 in Rimhorn, Hessen-Darmstadt, where he received the first part of his education. He came with his father to America when he was 7 years old. During the Civil War he served with the 81st New York Volunteer Regiment. After the war he entered his father's soap business. He remained there and became a member of the firm Lautz Brothers & Co., one of the most important establishments of its kind in the country. Furthermore Mr. Lautz is one of the founders of the Niagara Starch Works, a part of Onyx Grinding and Polishing, which is a Lautz Company, and the Niagara Stamping & Tool Company. He is a life long member of the German Young Men's Association, for which he was president from 1881 to 1884. He's a life long member of the Historical Society, the Academy of Free Arts, and the Orpheus Singing Society. He's a co-founder and member of the Buffalo Catholic Institute and a Trustee of the Homeopathic Hospital of Buffalo.
Mr. Lautz had a strong, fine gift for music during childhood. He put it to use in 1888 with the founding of the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra, an organization to which he donated much time and money. He's also a co-founder of the Buffalo Musical Association. Further he's a co-establisher of the Ellicott Square Building, Vice-President of the Ellicott Square Company, and President of the Shaker Heights Land Company, which gave the city of Cleveland 279 acres of land worth $400,000 for parks. He was a zealous promoter and agent for the Pan American Exhibition, for which he was director and chairman of the music committee and president of the festival board during the 30th Singing Festival of the North American Singing Societies in 1901, held here in Buffalo. He is one of the founders and directors of the Ellicott Club and a director of the Buffalo Club.
In 1874 he married Miss Amelia K. Trageser of New York. From this marriage have come 3 daughters - Auguste J., Emma M., and Elsa C. Lautz.
was born on May 19, 1858 in a village of Lüneburger Halde, a province of Hannover (Germany). In 1879 he became a volunteer on the Holland East India Army, where he served until 1881. Due to illness he was honorably discharged and pensioned. In 1882 he came to America. After spending several years in Canada and then Reynoldsville, Pennsylvania he settled in Buffalo in 1887. Since 1896 he has been in the health care industry, busy with his patented healing apparatuses, their manufacture and their sale. His wife, nee Bauer, came from Berlin, Canada. From the marriage there are 3 children -Lillian, Estella, and Alfred Schaefer.
In the field of electro-therapy Mr. Schaefer has become famous, as evidenced by the many endorsements from healers who have used his apparatuses. These apparatuses find their way into all cultural centers of the world. We don't have the space to describe them here but let it be said that every ailing individual in the city of Buffalo has heard of the Schaefer System. The course of treatment is well known past the boundries of the country and Mr. Schaefer has received an honorary degree from the German-Italian Hygiene Institute in Padua for his invention in the field of therapeutics. He was also appointed an honorary member of the institute.
was born on April 6, 1842 in Dieburg, Germany. He died on June 21, 1901 in Buffalo, New York. Mr. Lautz was a man of the strictest integrity, of extrordinary intelligence, and of true warmth. As a businessman there were few things beyond him. Details of his life can be found in another section of this book.
nee Bensler, first saw the light of the world on May 9, 1845 in Buffalo, New York. She received an excellent education under the auspices of the Sisters of Notre Dame. This education allowed her to be a true support for her husband. She married Mr. Lautz in 1866. It was a marriage distinguished by the most beautiful harmony. Her mother had already emigrated to America with her parents when she was a child in 1832. Her father had emigrated in 1836. Both settled in Buffalo and lived here until their deaths.
From Webpage 24
Jacob F. Schoellkopf, Sr.
This man's name, respected and esteemed in private life as well as in business and industrial circles in this county, has become a benchmark, which every reader of this book must certainly recognize. For years the bearer of this name has meant much to this country's German community. His business and industry endeavors have helped thousands reach a state of well being. He was born on November 15, 1819 in Kirchheim below the Teck. He came to the United States in 1841 after receiving a good education in Germany and thoroughly learning the family trade carried on by his father and grandfather, the tanning business. When he landed in New York his knowledge and ability allowed him to find a position whereby he saved his money in order to be self-supporting when he came to Western New York. He settled in Buffalo in 1844 and established a leather business on Mohawk Street with money he saved and some lent to him by his father. His business was exceedingly prosperous,and the young, ambitious, and hard working man reached the point where he could buy a small tannery in White's Corner near Buffalo. After only a couple of years he was able to enlarge the business and acquire a sheepskin tannery in Buffalo. He established a tannery in Milwaukee in 1848 and another in Chicago in 1850. The later two are still operating today, although Mr. Schöllkopf retired from the businesses a few years after their establishment. In 1853 he established a tannery in Fort Wayne, Indiana and another in North Evans, New York in 1854, which he headed for 20 years with great success. He also saw a good opportunity in Pennsylvania. He bought a piece of land in an untamed area for his new endeavor.
For a long time he was the senior partner in the largest tannery in the United States, which as located here in Buffalo. Later he became involved in other ventures. Along with those he established the North Buffalo Flouring Mills. His foresight and business sense enabled him to become successful, and in 1870 he bought the Frontier Mills of Buffalo. He then took part in the building of magnificent mills in Niagara Falls. Mr. Schöllkopf's enterprising spirit and substantial degree of merchantile talent, not forgeting his wonderful knack for organization, caught the eye of many other capitalists, who wanted to involve him in their ventures whenever the opportunity arose. He was Vice-President of the Buffalo, New York and Philadelphia Railroad before it transferred to the hands of the Western New York and Pennsylvania Company. He was President of the Third National Bank and a director of various banks in Niagara Falls. Further he was director of the Buffalo Citizen's Gas Co. and trustee of the General Hospital of this city. He took particular interest in the development of water power in Niagara Falls - He bought the Hydralic Canal and organized the great and famous endeavor, known as the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power and Manufacturing Company. In the later portion of his life Mr. Schöllkopf retired from business due to his advanced age and placed his many business interests into younger hand, those of his sons. On March 12, 1848 he married Miss Christine Sophie Dürr of Kirchheim below the Teck. In 1898 the happy couple celebrated their golden wedding anniversary still in the best of health and the liveliest of spirits. The couple has 6 sons - Heinrich, Louis, Arthur, Jacob, Alfred, and Hugo - and one daughter, Mrs. Helene Schmidt. The oldest son, Heinrich, departed the mortal plain in 1880. Mr. Jacob F. Schöllkopf died on September 15, 1899. His death was mourned by all who knew him.
is a son of Mr. and Mrs. Jacob F. Schöllkopf. He was born on March 25, 1855 in Buffalo. He received an excellent education, first in the Buffalo schools and then in various institutions of higher learning. He further broadened himself through schooling in Germany. Since his father was involved with many industrial ventures, the young man's career path was paved. After learning the tannery trade completely in the years 1873 through 1877, he thought it would be wise to become self supporting. With his brother Heinrich he established his own tannery under the business name J.F. Schöllkopf's Sons. The brothers had great success until Heinrich's death. The business continued to operate under the same name with Louis in partnership with Alfred P. Schöllkopf and John Russ. The success continued. Mr. Louis Schöllkopf was involved in other business endeavors as well. He was in partnership with his father and brother in Niagara Falls in the Power City Bank, the International Hotel, the Cliff Paper Company, and the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power and Manufacturing Co.
Om May 18, 1881 he married Myra Lee Horton of Sheffield, Tennessee. She gave him several children. Mr. Louis Schöllkopf was a member of the Buffalo Orpheus, the Ellicott Club, the Merchants Exchange, and other social and business associations. Mr. Louis Schöllkopf died on July 21, 1901.
The merchantile talent, foresight, and enterprising spirit of his father, Mr. Jacob F. Schöllkopf, are not lacking in Mr. Arthur Schöllkopf. He was born in Buffalo on January 13, 1856. He attended a private school and was sent to Germany when he was 9 years of age. He studied for 4 years at the Academy of Kirchheim in his father's birth district in Württemberg. In 1869 he returned to Buffalo, attended St. Joseph's Academy, and later attended the well-known Bryant and Stratton Business School. He joined the working world in 1873 and acquired a knowledge of milling at the Frontier Mills in North Buffalo. When his father went into partnership with A.M. Chesbrough in 1877 for the purchase of the Hydraulic Canal in Niagara Falls, he became involved as the local business representative during the building of the Niagara Flouring Mills. He was in charge of overseeing its completion. Later in 1878 the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power and Manufacturing Company was organized with the father as president, and Mr. Albert Schöllkopf taking over as secretary, treasurer and general administrator. He still occupies those offices. His keen business sense and love of enterprise make it only natural that he is involved in other business endeavors. He was president of the Park Theatre Company, secretary and treasurer of the International Hotel Company and the Niagara Falls Brewing Company. He was director of the New York Mutual Savings and Loan Association and president of the local affiliate. He was president of the Power City Bank of Niagara Falls and a trustee of the Niagara County Savings Bank.
He built the first trolley in Niagara Falls and after holding several honorary public offices he was elected mayor of Niagara Falls in 1896. On October 13, 1890 he married Miss Jessie Gluck of Niagara Falls. Mr. Schöllkopf belongs to the Frontier Lodge No. 12, F.& A.M.. He's a Knight Templar, Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and Exalted Ruler of Lodge No. 346 B.P.O.E. In Buffalo he belongs to the Ellicott Club.
Jacob F. Schoellkopf,
third oldest son of Mr. Jacob F. Schöllkopf, was born on February 27, 1858 in Buffalo. He received a fine education from a private teacher and attended St. Joseph's Academy until he was 15 years of age.. In 1873 his father sent him to Germany, where he studied chemistry at the universities in Munich and Stuttgart until 1879. He completed his final examinations with distinction. Upon his return to America he established here in Buffalo a chemical factory for the manufacture of aniline dyes. After a short time the factory developed such a good reputation that in order to fulfill the demand it was necessary to build several branch operations. The first was built in New York in the 1880s. The second was built in Philadelphia in 1893. On January 1, 1900 the branches were united under the firm name of Schöllkopf, Hartford & Hanna Co. with capital in excess of 3 million dollars. Mr. Schöllkopf was elected president. In 1900 the American Magnesia Co., located near Philadelphia, elected Mr. J.F. Schöllkopf president.
Mr. Schöllkopf takes part in other ventures. He is one of the directors of the Merchants Bank and the Security Deposit Co., a trustee of the General Hospital, director of the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power & Manufacturing Co. and the International Hotel Co. In 1882 he married Miss Wilma Spring of Stuttgart. From this happy marriage there are 3 children - one son, Jacob Friedrich who currently studies at Cornell University, and 2 daughters. Mr. Schöllkopf is also a member of the Buffalo Orpheus, the Merchants Exchange, and the Buffalo Club.
also a son of Mr. Jacob F. Schöllkopf, was born on June 1, 1860 in Buffalo. He received his education in the Buffalo schools. When he came of age he entered as a partner in the firm J.F. Schöllkopf's Sons. Shortly afterwards he went into partnership with his father and H.M. Lymburner in the firm Schöllkopf & Co. After his father's death Alfred Schöllkopf became a senior partner in the firm and remained there until his death on October 12, 1901. Mr. Schöllkopf was a member of the Buffalo Chamber of Commerce, president of the Rochester Fertilizer Works and director of the Old Nuremberg Company during the Pan-American Exposition.
During the last years of his life he was profitably involved with several of his father's business transactions. He personally oversaw the renovation of the old music hall, which later became the Teck Theater. He was also involved in various business endeavors in Niagara Falls. In April 1894 he married Miss Emily R. Gräbe of Niagara Falls. Three children came from this marriage.
C.P. Hugo Schoellkopf,
fifth son of Mr. Jacob F. Schöllkopf, was born on July 6, 1862 in Buffalo. He received his education from a private teacher and broadened his education at the Engelmann School in Milwaukee and St. Joseph's Academy. In 1877 he attended the business school in Stuttgart, Germany. He graduated in 1880 with honors. Later he took up chemistry like his brother J.F.. After returning in 1885 he became a partner in his brother's chemical factory. When the firm Schöllkopf, Hartford & Hanna Co. was established, he was elected treasurer. Additionally Mr. Schöllkopf, like his brother J.F., is involved in several business endeavors. One can not deny his enterprising spirit and clear business insight. He is an active member of the Free Mason's Lodge and the Elks, the Buffalo Orpheus and other social and business associations. In 1890 he married Miss Emily F. Annette of Fort Lee, New Jersey. One son, Alfred Hugo, has come from the marriage.
was born in Verden on the Aller in the province of Hannover in 1852. He came directly to Buffalo when he was 15 years old. He apprenticed under a jeweler. Mr Juengling was involved in the goldwares business for 14 years but could no longer remain in this occupation due to a problem with his eyes. He invested in a paper box factory and is employed currently in this field.
Revised August 30, 2004